Is it time for me to take a break from Steemit? or About Overwork and Stress

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So, this day didn't start well. Too much stress and all of it deriving from Steemit - and my faulty computer which I need to replace asap. The question is...

Does it worth it?

I joined Steemit 9 months ago. Just like a pregnancy - with the ups and the downs. A reminder here, this was my intro post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@meanmommy33/finally-made-it-to-steemit-so-excited-to-be-part-of-all-this-as-a-multi-path-and-not-psychopath-yet-haha-artist

me2.jpg
Drawing by @sethlinson -one of my favs!

I got to Steemit thanks to @creutzy (same as our real life friend @sebi099p) and at first it was just a fun blog experience.

But day by day, it became a full time job[but not with the earnings of one - even though I do work VERY hard]

Lately I'm thinking that maybe it's time for a break.
I am on steemit or e-steem and discord literally all day long, coordinating, getting informed, working and even arguing sometimes.

It is exhausting.

I rarely have time lately to do anything else - or to talk about anything else. And there are very few people I can talk to since most people I know are not in crypto or steemit.

But let's take it from the start.

So what do I do on Steemit?

Writing my own personal blog

Vastely neglected lately, I do still have my personal blog. I started only with Photography but slowly I expanded to other subjects such as matters of love, poetry, talks about life and also crypto and steemit sometimes. I don't have much time to do that as much as I used to anymore. I am not that involved at @spaminator as I used to be though, so there's a pause there at least. I am also on @utopian, Steem Romania and Promo-Mentors but not very active there to be honest.

IMG_1910.JPG
Some of my work

Nikon.jpg
I am Nikon!

Curating Favorite Steemians

I miss people on this platform. I don't have time to check my favorite Steemians anymore and that makes me super sad because I still wanna see what they're up to... @daveks, @ocrdu and @outerground (my fellow lefty!) the photographers, @prakashghai the minimalist, @tarazkp the philosopher @inber, @tattoodjay and @yusaymon the artists I promise to catch up soon [whatever that means... :( ]

Curating Italian content for @ocd

Being a curator for @ocd is not as easy as it may seem. Especially with the latest changes, we all have to work harder. And don't get me wrong, I love it! Finding and sharing quality Italian content is a blast -authoring not that much though, especially for an HTML newbie like myself... Other than that, I'm more than glad @acidyo chose me back then and I get along with most of my colleagues @anomadsoul, @mk40, @macchiata, @mariska.lubis, @elteamgorgo, @guy-fawkes4-20, @ma1neevent, @fukako -just to name a few!- and of course my fellow Italian curator @sardrt !

Creating quality content for @sndbox

@natureofbeing, besides a true steemit friend and a super active steemsugar, put me in @sndbox - and I'm grateful! I met @hansikhouse during @steemfest in Lisbon and it was a start of an amazing journey! At least I put myself into creating contect for my own blog so that works! For now... But even that is more demanding than it seems. Not that I ever posted garbage...but still, to follow some rules and create PROPER content is not that easy.

My baby: @steemsugars

This is the latest post to have a better idea of what's this about:
https://steemit.com/steemsugars/@steemsugars/a-steemsugar-recap-after-london-meet-up
I created this group, account and discord, after Steem Fest. It was a much heavier idea than I thought.
I shared it with @immarojas, @teodora and @osm0sis [the gals from Steem Fest, now Representatives] and later on with @stellabelle [who introduced me to @aggroed's Steemit Queens], @patrice [who started interacting at @spaminator and offered precious admin help when starting @steemsugars on discord] and @natureofbeing [who is now Head Curator and Mentor] - my mentors, technically, in here. And I did it! The group is now counting 160 members -and I have to deal with it almost all by myself, which is fun but very stressful.

wednesdayyellow.jpg
Lisbon: where it all started rolling...

My goal is still to bring more women to the platform, therefore we're almost done with the promo video with @rocking-dave (you're amazing!), preparing an interview tomorrow with @redrica (now Coordinator of the group)
I wanna mention so many girls but it'll take well...probably 160 pages haha... I am still making changes, the best I can to keep everyone happy, even though it's extremely difficult...Especially when I have to keep up with posts of 160 people! -and try and curate as much as I can :/
We are also launching to all Social Media this week -let's see how that goes. My last meeting in London with some of the sugars [and boysugar @colossus39] went more than great in order to motivate me/us do more!

If any girl feels neglected, please try to understand me and don't hold a grudge - yeah?

My other baby : @copensteem

I am a bit behind on this one but I do plan to get the date straight soon.
Oh yeah, let me do a recap --> This is going to be the first official Steemit meet up in Scandinavia, in Copenhagen, in April -so it is kind of a big deal.
I need to get much more into that soon in order to be on time since February is almost over.

We -with @creutzy- are in a search of a venue and ...program of the day/s here.
The problem is that there are not so many Danes on Steemit so we're 'collecting' crowd also from Sweden and -why not- Norway and Finland (@acidyo + @tarazkp WE NEED YOU HERE!!!)

