Why you should NOT convert your SBD to STEEM. (You really shouldn't, you are losing money)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

2312323123123123123.jpg

We earn 50% Steem Power (same value as Steem) and 50% SBD when our post gets paid out.
So when we look at dollars they should be the same, right? WRONG! There are some wrong calculations and you are losing out on some valuable Steem! @papa-pepper Brought this to our attention a few weeks a go, so big shout-out and thanks to him!

Test 2.png

The Problem:

Look at this picture of a payout:

Screenshot_1.png

It looks fine at first glance but when we look closer and do the math this is what we get.


SBD Price.jpg

4.078 SBD x $1.66 = $6.76

Steem Price.jpg

1.964 SP x $2.00 = $3.92


$3.92 / $6.76

That's not 50/50!

So if it's 50/50 shouldn't the numbers be the same or at least similar? The problem comes in where Steemit calculates the Value of Steem Dollars at around $1.00 each. Not the actual market price.

SBD 1.00.jpg

Let's see if it works out this way: 4.078 SBD x $1.00 = $4.07

$3.92 / $4.07
That is closer to what we would expect from a 50/50 payout.

Test 2.png

The Solution?

Instead of converting your SBD to Steem (this takes 3.5 days) , go sell it on the market (almost instant). Trust me this is easy.
Let me show you.

Step 1:

Go to your wallet, click on Steem Dollar and then Market.

To market.jpg

Step 2:

Enter the amount of Steem Dollars you want to sell. You can change the price you want to sell for, but this might make you wait longer. I suggest just selling at market price. You are still making so much more than actually converting your Steem Dollars to Steem.

Market 1.jpg

When you Steem Dollars get sold, it will automatically be shown in you wallet under Steem.

That was easy right?

So instead of making $7.99 we made $10.68 for that post. That's like 25% more! So go ahead and sell trade on the market.
You will get the hang of it in no time! =)

Update: Price is currently quite low, you will get so much more Steem than when this post was created.

Test 2.png

So many Steemians are not aware of this. You could help them out by resteeming this post and help educate the newer users.

Test 2.png

Some other posts related to editing and making your Blog stand out an look awesome! Check them out:


Formatting and Editing your Blog | Cheat Sheet Included | Just COPY and PASTE!


Text Dividers for your posts. Easy to use! Just COPY and PASTE

Test 2.png

Resteem? Only if you found this useful and think other Steemians will too.

Thank you for reading! Steem on Steemians!

Sort:  

Hey @scrooger

** Apprecited Your Work.. I am very much impress **

A big Thanks

I would like to request you please keep posting this type of valueable content for the community of steemit as this platform is growing up day by day .. I would request you that you must support new steemer like me and other .

I am in love with one of my post as a senior steemer I need your Honest feedback regadding that . If you get time from your busy life and write your comment upon it . It will be really apprecited ..*

If I missed I do Apoligize for that ...

Lots Of Love For Future Posts

Bitcoin Secrate

Waiting for feedback on post

Regards Sophia Olive

image

I checked your post! Nicely done! You are doing well and need to keep it up. Only thing I might have some critique on is just a few spelling mistakes here or there. If you use CHROME browser it will spellcheck for you. Other than that, cool post =)

Thank you for making that "easy".
This doesn't have to be rocket science, but quite often I feel as though I need to contact The Rand Corporation for instructions regarding this entire endeavor.

As such, I think I'm taking the track of, "I just love the intelligent people on this platform, and if I make a few coins doing it, all the better."

If you need any more help let me know.

On another note, I have noticed you are upvoting a lot. I suggest reading this regarding Voting Power. If you vote too many time too fast it has a negative effect on your Voting Strength https://steemit.com/steemit/@scrooger/voting-power-101-how-to-vote-when-to-vote-when-to-stop-simple-and-easy-explanation

nods
@denmarkguy had a bit of a pow-wow with me and reminded me that it's not quite the same as Crackbook ... erm, Facebook.

I'm not entirely sure what the algorithms are and how the system works at ye ol' steemit central, and I have a sneaking suspicion that I'd like to put to rest (with verification and validation) that there isn't something shady going on with some of the posts that I see in "trending" making loads of cash that are crap in comparison to others.

