10 Tips to Add More FollowerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

First200Followers.jpg

Thank you to all of the people who decided to click 'follow' on my profile.
My first 22 days on Steemit have been awesome.

When I hit my first 100 followers here I posted some tips and tricks. Please be sure to check my earlier post for some additional tips: https://steemit.com/steemit/@rebele93/two-new-steemians-walk-into-a-bar-100-followers-today


I appear to be on pace to add 100 followers every 10 days here on Steemit.
Please allow me to share some personal strategies I'm using to stay on track.


1) Seek out your followers

Do you know who your top supporters are? Have you shown them any love lately? I wrote about this in my post:

Useful links for learning more about your followers include:


2) Get to know what tools are available.

There is a growing list of resources available to Steemians. Get familiar with some of the tools listed on the Steem Tools website, and learn more about how these tools can help you out.

I also use Photoshop all the time when re-sizing my images or preparing my thumbnail images. Don't have money for Photoshop? Consider using open-source software GIMP to do all of your photo editing for FREE!

  • Get GIMP here
    Be sure to look for tutorials for GIMP or Photoshop on Youtube to learn how to use the valuable tools.

3) Get involved with your local Meetup.com group or start one yourself.

I'm looking forward to attending the upcoming Denver Meetup. I also decided to start a new Meetup group to get together with people along the Colorado Front range that might not want to make a trip down to Denver for the meetup because of the distance.

View my Steemit Meetup announcement here...


4) Learn how to use the available statistics tools

Here are the main Steemit tools I use I use on a daily basis.

  • STEEM STATS - I use this site to see how many of my votes I have remaining per day. As a reminder, your STEEMIT voting power reset every day. I try to post 10 comments per day. That way, every day I get back up to 100% when it resets, maximizing my votes. Try to always use all 10 of your daily STEEM votes as this will help others, who will likely help you back.

  • Streemian.com -Everyone should check out the offerings here. This site lets me set up posts to publish in the future, and also set up auto-voting for my favorite authors. Be careful with this as you can easily set this to use more than your 10 daily votes per day. I will generally use this when I'm very busy and know that I will not have any time during the day to cast votes. The @curie project has already curated at lease 2 of my posts, taking them from $.05 to $80-100 almost instantly.


5) Refine you goals

Set goals and then refine them. The goals I set origianlly needed to be refined once I had a better idea of what I was doing on the platform. Sometimes we encounter life changes that may interfere with our initial goals, or perhaps I was a bit too ambitious or unrealistic when I set the initial goals for what I wanted to do on Steemit on a daily basis. Don't be afraid to refine your goals so that they are realistic for your current life situation.

Steemit works best when you post on a consistent basis. I try to post at least once per day, and never more than twice per day. Remember, your followers can only use 10 up-votes per day. If you suffer from content diarrhea, you will get fewer up-votes. Don't force your followers to choose between your posts because you posted too many in a single day.


6) Always keep about 10 articles in the hopper at all times.

I try to always have at least 10 articles in progress at a time. Sometimes I'll have an hour or so free where I can just set and write the text for 3 or four posts at a time. At other times I'm super busy and have to just quickly grab a pre-prepared article to post because I ran out of time in the day.

I have a google doc where I write my articles and also have a 'STEEMIT POSTS' folder on my desktop to drop images into.
I add sub-folders with each article's name in the POSTs folder so that I can drop pictures into at my leisure.

As soon as I have the post content written in Google Docs, and the images processed, it only takes me a couple of minutes to post something. I like to publish all of my images at 1000px wide for the best file-size/speed.

I will batch rename and re-size my images in Adobe Bridge or Photoshop(GIMP can be used as an alternative). After I post the images, I just delete the folder and the original images on my computer stay intact and unaltered. This is a real time-saver for me. When I need to, I can use Streemian.com to schedule my posts for future publication.


7) Use your phone to capture images for your posts.

I love taking photographs, but I often fing that I don't heve the necessary time to move pictures around between my camera and my computer, save the originals, add the proper metadata so that my images don't get stolen, resize them and post them. It's much faster to just snap a picture on my phone and then send it to my email address. Phone images don't need to be re-sized and if someone decides to swipe one or multiple from my post, I'm really not overly concerned. They are just phone pics after all right?


8) Don't be selfish

One of my initial goals was to give at least 15 welcome messages to new members per day. When I started doing this, I had selfish motivation. I'd say something like: "Welcome to Steemit, Please consider checking out my feed and giving me a follow. Cheers @rebele93" This was a selfish approach to finding new followers.