It still needs a lot of work so I'm wondering how it can be done - stress stress stress !!!!

Judge at @daveks's Black and White Photo Contest this week

Ok that's only this week and REALLY cool since I haven't done it before for photography (only for @oscarcc89's Christmas painting contest once!). I guess since I am not doing it alone it won't be THAT hard but still we need to check all entries during the week and choose our favorites :) GOOD LUCK to everyone participating by the way and MANY THANKS to @daveks for choosing us [with @creutzy]!

And last but not least...oh yeah...REAL LIFE!

Since I am on unemployment benefit here in Denmark after my Master's I have to do some job applications and workshops per week to have the right to keep getting it. But you know, proper - so we're talking at least an hour each. Oh, and we should never forget my Danish classes - to master the local language...

I haven't seen my best friend in 10 days now because you know...stuff... And when I do see her, I wanna talk to her about steemit because I'm bringing her here...

IMG_1572.JPG
My 2 best friends in Copenhagen, Elena from Greece and Xiao from China - from my New Year's Party, soon to be joining Steemit!

I don't go out that often, but I still sleep at least 8 hours/night - otherwise I think I'll collapse.
Sometimes I don't wanna get outta bed. Sometimes I don't wanna eat - or I eat too much.
Today there was a misunderstanding with a friend of mine on the platform and it took me 2 hours from when I woke up to actually have my 'morning' coffee.

I know what we mean by REAL LIFE but for me, sometimes, Steemit IS real life buuut it gets in the way of my actual one.
It's overwhelming.
It's panic attack-y.

It's just too much - for me at least.

I'm trying my best, most of the times and it seems like I still do it wrong.
I will explain what I mean...

What angers me on Steemit is that I see people moving forward so fast with shitty content, or plagiarism, or 'friends in high places', or by buying SP, or because they were here first even though not that special, when I myself got here ONLY with my hard work, dedication and LOVE for Steemit.

This is so unfair and frustrating - really now.
Then, arguments? Well, of course there are. That's the most normal and less stressful thing in here actually, because it happens to all 'workplaces', 'communities' or how else you wanna call Steemit ;)

As I said, I never started for the money, and I still don't do it for the money. BUT, when I have to deal with health/financial issues of the two people I have left in this world as family back in Greece (mom+grandma) well yes, it kinda counts.

Sometimes I wonder.

When did all this happen... When 9 months went by and now I'm that into it? What mistakes did I do? Who did I offend or from whom I got offended?
Talk is cheap, at this point. The only thing in my mind is that I should take a break. Can I though? Will I? Should I? You got me.

IMG_2522.JPG
Hmmm....does it work that way...? Source: Google quotes

So the question of the million dollars here is........

## What do you say? I'd love to hear your answer! And also your views about how you deal with stress on Steemit. And not that he'll ever answer but....

What do you think @ned?

Until then...as I always say (with a bitter smile this time...), whatever happens, don't forget to smile!

Yours

MeanMommy

follow_meanmommy33.gif

https://s19.postimg.org/veoxcwadv/Steem_Sugars-banner2.jpg](https://discord.gg/D2V8nq9)

Sort:  

Hmmm,
Definitely don’t Go. But, I think you ought to focus more on your own content and less on curation. Some can blog successfully and others can’t. Blogging is your strength and your good at it! I’m sure your a good curator as well, but that might be at the expense of your blogging potential. Delegate the curating to others, that will free up time and reduce your stress!

When @daveks says 'Definitely don't go', you just don't go hahahaha that was my first though, honestly!
Thank you !!!
And you gave me an advice no one did so far, I believe because you are much more experienced in here already: 'less curation'. Yes, I should keep it down a notch because in the end of the day I can't really keep everyone happy aaaand my own blog should always come first... !
Thanks for recognizing my value !!! Coming from you it means the world to me :))) But I don't know how/am not sure if I can delegate curation to other, quite yet, I think it's too soon for me... but I will juggle a bit with everything (I'm a known multi-tasker) and then relaaax :D

I think of you as one of the powerhouses of Steem, founder of a very important group in @steemsugars. This feels like an accumulation of stress, which is a problem I know all too well. I hope it passes, and you are able to move on here. You've built a following, and have a very strong position. We've only just begun.

@didic that is SO sweet !!! It makes me feel so much better already! :D
I hope it passes too...
Because you're right damn it........ we're only just begun...... ;)))

I can relate to what your saying finding the time to do all we want to do on Steemit is a challenge and I to get behind and missing catching up with people’s whose post we enjoy

I have been bad also for example ti have t seen or commented on your posts for quite a while and only just realized that now and will try to catch up better moving forward

You have done so much in here you should be proud and Steem on, adjust your time you put into the site to what works best for you but with all the effort and time you have put into this I would hate to see you leave

adjust my time is an excellent advice - I think I should start sleeping 4 hours a day, that'll do the trick ahahaha!!! :D
I'm still struggling with my feelings and possible decision. I don't wanna go either, but I do need to find a way to deal with it, and a small break now and then maybe can patch things up - for now ;) Promise to catch up more often my artist friend!!!

