Growing The Steemit Community One Minnow At A Time - Steemian Impromptu Meetup At My House In Mexico

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemians united in an impromptu meet up today at my house where we spent a few hours talking about Steemit and how excited we all are in being part of such a cool social site.

We shared stories of some of our favorite blog posts and authors and talked about ideas for our own posts. I answered some questions some of them had. All this talk made us very thirsty so we had to have a few drinks of course.

steemians hanging out.jpg

@luzcypher, @mithrilweed, @donnaincancun, @world-travel-pro

Mithrilweed and DonnaInCancun are long-time friends of mine and we all used to work together at a clothing optional, all-inclusive, adult resort in Cancun. As you can imagine we have some stories to tell.

@world-travel-pro is someone I just recently met online through Steemit. He left a comment on one of my posts and said he would be coming to Mexico soon and we should meet up. So we did and he has some very interesting stories of his own.

Two things we all have in common is we're all expats for many years now and we're all into Steemit. Today we also discovered that we all love tacos but who doesn't.

Baby You Can Drive My Car

Someone had the great idea of going for a swim in Cenote Azul. We grabbed some towels and cold beers and off we went in Donna's car.

Sitting in the backseat flying down the road feeling like the copilot for Mario Andretti, when Donna mentioned she used to be a race car driver. I suppose that comment was supposed to ease the concerns I was having for my life as we swerved between traffic like a bully on the playground but it offered very little remedy.

Just as I was taking a mental inventory of what a good life I had lived so far and wondered if my will was up to date we came to a police checkpoint. At least we would have to slow down to drive over the speed bumps for a few seconds which I would wisely use to catch my breath.

Then it dawned on me. We have a 12-pack of beer in the car with 3 beers open and a driver that is waiting until the very last minute to slow down at the checkpoint. Meanwhile, just as we are flying over the speed bumps the armed guard standing in the road with a pissed off look on his face is waving his arms to our driver to pull over right now.

After hopping over the speed bumps it became clear she was not going to stop at all when she just put the pedal to the metal and hauled ass down the road.

"What is he going to do? Chase me?", she said. I looked out the rear view mirror to confirm the hotheaded cop was indeed not chasing us as I took a sip from my ice-cold beer feeling grateful she didn't stop. "Viva Mexico", I thought to myself. "Besides", she assured me. "laws in Mexico are more like suggestions." Well, she got me there. Couldn't argue with that.

A School Of Minnows

We arrived at the cenote alive and in one piece where we enjoyed the cool, fresh water under the hot tropical sun while tiny fishes gave us a pedicure as they nibbled on our toes. The coincidence was funny that minnows were hanging out in a swimming hole full of real minnows.

Steemian at cenote.jpg

Minnows nibbling on minnows

minnows.png

Minnows growing up to be dolphins

girl at cenote.jpg

Oops, how did that pic get in here? She must be a dolphin

Growing Minnows Need To Eat

Then we went to eat some of the most delicious tacos in Playa at Los Aguachiles. I can't believe I have not eaten there before but I will most certainly return.

I had some lettuce wrapped tacos with smoked tuna and a michelada. If you've never had a michelada before think of a spicy tomato beer.

These tacos were some of the most delicious tacos I've had in a while and I couldn't stop eating them.

tuna taco donna.jpg

Feeding the minnows

tuna taco.jpg

Smoked Tuna Lettuce Wrapped Taco

It was really fun hanging out together and just the right amount of drinks, food, and sun to make for a perfect day.

Steemians haveing lunch.jpg

Eating at Los Aguachiles in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

If any fellow Steemian are coming to this area of Mexico be sure to let one of us know and we'll hook up and do something fun. We always have fun here every day and there are so many things to do. Something for everyone.

It was a pleasure hanging out with you guys and hope to see you all soon again. Steemians are alive and well in the Riviera Maya.

