"Fast Reply" : A New and Efficient Way to Comment!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Source

We all have replies/comments that we need to respond to, but if you're anything like me, you sometimes get sidetracked with all the awesome stuff that you see, and suddenly, you have 15+ tabs open on your computer and you don't know where to turn first.

I'm a bit like a Golden Retreiver puppy who's been let loose in a field of flowers and butterflies...so many things to chase and sniff all at the same time; I end up running in circles and really going nowhere :)

Thanks to @jaynie who brought this to my attention, @roxane wrote an post about a tool called Fast Reply that is simply amazing!! There is even a live demo included in her post. (The source link for the photo above also goes to her post)

My favorite part of this "tool" is the fact that there's no 20 second wait time in between commenting, but also

  • Voting Power Slider : you can upvote a comment from 0.5% to 100%. The selected VP stays the same between comments (and also between sessions!).
  • You can already reply / vote & reply / vote / ignore a comment in one click
  • Follow, unfollow or ignore a user
  • Emojis (basic support for now)
  • The user name already written in the comment so you don't have to write it to tag the person
  • Severals links to redirect to:
    The Steemit user profile
    The comment in the post can be accessed using the paperclip icon

and so much more!

Is it really that good?

I had taken a couple of days off from steemit and came back to a lot of comments that I needed to reply to. That is a good thing, but I knew it would quite possibly take me hours to complete. I used "Fast-Reply" and had them finished in no time. And no, I did not just reply with emojis and call it a day; I did my usual genuine commenting, but without the distractions and 20 second delay, I was shocked to see the time I saved.

So YES, it really is that good :)

Do yourself and favor and check it out :) Thank you again @roxane for an amazing tool !!

Proud Member of :

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Is there a way to turn off the spam that gets put on every comment? "Sent with fast reply" it's misleading since it doesn't show up in preview that it will add that. @roxane

Actually, that's a really good question @phoneinf. I've noticed that it is of course great advertising because many people have asked me about it when they see it, but I tend to agree with the "feel" of it. I'm hoping that @roxane has a comment about it too :) Otherwise, I'm really enjoying it. I haven't used it on my own posts because I prefer to see the full overview for that, but for all the other hundreds of comments I make, it's been wonderful. It really keeps the 'distractions' of steemit at bay when I only want to focus on those people that I'm replying to.

Thanks for a great response!

You are most welcome @phoneinf; it's my pleasure!

So...You write a comment and click to post it and the 20 second delay gets in the way of you navigating to the next reply, reading it, writing a reply and posting your next comment quickly?

You can do all that and write a valid and relevant reply and be ready to send it inside of 20 seconds?

The next thing we’ll have is reply-bots so not only does a user not have to read and vote on content but can reply as well...All without ever having to read the post or engage with the author.

Doesn’t sound like a very social community to me when one needs to punch out comments so quickly. Still, it mirrors the shit society we live in and is providing the shit society seem so happy to shovel into their greedy mouths.

The platform is dying.

Oh @galenkp, I consider you one of my friends, and one thing I always do for my friends, is be completely honest with them. With that in mind, I'm saying to you, 'don't be an ass' :) You and I both know the commenting that I do, and I have never posted a short, disingenuous, or shit reply. In fact, I have been in the top 10 of @abh12345's Curation League for months now; just check out his Sunday "Curation League" posts to see my commenting numbers...all very genuine by the way.

This tool helps me to navigate quicker because like I said in my post, there is a lot of great content that I get sidetracked with. This essentially puts blinders on me long enough to only pay attention to those I'm responding to...which is the epitome of engagement and nothing shitty at all.

If this is the kind of thing that can "kill" this platform, than I agree with @insideoutlet,

then it wasn't very stable to start with.

I'm going to assume (perhaps wrongly?) that your "cool" comment to her was sarcasm?

Of course there will be those who utilize this tool to their own greedy ends. Those people will always be here, but I prefer to see the positives here, which includes the benefits of using Fast Reply.

The platform is dying.

I don't think so. If you look hard enough, you can see all the good that still goes on here, despite or in spite, of the shit.

I think it's time for a holiday my friend :)

It's always time for a holiday! :D

Of course there will be those who utilize this tool to their own greedy ends.

So true.

I had a feeling you'd pick that out.

The next thing we’ll have is reply-bots so not only does a user not have to read and vote on content but can reply as well...All without ever having to read the post or engage with the author.

See @banjo, as 1 example.

I get your point, but this is already happening in code. I think what this tool does is help the humans.

In some cases, like adding people to my league, i need only give a short reply and see this 20 second message a few times each week there.

Lynn makes a good point about ease of navigation to un-replied to comments - this is what i see as the main benefit of the tool (although I haven't used it yet).

Thanks @abh12345, I appreciate your input. I don't think this is something I will use daily, but I was seriously shocked at the time I saved using it when I had 3-day old comments piling up and feeling overwhelmed, and then boom! I was through them all. I can see how it would be very helpful when you're adding people to your leagues, or someone else mentioned how they have a "set" comment to their once/week contest...like anything, it has its' benefits and is certainly not a catch all.

Thanks again Ash :)

Yes that is a good use case for the tool, even though I like to mix my set replies up a little :)

Happy replying!

I'm not sure what you are talking about.

I have only used it once but I am truly excited about it as for me it's more the flipping between posts that I lose time on. I generally have no issues with the 20-second rule unless replying to my contest post. Its the navigating between them all and getting distracted along the way lol. I hope this is not the death of the platform and if it is then it wasn't very stable to start with. :/

I appreciate your input @insideoutlet. I can see how this would be helpful for your contest post for sure!

That demo seems to want me to login via Steemconnect - I'm not familiar with that site?

Steemconnect is a legit site. It's used for a lot of steemapps...totally safe.

