The Steemit / YouTube Dilemma

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemit could become the next YouTube. #SteemTube

U5dsRYG3GrUNauw4hsEJPc399ajxYgN_1680x8400.png

I've written recently about how Steemit could become the next YouTube. Hosting videos and actually paying content creators a fair share for the quality videos they produce.

I realize that I forgot about one major problem.

YouTube pays you day after day, month after month, year after year. Steemit pays you for a very short period of time.

If you create a YouTube video that instantly garners 1,000,000 views, then a Steemit curator model would serve you well. However, if you create evergreen content on YouTube, then the current payout model on Steemit would destroy your earnings.

Take, for example, one of my own YouTube videos. I like to garden and have created a few helpful gardening videos. One of them is about how to braid garlic. I uploaded the video in November of 2014 and still receive payment from YouTube, all of these years later.

Take a look at my YouTube analytics for that video. I've made $4.67 just in the last 28 days, from a video I posted 2.5 years ago! It's not a lot of money, but it's money that keeps showing up in my bank account.

Capture.JPG

I think that blockchain technology and a Steemit platform could eventually replace models like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, etc. The fact that Steemit pays Steemers to create content in crypto currency is awesome! However, for content creators who make evergreen videos, the payout model on Steemit would need to change.

Apart from the issue of monetizing videos, there seems to be a growing community hoping for a #SteemTube model.

Browsing through all of these posts I could find, I haven't seen anybody address the revenue models.

Now that we see there is growing demand for a #SteemTube, let's hope the top Steemit developers give us some hope.

Shoutout to @oflyhigh, @myfirst, @jademont, @rivalhw, @pfunk of the @abit team! I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

Finally, I'm very encouraged by the vision that @ned communicates here. Now, just imagine if that video was hosted on #SteemTube.

Sort:  

I think Steemit being focused on it's blogging platform is best for now, leaving digital media sharing or selling on OpenBazaar and LBRY, all of these networks would hand and hand and not in competition imo.

That's probably true. I'm pushing for #SteemTube simply for the fact that YouTube's revenue is massive. That's why I think there is an opportunity there.

Nice garlic video!

Thanks, @MillionaireMark! It was fun to make and has generated me a small amount of money every year since.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59