Now I still try and comment on a MINIMUM of 15 new user accounts per day, but I've changed my approach. Now I take the time to actually read their post. Crazy, huh? If I can tell that someone has put a lot of effort into their intro post, I'll try to comment on something about their post as I welcome them to engage them in conversation. I still add my @rebele93 link so that they can find me if they want to, but I don't spam them with a request to follow me. Most of the time new users are already looking for people to follow. If you take an interest in their lives, they will likely read your comment and follow you even if you don't ask them to.

Try to help other before helping yourself and the followers will eventually find your feed.

There is a time and place to ask for people to follow you. I do it at the bottom of every post. (see the bottom of this post for an example) The way I see it, I've provided people with quality content and I want them to be aware that I have more in my feed and give them easy access to the information.


9) Never stop learning

Youtube and D-Tube are great resourcs to learn more about STEEM, Steemit.com, and cryptocurrency in general. I try to watch 30 minutes to an hour of Steemit self-help videos per day to enhance my knowledge. Also try to regularly follow the STEEMIT category on Steemit.com for great tips from both new authors (like myself) or some of the more experienced users here.


10) Take it easy on yourself

Did you miss a day of posting? Take a deep breath and relax. Your followers will forgive and forget. Don't make it a habit, but don't beat yourself up over it. Just keep churning out content. Re-adjust your daily goals if you need to, or post two posts the following day if that makes you feel better.

Didn't make any money off of your recent post(s)? Try not to worry about it. Steemit is all about the body of work you post, not one individual post. As I've gained followers, my posts are naturally going to get more attention. I have one series that I post that rarely gets more than a couple of up-votes, however, I enjoy posting in this series and as more and more people gravitate to Steemit from other social media platforms, there may be more users attracted to these posts. Either way, posting them makes me happy, and that makes me want to post more of them. Should someone find this series in a few months (long after my 7 day profit window has expired), I still want them to be able to find and enjoy these posts. I may not get their up-votes on the old posts, but I might get some new followers who will be more likely to up-vote future posts in the series.


Thank you all for your generous up-votes, comments, and follows!

I feel more welcomed than ever here on Steemit.com. Please consider checking out my feed if you liked this content and give me a follow if you would like to see more of my music, art, and blog posts in your feed.

Cheers!
Mike Bryant (AKA: @rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Sort:  

You have some really good advice in these posts. Thank you so much for these.

Hello @rebele93 today I continued with the second guide that you have left me in my introceyourself, I want to congratulate you because it is very good. You're right, you have to take it seriously but calmly. I think you have to enjoy steemit, the rest comes in addition.

Hello @rebele93 thank you so much for this excellent advice. I am new to the Steem platform but must say I like what I see. Your article here will be a tremendous help and time saver for me. I upvoted and will follow, however I wanted to resteem this one but I must be out of steem because I don't see the link to resteem it. Is that typical to not have enough steem to resteem?

Thanks. Just remember, whatever you re-steem will end up on your blog page forever. I did not understand that until I did it. If you are going to be curating content, that may sound perfect, but for content creators, it keeps other authors on your page. I'm not sure about how much power you need to re-steem.

15 posts of hello to members a day? On top of that author your own posts. That is a lot but guess it is working for you. You do have a lot of followers for an account age like yours. I may try to follow some of your recommendations. Thanks.

Keep in mind that I set 15 per day as my goal. Some days I do less and some days I do more. I try to put a proportionate amount of work into a welcome comment as the person put into their post. A Welcome post that includes very little information does not give me much to respond to so I'll just say something basic such as "Welcome to the community, Cheers @rebele93" that can be cut and pasted into your responses. 90% of the time I'll skip these intros altogether and try to find the posts where I have some sort of connection with the person. I almost always skip the non-english posts because I'm lazy and don't want to even try to run them through a translator. I have shifted my time away from Facebook and video games and often will add comments to posts as I watch the news or something else on TV.

Nice tips, man!

I had no idea about Spectacles of Steem Followers. I'm going there now.

I also just started here recently and am surprised how quickly things seem to be coming together. It's a beautiful thing.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Nice post! I especially like #6. That's a very good idea, and I will definitely do that! I know my wife gets made when I spend too long writing a post when we have time so having one prepared would save that battle! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rebele93 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thanks for the information! I have a how-to play the Sims blog. I don't have a big following, but as you mentioned, I hope that in the future these posts will be helpful to new players, and they are fun to write! You gave some useful links. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87