Related Posts

@mithrilweed did a post of this same meet up with videos called,

Awesome Steemit Meet Up In Playa Del Carmen Mexico --- by @mithrilweed

Travel Update Fellow Steemians Make My Last Day In Mexico Very Special --- by @world-travel-pro

Another Day In Paradise Swimming In A Cenote In The Riviera Maya --- by @luzcypher

A Slice Of Paradise In Puerto Aventuras Mexico --- by @luzcypher


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

This post made me hungry for some tacos :-/ Well-written with great photos to accompany it! And interesting how you and @world-travel-pro met...he wrote me the other day and seems to have some great insight into Latin America! Upvoted and followed :) Keep up the great work, looking forward to seeing more from you!

PS - Enjoy the @randowhale upvote I just sent your way! Hope it treats you well ;)

He's been living in Ecuador for 3 years so he knows some about Latin America. We had a great time.

I've been in Mexico over 10 years and love it. Thanks for the upvote and follow.

What an awesome day it was. Thoroughly enjoyed the company. Very well written post I may add.

I'll have my post up tomorrow about the days events, including a photo of Donna facing the backseat for a photo op, with her foot on the gas! Anyone down for bumper cars?

I was out of the hotel to catch the bus to Cancun airport 4:30 am. Got to my dad's house around 9pm. Was a very GOOD day of travel. Everything went to plan and worked out well. NYC Subway is all cleaned up and nice. People were polite and getting a long. Compared to 5 years ago....I'm impressed. No culture shock like anticipated.

What a great time I had in Playas! Thanks again for showing me around. I had so much fun spending time with you guys!

I was amazed how clean NYC is these days too.

We sure had a good time hanging out with you and maybe I'll see you in Thailand before the year is out.

OMG! As if you have a photo of me doing that! Great to meet you! See you next time your in Playa.

Great meeting you as well! What a good time we all had together! I'm looking forward to my next trip to Playa and seeing you all again!

I am very happy to see your excitement, let's get together with other steemit friends.

Yes, I'm really excited about Steemfest 2 in Lisbon, Portugal on November 1st through 6th.

Hopefully the steps can go to Indonesia, we wait for your arrival with segena our soul and body

Nice steemit life enjoy always..!!

: ) Life is GOOD!

Cool share..can really tell you guys enjoyed each others company, cheers!

Cheers! Or as we say in here in Mexico, salute! Yes, we had a great time and there's more to come I'm sure. Thanks for stopping by.

AHHAHAHAHAAAAA the check point story is AWESOME!! I would never have those kind of balls, that's so wicked :) :) :) :) :) :) Looks like a beautiful day, and so good to see your smiling face @luzcypher, you look in amazing health.

Thank you. Life is amazing in this little beach town turned small city. So much fun here.

I can't believe you told people about my driving Frank! 😝😱 running checkpoints is my thing!! 😂😂

I can't believe we made it there alive. Running the checkpoint was a classic move. Please, stop saying my name on here, where I'm @luzcypher

Oooooh 😬 Sorry Mr Anonymous 🙄

Uncle @luzcypher always bringing the Steemit community together. And if there isn´t one he just creates it!

Seems like a fantastic time you guys had in the Cenote and your house.

Keep enjoying the paradise you call home!

Hahaha! Uncle Luzcypher. That's funny.

You're right though. Can't find any Steemians to hang out with? Then just create one.

great!!! very beautiful moments..Thanks for sharing.

WOW it looks like you guys had a fantastic time!! I'm trying not to have a bad case of envy when I see meet up posts. LOL

Looks & sounds like an amazing adventure. This is what life is all about, man! Although in America if you try and speed away from a police officer, you are just about guaranteed to end up in a high-speed police chase. that part of the story blew my mind

If that blew your mind then you'll love this story. I have had more run in with the cops in Mexico than in my whole life put together. Never once did I get a ticket. I love that.

Damnnnn that is crazy! Fuck, you're really showing me a different idea of what Mexico is like. Here in northeast America, everybody buys into the stereotypes and just says it's some kind of terrible place.

The more I learn about the police in other countries, the more I understand how fucked up it is here! I might have to try and visit mexico sooner than later

It's not at all like we are led to believe. Anyone living down here will tell you that. I think if North Americans knew how good it was to live here they would be coming here in droves. That's why the media paints it in a dangerous light.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45