Two New Steemians walk into a bar.... 100 Followers Today!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

NoobtoNoob4.jpg

Pop open a frosty brew and join me for a chat. I’d love to tell you about my first 100 follows and share some tips I picked up along the way.

NoobtoNoob3.jpg

I’ve very excited to have just hit 100 followers!!!!

Do I get a special jacket or anything? A smiley-face sticker maybe?

Thanks to my followers for all of your comments and upvotes. I look forward to providing you with more content, and aim to fill your feed with music, art and love!


I did not get to 100 followers quickly, and I did get here easily, but I did it and I’m proud of that.

This is my 11th days here officially. Many people get to 100 much faster than I did. I am hoping that with this post, I can share some tips and tricks that I picked up along the way.

Now I’m shooting for my first 200 followers!!!!

Tip #1

It’s ok to to be a Lurker.

Before rushing in with your Intro or first post, take some time to lurk about and explore. Keep an eye on who the moneymakers are and what kind of content they are providing. Try to figure out why each high rated post is making people upvote and comment. This will give you a better idea for what to include with your Intro post and what people might want to hear about you.


TIp #2

Don’t just stick your toe in.

Dive into Steemit. Learn all you can. Learn about the way points work and consider investing in STEEM. Try to post daily and interact with as many people as possible. Show people love and they will show it back to you.


TIp #3

You DO have enough time for Steemit.

Make Steemit a priority. Watch one less TV show instead. Perhaps spend less time on your other time-waste websites. (Pintrest is awesome, but I often find that time is a vacuum there.) Turn off the news. Kill your television. Ok… not really.

I multitask and Steemit during breakfast with the news on in the background.

I’m working 2 jobs at the moment. My day job, a web developer, runs from 8:30 - 4:30. My moonlighting gig runs from 5:10 until 10:30. I’m usually home by 11:00.

I still find time to post by being systematic about it. I don’t always know much time I will have available to me, so I try to prepare a few articles in advance in my Google docs. Having 2-3 articles ready to go is key to releasing in a timely manner. It only takes a few minutes to post something if you already have all of your pictures edited and arranged, and text ready to go. I work on this at night before bed and on the weekends when I have more time to spare.

Put down your Facebook! Check your Steemit.com feed and see some motivational or informative posts. Why watch old high-school friends and current co-workers dribble on about politics, and whatever else is the most offensive at the moment. I get an alert to know when My wife, Mom, or family post something I may want to see, but I do not spend too much other time there anymore.

Get the Mobile app! Now you can Steemit while waiting for the bus, riding on the train, waiting on a friend, etc. etc.


TIp #4

Set Some Goals

Set some goals and keep them realistic.

Here are mine. I will modify these to fit my schedule better once my moonlighting gig is over.

  • One fresh On My Turntabe Today post / Day
  • Post a fresh photo or set of photos every day. This is something I've been wanting to do anyway. Steem lets me get paid by posting content.
  • Send 25 welcome messages per day Look for the new users with the tags #introducemyself and #introduceyourself.
  • Give 11 Upvotes per day. No more, no less.
  • Give 10 Chat Invites per day to my posts in various groups. (Only 1 per two hours per chat window)

NOTE: Read the Chat Window Rules!
I failed at this and posted something other than what was allowed, not once, but twice because I was not paying any attention at all to the chat window rules. (Sorry @gtg if you are reading this)


TIp #5

Start up a Series

Start a series of posts about something you love and enjoy talking about. This will make posting easier because it will give you something in particular to post about. Here are a few examples:


TIp #6

Make Your Intro Post Shine

You only have the first 7 days to generate as many likes and comments on your Introduction post, so make them count. (you can still get up-votes and comment and follows, but no payout after the first 7)

Do your research before posting your Intro post. Take some time to look at Intros that people have put together.

This was a hard lesson learned for me. My Intro made me about $12. I know I put it together pretty quick and that I should have worked on it harder now. Hindsight 20/20. I’ve made some updates to it, but too little too late.
While I am proud of every penny I earn here on Steem, I feel I missed a great potential with my first post. Some people make hundreds from their Intros. Why? Because they are better is why. These people spent time and put a lot of thought in their Intros. Other people make videos to include in their Intro, and spend a lot of time on video-post production and editing. Other people just have a knack for posting attention grabbing headlines and an interesting (clickable) photos in their Intro and may not have spent so much time. You get out of it what you put into it. Time spent may not always necessarily equal creative

Learn from the people makings hundreds, not the ones making pennies.

HAHA Do as I say not as I do!


Tip # 7

Invest in Steem

Consider Investing in Steem to increase your Steem power. More and more people are coming to Steem every day. Many people are predicting a huge rise in the value of Steem Cryptocurrency. Now is a perfect time to buy. Even a small amout will mean that you have a vested interest in making Steem a wonderful place.


Tip # 8

Get to know these Websites:and how they can help you


Tip # 9 .

Comment like a boss

If you like a post, don’t just give an upvote, also leave a comment and let the person know what you appreciated about their post.


Tip # 10

Don’t waste your upvotes or hand them out without regard! I was voting on everything when I was brand new. This is a mistake! Only give out 11 upvotes per day to maximize your voting power. (Track this at Steemstats.)


Did I say have fun? I’m loving the people I’m meeting and the positive general vibe of this great community.

Please consider checking out my profile and giving me a follow if you like my blog.

Cheers,
Mike Bryant (AKA: Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Sort:  

It is an incredible post. And it is very useful to read it now that I start, I assure you that I will put the councils into practice. Thank you very much. You have a new follower.

Routine is as Routine Does. Mike You nailed it. If new steemian follow above tips samrtly and continuosly then I can guarantee they will make some good rewards.

Dear @rebele93 try to use @minnowbooster to increase your post value. Your $9 invest will give you $15. Just try (A honest suggestion).

Awesome! Congratulations.Your article was spot on and I enjoyed reading it! Keep on. Steeming. Great job. Thank you for sharing :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

It was realy helpfull,thanks alot man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54