YouTube Monetization Change and Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

no.jpg

This is a Big Deal in the Media Right Now

YouTube has just changed the terms of its monetization program. If your channel has less than 10,000 views, you will not be able to monetize your content until you reach that level and then are reviewed by YouTube. This is something that us at Steemit can capitalize on. Those disenfranchised channels could place their videos links over here and still monetize them in that way.




Now is a great time to get the word out about Steemit!

It feels like the rewards pool is ever so slowly starting to rise. It even feels like the momentum is creeping back into the platform. I did a video addressing this YouTube problem and also touted Steemit as a solution.

I would love it if you checked it out!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter https://twitter.com/VirtualPaul1
Niume https://niume.com/profile/101496#!/posts
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/OldGuyPhotography
YouTube (Main channel) www.youtube.com/paulw
Twenty20 https://www.twenty20.com/PaulW/photos

Sort:  

Hopefully LBRY.io will go a long way to fix this problem as well. If LBRY and Steemit would integrate nicely, YouTube would go the way of the Dodo.

It would be great for crypto and censorship.

I am with you here, have been mining LBRY for a long time and consider it a very interesting project. I need to explore it more though before I can make a final decision about it.

I will have to check that out. Have you looked at minds.com? Several people have been mentioning it to me.

I haven't heard about minds yet but after looking at it quickly it almost looks exactly like a Google+ type setup. I will have to look at the html source code to see if I can find any details about the platform they are using. Thanks for the link, it will be fun to investigate

I know they have a points program, but I think a true monetization program will be latter in the year. I'm not on there myself, but did read a bit about it. If they get a good monetization system, it may be very interesting coz from what I have from other YTers is that the interaction is actually BETTER on Minds than on YT.

I've left comments in all my fav youtube channels to try to get them to convert to Steemit!

That's good because I think everyone there is going to be looking for a backup place to go if YT keeps floundering.

Nice introduction to steemit, I like what you do!

Interesting information and good video on Youtube !

Thanks a bunch for stopping by!

You're welcome! :)

10,000 views sounds very reasonable to me, I am glad to see them step up the requirements for people to build a channel. I think steem should focus on getting real content creators as well and employ a similar tactic. If they required people to have say 25-50 or so followers before they started to earn steem. This would help to keep spammers and people who plagiarize out of the system. I am not so sure we want people that can not get a measly 10000 views from their channel.

The question is will it stop there? YT cannot get out of their own way lately. First they (YT) often promoted the very channels that they are now demonetizing lol. The funny thing about the situation is the channels that are making objectionable content are getting 10000 views per vid and up lol.
I don't want to wake up next week and find out now you need 10000 vid per video to monetize it!

People often pay to get their channel promoted using adwords, so it is hard to say what is actually promoted by youtube. 10,000 views per video would be quite a different story than 10,000 per channel but I still think both steemit and youtube should have some kind of minimum requirements to help keep bad players out.

My point in the whole thing is that all the people that cannot monetize their vids on YT can and should come over and build some posts around their video and monetize it through this option. I have gotten a half dozen to come over so far, but I think this new change will open the door for many more.

Steem is not the perfect solution to YouTube. Because, in Steem you can't get recurring revenue like YouTube. Two platforms are entirely different. Still, Steem should go to long way to make it a truly decentralized, sensibly incentivized content distribution platform.

You are right about it is not recurring and hopefully they will change that here at some point.
I am just trying to say to those many people that have lost their monetization due to the new rules or previously for other reasons, they can built a post around their content that is currently not earning anything, and at least make something on it. I make more on my posts here than on my videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64595.89
ETH 3413.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31