Amazing & Rare Volcano Colour Footage from 1939

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

A lot of people are under the (mistaken) impression that the first colour movie was 1939's Wizard of Oz, but there have been colour films as early as the turn of the century. Oz wasn't even the first natural colour feature film, that title goes to The Toll of the Sea from 1922. 

Natural colour films date back to just a few years after the very beginning of motion picture history. But that doesn't mean they were common. Finding a colour film from the 1930s is quite rare. 

I have in my possession several colour films from 1939 that, as far as I know, haven't ever been digitized or seen by the internet. 

My grandfather gave me a few old 16mm film cans. He told me that they were travelogues, films made to show places visited and experiences encountered by a traveler. 

I'm going to release these 1939 Travelogues on Steemit

Beginning with this one: 

If you can't read the label, it says "Hawaii Part III". I don't know what happened to parts I and II. This is all I have. 

I can't be 100% certain that this film is from 1939. I date it so because the other three films I have are marked "1939". You'll see when you watch the footage that if it isn't 1939 exactly, it's within that ballpark, give or take a year or two.

For all you kids out there, I'm going to show you how this whole film thing works.

1. Open the can

Inside, you'll find a metal reel wrapped with celluloid. This is what we called a film. Can you believe it? No screens, no pixels, no megabytes. It's purely physical.

2. Hook it up to a projector

This is a projector:

What is that thing?? Well kids, this is how we used to play movies. Who the hell do I think I'm talking to? I'm 25. This thing is older than me...

I have to admit, I had a little bit of trouble with this part. It's been a few years since I've done this. But the projector had some very helpful arrows silk-screened onto its surface. 

Once everything was put together, it looked like this:

Beautiful. I love this stuff so much.

Sorry for the long preamble. I love film and it's a dying art. I just want to gush about it for a little bit before getting to the good stuff! Without further ado...

Hawaii Part III

If you're only here for the volcano footage, jump ahead to 1:55. The volcano footage continues until 4:37.

I would recommend watching the rest of the film.

It's amazing seeing people almost 80 years ago living their lives in full colour. The fashion, the cars, the buildings... everything is amazing. This is such a well preserved piece of history and I'm so excited to be able to share it with you!

~Seth

Sort:  

@sethlinson, thanks for showing some of the younger Steemit users how technology was before digital came along. Really cool!

I'm glad you liked it! If you found this post interesting, you should check out my new one about an experimental film I made using all old-school techniques. Read it here

This is stunning footage! The people are gorgeous, why don't we wear gloves and hats anymore today?!

I love the fashion so much. And it's so rare to actual see moving colour footage of real people from the time. Most of my familiarity with it comes from recreations in modern movies.

It is rare to see genuine, non-staged footage from that era. So nice that your grandfather passed this on to you!

You have a great collection dear.

There's more of this collection to come! :D

really super:> i followed and upvoted:p
if you like travel look at my blog :o
if you'll like it upvote and follow :>
https://steemit.com/travel/@larrsonek/mytrip-1-bastei-in-germany-bastei-w-niemczech

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60881.34
ETH 3378.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49