Cool, just wary that I need login deets for a demo - seemed a little odd. Appreciate the vote of support though.

hey no worries. I understand your hesitation :)

How awesome! Im going to have to have a look see! :D

Check it out! It's pretty awesome especially if you're away for a couple days and have a pile up. Thanks for stopping by @smylie2005; hope you are well :)

Thanks, @lynncoyle1. I am definitely going to check this out. I am struggling to keep up with everything and I now want to be doing MORE! That said, I'm getting busier offline, partly because my new little business is beginning to take off (one day it might not be little ;) ) and it's a really busy patch with visitors and events in the village, so the kitchen calls. I, too, prefer real comments and struggle with the passe kind of "This is nice" or "Thank you for sharing". I prefer to qualify my comment and engage with some of the really awesom stuff that I'm seeing. Equally, though, there is a LOT of crud and I'm also needing to work out how to weed that out of my feed because I miss a lot from the peeps I follow - because I like them as human beings and/or because I like what they write.

Ok, so now to look at your post and get back to the job in hand! Lol

Happy day to you, two!

You're welcome @fionasfavourites, and congratulations on your business picking up. Be careful what you wish for, right? haha

I too have a distaste for disingenuous commenting, so the fact that I can continue to genuinely comment, and have a tool to speed that up, is a win-win for sure :)

My feed is such a mess that I never even look at it anymore. I need to take a day to do a cull there :) Do you use @ginabot? Because there is a spot in "her" settings where you can be notified when certain people write a new post. You only have to write the names in. It's another great tool; I too was missing out on posts for people...same reasons too!

because I like them as human beings and/or because I like what they write.

Thank you for stopping by :)

@lynncoyle1 Oh yes, that is something I am learning - being careful what I wish for, hahahaha! I'm not complaining though, when I consider where I was about a year ago.

I do have Ginabot, but I didn't know about that feaure - I will go and look for it. My feed is a mess, too, and I feel overwhelmed. A cull (I like that word - humane killing - ha! - not) from time to time is essential. I am also needing to spend time here and making use of the tool @simplymike shared not so long ago, to create lists of useful posts. Another way of hoarding, I suppose 🙄

Happy day to you, @lynnecoyle1

If you type ..set in the "bar" in ginabot, you'll get a link to go to the settings page.


If that's terribly confusing, please ask me to clarify.

Yes, simplymike's "thing" is on my bookmarked page to get back to lol

and I just realized with Fast Reply that I couldn't upload this pic easy fyi

@lynncoyle1 this is so helpful - thank you. I need to spend some time paying attention to all of this. And yes, I think this Fast Reply is just for text and, incidentally, when I looked at your response in eSteem, on my phone, I didn't see the pic, either.

What I'm finding about some of the Steem-related apps that are in Steem-Connect, is that they are quite hard to find. I need to create a way for managing and sorting them for myself without having a gazillion tabs open. All part of the learning curve 😎

I found out about the tool while I was browsing Steemhunt yesterday. I thought it was a great idea. I still need to check it out, though

I'm finding it very useful. I'm not using it for my own posts because I like to see the "whole picture" there, but in terms of all my other commenting, it's pretty awesome.

How's the recovery going?

That will surely keep you on top of the engagement league. I hope Glen will not come across this lol! However, it would be interesting if he will. I will check on that later on but with the way I reply or comment, I probably do not need that. I hope though that it will not be abused. I remember in a previous blogging site I was a member of that commenting was abused. They tried solving that by requiring a minimum number of characters in the comments but still it was abused with commenting generic comments with no value or reference to the post.

This will put you in an advantage more than ever! I like how there are different tools and ways to help us here.

Now, if only I can comment as much as you lol!

hahaha @leeart, this week has been much slower for me I think, so I'm sure Glen will continue to reign as King for now :)

With regards to abuse, I think that there will always be those who take something beneficial like this and abuse it or use it for their own 'greedy' purposes, but in my humble opinion, I don't think the rest of us should suffer because of it. It saves me time, but I don't change my commenting in any way...still genuine. Fast Reply really helps me to NOT get distracted...that's my biggest problem :)

Thanks for the comment !

Lol! I am sure you will not be distracted with that.

It has been a busy past two months for me as well. I cannot even get back to previous replies anymore. However, I'm glad that there are still those who take time to check my posts.

I haven't done a post in 4 days because I took a few days off with Brian and then have just been keeping up on comments. Ah, you know what? We all do whatever we can, and that is simply good enough 😂

Me too. I can't post daily even the daily photography contests that I like doing before I cannot do that anymore. Time with loved ones is important :D

So true! Steemit will always be here. We can't say that for people.

Haha, like you needed a turbo boost in your commenting! I saw it this morning, and had a quick look, but I didn't install yet. My main problem is keeping track of unreplied comments, some of them just need more time to think about... This tool seems to solve that problem!

Exactly! I know what you mean @bengy, some replies are easy, and others need more time and thought put into it. I realize there's a page for "mentions" as well, so you can have a quick overview of that...also very helpful. I still use ginabot, steemworld and now this because they all seem to have a little something extra to offer :)

Thanks for stopping by!

Hmmm interesting.....thank you for the Intel. I was thinking the other day that having a username pop up when commenting would be quite useful and would prevent misspelling and such.

That part is very useful indeed :) Thanks for the comment @honeysim !

OMG Lynn I just read this and it is amazing!!! I can't wait to use this bad boy and grow faster in commenting!! I might finally topple Glen but I don't count on it becasuse he leaves novels disguised as comments hahahhaha!!!

hahaha I gave up the Glen fight some time ago :) Last week was a fluke I think !

This was so quick though when I'd taken a couple of days off and the comments had piled up...I was literally amazed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59