Steemit just paid for Christmas!!! Thankyou to everyone!!!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I am on cloud nine right now and it is all thanks to Steemit and YOU!!!

IMG_3125.JPG

In the past few years Christmas has been both the best and worst part of the year. It sneaks up on us and with six children to provide for it has always been a struggle financially.

IMG_3119.JPG
New books for Master 10.

We usually wait until the paycheck just before Christmas to do our shopping. Not out of choice but necessaty. We live one week at a time financially and the rent and therapy have to come before anything else, this includes Christmas. My partner often takes a second or third job through out the year just so we can get by.

IMG_3116.JPG

This Christmas he has taken work that means he will be away for most of the holidays. This is really tough on our children as they don't understand why he works near home some of the time and then has to go away for days on end at other times.

IMG_3121.JPG

He has missed Birthdays and graduations. He has missed Christmas concerts and parties all to provide for us. I often feel like I'm letting the team down as I just don't have the time to work and look after all of the kids.

Then over the last couple of weeks the price of SBD has risen. Little by little it is going up. Now I don't have a huge wallet. There are no massive amounts of floating around. But every little bit adds up, and last week I was able to receive $280 Australian dollars.

IMG_3109.JPG

That is a huge amount of money for us. It was more than enough to start my Christmas shopping early, that alone was a bonus as I hate having to rush around in the last few days leading up to Christmas.

IMG_3113.JPG

Then today I did another transfer and i will be receiving $580 Australian dollars! I nearly fainted when I saw the transfer amount. It's like a Christmas miracle and it's all thanks to the love and support I get here on Steemit.

IMG_3118.JPG

Because of all of you reading and voting on my posts I am about to have have my first Christmas in 6 years where I won't have to borrow money to get through. My first Christmas without having to race to the shops and only buy toys and cloths with a discount tag on them. So Thankyou from the bottom of my heart THANKYOU.

IMG_3127.JPG

This will also be the first Christmas that my children will recieve more than one thing on their list to Santa!!! That is just amazing!!!

To say I'm happy is a complete understatement.

I joined Steemit thanks to my sister @krystle and her partner @ausbitbank. Without their constant hounding and persistent nagging that this was the place I should be sharing my journey instead of Facebook. I wouldn't be in the position I am in now. So thank you guys, you have changed my life.

IMG_3123.JPG

This platform has not only become a way for me to financially contribute to my household but also a way to share and learn. To see art and read poetry. To have open conversations about Autism and children's development with so many different people who are also on the same page as me. I have learnt so many things and developed new interests and hobbies.

I am so blessed to be here and to be able to share this with all of you!

Every present in the above photos was brought using money I earned here on Steemit. I will be sure to post on Christmas Day so you can all see the joy this platform has brought to my children!

Thankyou for reading.

@mumofmany

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this! I am not able to relate with your story for one reason: I was brought up in an awesome family that had enough of everything. I am still living with my family (because of my studies, busy with my master's degree and then my PhD). So it is tough for me to think that someone cannot have a Christmas or needs to miss birthdays for work etc. It makes me sad that I cannot help other people with their struggles.

But this is where my story begins. I don't have a source of income, and I don't have a work waiting for me after my PhD. I love baking bread and coffee. This is my dream then, to open a bakery where people can feel at home, where they don't have to pay a leg and arm for nice bread and good coffee. (In South Africa anything with the name "artisan" (like artisan sourdough bread) is really expensive.) I also want to open, with the bakery, a philosophical practice, where people can come to unburden themselves, and with my knowledge that I am building with my master's and (hopefully) PhD, I want to help people to structure their thoughts so they can enter the world stronger and ready with tools to cope with our crazy world.

So your story is really amazing and inspiring for me because I also want to use the steemit money to open my bakery/practice. I have received some nice payments that will help. But it is tough to stay positive when you put hours into something and your only like is your own vote.

So thank you again for sharing this wonderful story. It helps those who feel demotivated to keep on going. (p.s. sorry for the long comment.)

Thank you for sharing.
All I can say is keep going with what you are doing and stay positive.
Hard work will pay if in the end.

The hardest part is keeping positive.
Secondly, depression and art are the worst.
Thirdly, I am my worst enemy.
But thank you. It is a journey and not a destination.
And Enjoy what you got. It is well deserved. Enjoy every moment like it is the last. Make every second count, kids grow up very fast. :)

They do, way to fast. I feel like I just had my baby girl five minutes ago and she is about to turn 13!

