Memes Have Ruined My Movie-Watching Experience

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen a meme that completely destroyed your ability to enjoy specific scenes, or maybe even entire movies, in the way that they were intended to be enjoyed?

I have.

I love the internet and I love memes. But sometimes a meme is just too good. A hilarious meme can be made from a serious scene, and then that scene is forever tainted. I can no longer watch it and feel the intended drama or intensity. I only see the meme and I can't help but laughing.

Below are a few of the biggest culprits:

1. Lord of the Rings

Now I know what you're thinking, he's going to show us the "one does not simply..." meme.

Well, that's where you're wrong, pal! The "one does not simply..." meme hasn't really affected my ability to appreciate that scene. Maybe it's because the meme actually uses a screenshot from a different line, maybe it's because I was never the biggest fan of that meme, maybe there's no reason at all. 

No, the culprit that I'm going to show you is much worse, because it ruined the climax for me. It's a simple GIF, but when paired with the right caption, it's absolutely hilarious. Or maybe I'm just 12... you be the judge.

WHEN SHE GIVES YOU THAT LOOK...

Yea... I probably am just 12. But let's not squabble over my maturity level. Let's stand together in solidarity to mourn the loss of one of the most dramatic scenes in movie history. A scene that I can hardly watch without bursting out laughing.

Thank you internet. You've ruined my favourite movie.

2. Les Miserables

I love Les Miserables. I've listened to the soundtrack countless times, I've seen it on stage in Toronto, I watched the movie three times in the theatre and who knows how many more on Blu-Ray.

I hope that preface is sufficient to make you understand how I feel: I don't like it when hilarious memes ruin the things I love!

WHEN YOUR FRIEND SAYS SOMETHING RACIST

This GIF can be paired with any caption that conveys shock and no longer do these characters appear to be singing. They're standing in stupefied, shocked silence with their jaws agape. To put it simply, they look ridiculous.

Thank you internet, you've ruined my favourite musical.

3. Breaking Bad

Yea, yea... it isn't a movie. Sue me. The GIF below it taken from a dramatic conversation between Walter and Skylar in Season 5. I saw this GIF a couple years ago and in the space of that time I hadn't rewatched Breaking Bad. That changed a few months ago when Better Call Saul inspired me to watch Breaking Bad from start to finish.

Then I got to this scene and I remembered the GIF. I couldn't pay attention, I couldn't think, all I could do was laugh.

Thank you internet. You've ruined my favourite TV show.


Has anyone else had this experience? Please share your movie-destroying memes in the comments to ruin another experience for the rest of us. Because, let's be honest, if you have to suffer, you might as well make others suffer with you.

Remember to upvote and follow me @sethlinson!

~Seth

Sort:  

thats still not that bad... spoiler memes are another level of this)))

These memes have ruined scenes for me in a fun way. Spoilers are just mean.

Idk man Movie video memes are sometimes the best. The Every time something happens in Bee Movie meme killed me. Im just going to leave this here

Good lord... 10 hours of that?

Good shit haha, unfortunately I have the same problem

Lol I'm sorry. I found LotR memes hilarious. Haven't watched the other 2 you listed though.

Les Miz isn't for everyone, but you have got to watch Breaking Bad!

It's not a movie but a production like Les Miz - Miss Saigon. I've watched that. I've heard about breaking bad mostly online as I've not watched telly in about 5 years! Sell me the show >:D

Sell you the show? Well, I'd say it's probably the best serialized drama I've ever watched.

I don't know if you're familiar with the premise: it's about a high school chemistry teacher who is diagnosed with cancer. He decided to start cooking meth in order to pay for his medical bills and leave behind something for his family.

And things just get worse and worse as it goes on. It's fantastic!

Oh that sounds very familiar! I will look it up and maybe do a marathon

that's a complex post. I appreciate your work

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

51054

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75