I Made Three Curation Accounts for my Future Children

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I just created three brand new Steemit accounts to give to my children. No, I don't have kids yet, but my wife and I are planning for three. 

I got this idea from @juanmiguelsalas in his article from about a month ago. He intends to use the new account for his son like a savings account that he will pass on when his son comes of age. As soon as I saw that I thought it was a fantastic idea.

So that's exactly what I've done.

1. Setting Up the Accounts

Using Busy.org's SteemConnect tool, I set up the three accounts. If you want a tutorial on how to use this, look at this article. The three curation accounts are:

Actually, I made four accounts. I first set up @mychild1 but I forgot to save the password from SteemConnect... so I lost 6 STEEM on that one. Oops. 

2. Buying Steem Power

I put a total of $300 CAD worth of Bitcoin toward Steem Power for the accounts. So $100 each. That worked out to  64.077 STEEM each plus the 6 STEEM from setting up the account. I wanted these accounts to begin with a little bit of power so that their votes mean something. 

I believe at full power, their votes are worth about 2 cents a piece. I may add more Steem Power to these accounts in the future, but then again, I may not have to. If I let them sit and curate for years, they may just pay for themselves.

3. Setting Up Streemian Accounts

I registered each of my children with Streemian, so now they can follow good curation trails. Right now, I only have them following myself and @steemtrail, but more will likely be added soon.

And away they go. Like the watchmaker, I've wound up the accounts and now I just need to sit back and let them do their thing. Actually, there's still one more thing to do: I'm going to make an introduction post from each of those accounts. I hope my followers won't get too annoyed when I resteem all three of them ;)

What do you think?

Is this a good idea? I think it's fantastic, but I'm sure there are some out there who consider this an unfair use of the platform, like voting bots (I don't really have a problem with those either.)

Whether your opinion is positive or negative, I'd love to hear it in the comments.

~Seth

IMAGE SOURCES: 1

Sort:  

I think it's adorable...wait...maybe thise baby pics are messing with me. You and your wife will be awsome parents.

I think this is a brilliant idea, putting in some money for them even before they are born. I wish you all the best and I hope you and your wife will be great parents.

Brilliant idea! If they get this from even before they are born, so much value added for them. They might on day leave from steem and all thanks to their father. I will use this as an inspiration to crate two accounts for my future children.

I really like this idea. Now that I have two sweet kids of my own I 'm thinking this is a great start to their college fund!

Daddy did you set one up for me?

lol it's post like this i love to comment on because not only is this a great idea but it starts to open doors to where we can also take advantage of this kind of blog. I didn't know about this until i read it and now I'm going to do research and find out what i need to do to make this happen. Thanks for the great information!

This platform has so much potential! We're just barely beginning to tap into it.

I wounder if we can stream video game play from twitch?

I think this is a fantastic idea! It's like a passive investment (feel free to correct me anyone). I don't see anything wrong with it especially now that I've discovered voting bots. Still trying to see if it will work for me (as I need it lol) but otherwise, I think your idea is awesome. Hello to your future kids :) May they have an awesome time here when it's their moment to shine!

Hi, nice blog and posts, you have clever childs too XD Very interesting project, thank you for your support.

AnonSteem is another way to make new Steem accounts.

https://anon.steem.network

Check it out if you want.

Yea, I looked at AnonSteem. I think it's more expensive.

This post gets a 10.42 % upvote thanks to @sethlinson - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55