SteemTube? Could it exist one day?

in #youtube7 years ago (edited)

image

So I was thinking about steem, and how people get paid to post it they're lucky.

Then I thought about youtube. The same applies.

Then I was thinking what would youtube think of people sharing videos on Steem. I don't think they'd care much at they can still throw ads into it.

But how about Steem and the permanent record... I don't know how that works exactly, but presume the blockchain can only hold text at this stage? I need to research more.

It's probably two orders of magnitude more difficult to do a video blockchain, but if one were to appear would it mean game over for copyright holders trying to control their media?

I guess in a few years we'll know :)

Edit : maybe there could be a tie in here with MaidSafe - a cryptocurrency and shared distributed website thing. It might be possible already, or soon. They're still in alpha.

Edit 2: user whizzkid just commented this link : https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/singulardtv-a-decentralized-netflix-on-ethereum-1472760808/ - Looks like Ethereum is already onto it in a copyright friendly way.

I wonder if there might still be an uncensoreable video sharing system as well.

Sort:  

Judging by the discontent of YouTubers with YouTube's constant policy changes SteemTube definitely looks like it is the future.

After posting, I added to it about MaidSafe - perhaps their distributed network will play a role.

Yeah Steem will be the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59