Sure, I know ... they got in on the shizzy early. They have loads of followers, etc. etc ... but ... still.

I'm skeptical.

In the meantime, I shall continue to champion good people such as yourself and "upvote"
"Resteem" and follow.

Thanks for the resteem and follow! Yes I know some posts aren't always what they are cracked up to be. Some users have been here a really long time though and know how to work the parts of the system that is workable.

There are bots that can vote content. I'm not saying it's a good thing, I'm also not saying it's a bad thing.

Many things to consider and try to understand. Dig deeper mate. It's fun to learn about this interesring platform =)

100% Vote at 86%

Lol, I am doing an experiment... Thanks for the vote @freshman... Uhm, I kind of need you not to vote on my comment. lol

Testing something. Please don't Upvote this =)

100% Upvote at 70% Voting power

When are they going to simplify this process? When will anyone who knows what the fuck their doing actually sit down in plan simple fucking terms and explain if this is a real deal or some scam were getting involved to steal your ideas? I'm seriously doubting steemit to be a legit site at the moment since it seems people want to use bots and spammers to make a quick buck on here while the rest of the simpletons get a nickel for their efforts with real organic following.

Steemit is still a young. Scam? No way! Theycare working on it as they go and the people behind it are very respected in the crypto community. Yes, our newbies are having a rough time getting started. Nothing hard work can't take care of. I know there is a lot of development still to be done and when this will happen I am not sure... There are voting bots, some do good and some not so good. Take your time to study more about Steemit and the people involved. There are so much to learn. There are the few out there who post absolute shite and get huge payouts. This will not be a long term strategy though. Keep at it and post quality posts. You will be rewarded in the end.

Yet they argue its bad for newbies to upvote their comments, posts, etc. Why is that? Why shouldn't I upvote my efforts? Anyone else disagree? You shouldn't upvote your hard work? Because that is what taking advantage of the concept here? But voting bots and vote cliques and people using multi accounts to just pass steem back n forth is perfectly legit ideas that you should go with right?

Why shouldn't you up vote your own post? I thought that was the default, anytime I post it automatically up votes.

I know the system is not perfect and there are lots of votes passed around for things that never get read or viewed. Running a massive site like this there are loads of things to control. It's not easy. Slowly but surely they will figure it all out and make it more fair. People will always find a way to make money no matter what...

@scrooger great post as usual. You are so knowledgeable and a fantastic teacher. Thanks so much for sharing :)

Always a pleasure! Everything we learn here makes us better and more profitable. Good luck and have fun!

We are on the bleeding edge of blockchain innovation. Don't fret if things do not fit the designers' plans. The market chaos is constructive, not destructive. Embrace it.

It was very useful guide for me. Thanks.

So we keep the SBD....

We trade the SBD for STEEM then convert to STEEMPOWER

Amazing post and an eye opener, i'm new on Steemit and would never know this. Thanks again.

Thanks, i have read it already! i was voting at random and thought it's good though i felt i shouldn't until i saw that post.

Coolbeans then! =) have a good one mate!

@scrooger thank you for this
I have just learned a new stuff about steemit.
But do yoi think that this can be corrected or is it how the system is designed ?
Thanks

@arizonawise.

I know it was designed like this at 1st but I am sure there are corrections that they are working on

I don't convert my SBD to STEEM. To me, its not worth it. I rather rack up my money.

Whatevee you like. Remember. Steem is a cryptocurrency that fluctuates. If the recent weeks has shown us anything it's thatcthe market is booming. More steem power means your votes will be worth more. Much much more. Just my 2 cents. The choice is up to you.

I just earn my Steem power by upvoting other people's posts and comments.

I guess that's ok. You will earn a lot more if you have more steem power though

meep

MEEP!? Meep? Meeeeep =)

MEEP meep meep

Meeeeeeeep.... xoxo

@ionlysaymeep!!!!!

How about that interview? Say meep here if yes.

@ionlysaymeep

Say meep here if no go for the interview.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67