I took a break for a week at one stage to reveluate how I would spend time on here i found it was a good way to think things through without any pressure and I came back with a new approach and am now enjoying my time on here more

Good luck with whatever you choose

First of all HUGE ((hugs)) to you, @meanmommy33

The work you do for us is tremendous. I can say with 100% certainty that without the connections I've made I would likely have left Steemit awhile ago. And YOU have been a huge part of that.

When we first started to get to know each other I was always a little flattered when you stopped by my blog to say hi or comment. And as I became more active in discord, and more aware of the volume of things you're involved with, flattery turned to awe.

So please know that what you're doing is working. You're making an impact, and hey, hopefully some money along the way.

But that being said, everyone needs a time out every once in awhile. It's important to know when you're at your limits. Not to quit, but to take a break and take care of you for a while. Go have lunch with the bestie that you miss. Stay up late watching movies and sleep in. Shut the screens down, and spend some time doing the things Penelope loves. Things that aren't Steem related. The refresh will do you some good.

Oh my God girl I am SO happy to hear that, really ????? :D :D <3 <3 <3 That makes me wanna pull myself together, take a short break and come back stronger than ever !!!! :)))

You know that I don't do that with everyone. And I am truly sorry if some people feel neglected but I am a curator for a long time now to know how to distinct quality content. And also there are always the personal preferences - we can't like everyone the same now can we? Of course, this DOES NOT affect my treatment to all members of @steemsugars, I'm definitely pro equality besides my personal views!!!

I'm afraid my bestie thinks I don't wanna see her... Tomorrow is the day and I really hope we do meet because I don't want her to think there's something wrong... :( I'm just honestly too swamped lately!!!

But no, I refuse to ask Penelope what she loves - she always tells me those stupid waste of time things to do ahahahahaha :P :P xD

Yes really :)

And YES...stupid waste of time things is what you need right now.

Steemit is a demanding lover but gives back a lot too! I always take a break each week of at least part of a day because otherwise I get dizzy with all of the curation! And being involved in groups especially if you have a key role as you are/do is SO much work!! Take good care of yourself and know that all of us are supporting you in all ways. xo

It is, isn't ??? Damn it....
Break break break.... but not too long, time to work again tomorrow!!!
Talk soon girl -thanks for the support!!! :*

Steem for me wouldn't be the same without the sugars. Your hard work and dedication is noticed and appreciated. :) My updoots may be only 3c....but you can have them all. I hope you feel better soon!

Awwwwwww boysugar to the rescue !!!!!
Thank you J !!!! I really appreciate it !!!
And I hope that too :/ <3

You are doing awesome! Please don't give up. But yes, taking a break is essential to rest and get away from everything. Especially when you have already felt it's just too much for you right now. There's a Chinese saying "休息是为了走更长远的路" which means "Rest is needed so that we can continue our journey". With love 💕💖 💓 💗

I know that Chinese people are wise, that's why I love the culture and started the language!!! Thank you Eliza, I'll take a rest and then continue the journey then !!! <3

Rest well and we will be here waiting for you to return... :D

Even Steemit spends lots of time, it is too funny to be here.

Thank you for mentioning me :)

I can totally relate to what you wrote.

Yes, I guess you can take a break.

I did try to take one but that lasted about 5 days ... lol

but yeah maybe next time I would take a month off.

and of course even I dont like people buying votes here...but then I ignore all that now... no point in all that... as I do not have any control over it.

I can only exercise control over what I post and what I curate...

so I end up mostly checking posts from my feed, earlier I used to check new content posted in the "new" section by people whom I do not follow.

its ok - fair or not fair...its little fun being here..

not taking this platform too seriously is what worked for me to an extent.

overtime things may change, if not...never mind.. doesnt matter :)

Hey my dearest!
Well that's the thing... I don't have the luxury to be 5 whole days off... I won't be able to follow anything that happened during that period of time :(
Besides the buying votes there's the abuse of bots etc - many ways to get a load of money raping the reward pool...so unfair...
I think it might be useful to start checking my feed, good idea !! Thanksssss -and talk soon!

Yes, See you :)

you deserve to be congratulated with its excellent content and perfect friendships!
I've known you for a short time and liked it very much.! Gained this success, I realize that many sacrifices made and tired ... You deserve to be in much better condition. I am glad to know you! We are very fortunate that you are near the girls and support. I hope you choose me as your and my friends who would support. I work really hard for this. friendly, very nice post. It's great that you are on this platform! I wish you were very happy.

Thank you my dearest komsu and excellent photographer !!!
I'm sure with your and the girls' help I will manage to get out of the black hole I am now, and re-start !!!
Big kiss!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50