It feels like yesterday when I was 13... I am still in the phase where I need to decide if I am ready to be a parent.

Crypto paid for my Christmas also!
I personally have to thank LTC!
Congratulations and a very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Yay, congratulations to you!
Merry Christmas to you and your family also.

Congrats @mumofmany...

You are STEEM in action....this is what this place is all about.

And now you are also the subject of a post...sharing your story.

Kudos to all your followers who generously upvote you.

https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/bingo-steem-in-action-this-is-what-upvoting-does

Thanks, I def wouldn't be in this position if it wasn't not for my followers!
Thank you for the mention in your post as well. Steemit is absolutly changing lives and it's all thanks to the people in the community.

Merry Christmas!!!

Thanks for sharing this. I was the youngest child of 6. I remember how hard Christmas time would be. In the US, poor kids have 2 Christmas's. We skimmed by with a few gifts at Christmas time. Then in about February, our parents would get income tax returns, and we would have a really nice late Christmas. I am going to follow you since you said that you talk about autism on your page. I am a Disability Counselor, so I work with students with an array of disabilities. I am constantly learning from others.

We do the same at tax time, take the kids for a nice dinner and buy an essentials that they need plus a little extra, this year we got some of the kids new beds, they were very excited. Thanks for the comment!

No problem. Just remember, it's not the things children remember as much as it is the time you take up with them. The poorer we were, the more innovative my mom was for the holidays. And that is what I remember the most, was how she made it special, not what she gave me.

Very true, we always start Christmas Day with the presents but the afternoon is spent at the beach just being together and having fun. Those afternoons are what I hope my children remember most.

I am sure they will! ;)

I particularly like seeing that you haven't had to power down.
I'd hate to see the long term suffer for the short.
You keep powering up like that, and 2018 is going to be a fantastic year :)
So glad to see you doing well.

I look at my SP as a long term investment for my family. I am very greatful for the ability to use my SBD to help us through the hard times. I think 2018 is going to be fantastic.

Wow. This is such awesome proof that Steemit is a force for good in the world. Thanks for the uplifting story!

It truly is, I am so greatful for this place.

Thanks for sharing. I'm happy to see that you have bought a lot of gifts for your family. Merry Christmas to you and your family in advance.

Merry Christmas to you as well. Hope you enjoy your holidays.

Hello lovely I am just so glad you joined, I know how much this means to you and your family especially the kids - I am just grateful you're here, you've stuck it out through the hard times and now you can reap some much deserved rewards.

You have always put your kids first and I knew once you saw steemits potential, you'd be hooked for good!

Just like you steemit has changed our world for the better, somedays I just wonder why is it so hard to give people money?

I can't wait for Christmas this year its truly going to be amazing to see how stoked all the kids are :D

Hey you, again Thank you!! It's all you and @ausbitbank. You guys are awesome. Not just in getting me here but in helping me out when I didn't have a clue lol.
I can't wait for Christmas either.
See you soon!!!
Kisses to the kids.

No worries at all hun, we just told you about it and helped you on your way - you did all the hard work.

You stuck with it, shared your life with the world and now your hard work has resulted in an amazing Christmas for your family - Im just so happy for you :D

That is awesome! I hope you and your family have the best Christmas ever.

With me unable to work, we usually struggle too but, thanks to the incredible rise in value of SBDs we haven't had to take out a loan this year.

I think that was the biggest bonus, not having to borrow money! Hope you have a great Christmas as well.

Love your sharing and as I have a challenged child, I can understand what you have to go through. So happy that Steemit is able to help you and your family. As this is a huge community, I am sure if everyone can give a little of their upvote to your blog, it will help you in the long run. Keep up your positive attitude and keep sharing and posting, we love to hear from you.
May you and your family, have a Blessed, Merry Christmas filled with lots of Love, Peace, Joy, Happiness and good Health.
God Bless
@jackpot

Thank you. Merry Christmas to you as well.
Is your child on the spectrum?
Steemit has made a huge difference. It truly is a blessing to be here.

She has down syndrome, with a medical condition of severe hirschsprung and short gut syndrome. Delayed in speech but her fine and gross motor are good as compared to many of her peers. She is doing well and very proud that she can read but pronunciation needs improving. Thank God that she is doing well but still needs check up every 3 months.
Just need lots of prayers.
@jackpot

I will keep her in my thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55