Awesome Steemit Meet Up In Playa Del Carmen Mexico

in #steemit7 years ago

Good morning fellow Steemians. Yesterday was a fantastic day as I went to visit my good friend and fellow Steemian @luzcypher in Playa del Carmen Mexico. I drove from Cancun about an hour south with another Steemian @donnaincancun on this mini trip.

The wonderment of this platform is amazing. Connecting people from all over the world through a myriad of topics while sreading positivity. Earlier this month I followed an individual by the name of @world-trave-pro and he is currently traveling in my neck of the woods. https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/travel-update-why-i-m-lovin-playa-del-carmen-mexico

So through the power of social media we all converged

I'm somewhat familiar with Playa del Carmen and I was messaged @luzcypher 's address with google maps. Some of the streets are a bit confusing to navigate then we came upon this mural...

luz1.jpg

luz2.jpg

...I looked over to @donnaincancun and said we must be close...sure enough his place was just around the corner.

Spirits were poured and a lovely meal was prepared by our host. I'm sure that the above Steemians will be posting about this and may have taken some pictures of the meetup. Eventually @world-travel-pro arrived after stating that he had been walking around in circles transfixed with the murals in the neighborhood. Everything about Steemit was chatted about. In fact I've just noticed that @luzcypher has made a post about our meetup here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@luzcypher/growing-the-steemit-community-one-minnow-at-a-time-steemian-impromptu-meetup-at-my-house-in-mexico

Then I believed @donnaincancun mentioned we should all go to a cenote and everyone agreed. I've driven with donnaincancun in the past and for anyone who enjoys velocity then you are considered her perfect passenger. There are some police controlled highway checkpoints along the way but she conveniently decides not to stop at them when asked to pull over. Her remark is always the same "what are they going to do chase us on foot?" After passing that checkpoint the vehicle reached maximum speed once again and I did hear our other passengers ask her to slow down a bit. I must confess I did look over to her an retorted, "If you drive any faster we'll be going back in time."

We arrived with plenty of time to spare at a place called Cenote Azul and it a great place to chill, relax and have a bit of fun.

That would be me....

luz3.jpg

@world-travel-pro @luzcypher @donnaincancun

luz4.jpg

Plenty of fish which varied in spiecies black catfish, bluegills, and minnows which if you sat by the edge and dipped your feet into the water they would come up and nibble on them. It felt a bit weird and slightly tickleish.

Then donnaincancun begged me to take a video of her diving off the short platform.... adjust quality of video in youtube settings.

Well everyone was getting hungry and we started to grab our things to leave when...

We eventually found world-travel-pro and headed back to Playa del Carmen at warp speed. We eventually wound up at a place called Los Aguachiles and let me tell you that the drinks and the eats are off the charts!

I took some picks of the "Figurines" which is like a fish taco wrap. Simply amazing soooo delicious. Shrimp, tuna, mixed "ceviche" and these were healthy choices of their menu. They do regular fish tacos as well.

luz5.jpgluz6.jpg

All told it was an amazing day and I enjoyed myself immensely. If any Steemians are heading to my neck of the woods drop a line and I'm always down for a Steemit Meetup in the Riviera Maya area. Hoping every Steemian is having a wonderful day... Excelsior!!!!!

follow mithrilweed.png

Sort:  

Niceee!!! Miiss you so much guys!! I envy you!! Wanna be there right now!! Send me a ticket haha

Te extraño un chingo loca. Hacemos unos posts para conseguir tu boleto de avion!

We have an awesome global family. Very nice post!

That we do... glad you enjoyed my post.

This is awesome! Nice to see some expats enjoying the beauties of this beautiful Country! The Mayan Riviera is definitely one of the must visit zones of México.

Sounds like you had a lot of fun my friend! Resteemed

Three of us have been living in the area for over 10 years... Mexico is beautiful and the people are some of the best on the planet. Viva Mexico!!!

It is awesome living here and so much fun.

Right on my friend, keep enjoying that paradise! Cheers and Viva Mexico!

Looks like a funny, refreshing day. Well done, good luck here!

It was... Always good times here in Riviera Maya

Looks like fun! Lol you dove in like an olympic medalist & then.... Now following @donnaincancun

hahaha this Gif is hilarious and spot on! Cheers

What a fun day. I added a link to your post to my post about this meet up too. Thanks for the mention.

Yea it was very cool ...I'm gonna resteem your post as well. Cheers buddy

Thanks mate... I think we're going to have to do a Steemfest in Cancun/Playa del Carmen... it seems like the best way to help the community

I think you're absolutely right even when you're not drinking Absolute.

Just got to up-state NY an hour ago, The long day of travel went really smoothly, perfectly to plan, Heck, yesterday I couldn't even find my way to a bathroom!

In total it was 4 hours on a bus, 4 hours on a plane, 2 hours in the NYC subway, and 1 hour in my dad's car, and 45 minutes behind closed doors with TSA and a rubber glove! JK

Actually If @donnaincancun was driving could have skipped all that and gone direct Cancun to NY in 5 hours, just throw her a little gas money and put on my helmet!

I'll write up a post on my last day in Cancun with my new steemit buddies tomorrow. You guys were the best. Really made my time in Mexico special. And that last video really cracked me up. Not very Travel Pro, to get lost on the way to his apartment....and to the bathroom! lol.

I'll be in-touch!

Was nice meeting a fellow Steemian.... stay safe in the U.S.A.

Yeah it's already getting weird here in the USA. Seems like there's nothing else to talk about other than complain about the weather. Bit strange how that's like number one topic.

Yes, it was super fun hanging out. I posted my article with links to yours and @luzcypher. Check it out below.

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/travel-update-fellow-steemians-make-my-last-day-in-mexico-very-special

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mithrilweed from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I will be taking my teenage kids to Playa del Carmen next month. what are 2 or 3 things you think they will like to do?

Xcaret for sure.. you can check out there website online.... If your feeling a bit adventurous ( don't know how old your kids are) ...I suggest the ruins of Tulum (3 hours you've seen it all)...or Coba (Is a half day for sure but a bit of an Indiana Jones experience). All three of these you can book on any tour site or through your hotel... Bonus round... You could take the ferry from Playa del Carmen and go to the Island of Cozumel (bring snorkel gear because anywhere off the island swimming 30 seconds your on a reef... Old diver trick bring some bread in a Ziploc baggy from breakfast and feed the fishes...buy cheap disposable underwater camera... You're taking pics like Jacque Cousteau). Almost forgot Xplor...is a pretty cool tour...once again can be found on any tour site. Don't do ATV tours not that fun. (personal opinion) kinda lame.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45