How to Sign Up and Interact with the Steem Blockchain

in #steemit6 years ago


Good to see you again my friend. If this is the first time you are dropping by my channel, welcome and enjoy your stay. Hope this vlog finds you well.

More than likely, if you are reading this right now, you want to know more about signing up for Steemit.com. What you are essentially doing is signing up on the Steemit app in order to interact with the Steem blockchain via posts, comments, and voting. Steemit is one of the graphical user interfaces that allows this to happen.

You must have an active Steemit account to gain access to the Steem blockchain. Once you have one, you are locked in and assigned a permanent address, better known as your username. Unlike other blockchains that use a series of random numbers and letters for a wallet address, Steem integrates usernames that you would normally see on other social sites such as Instagram or Twitter.

steem1.PNG

If you'll take a look with me, I want to walk you through the sign up process which is relatively simple. First, head over to https://steemit.com. Once you land there, click on the "Sign Up" button in the top right corner which will take you to https://signup.steemit.com.

You are now on the official sign up page for Steemit and you are given a couple different options to choose from. The first option is that you can create a free account in exchange for your details such as phone number and email address to confirm that you are a real person.

If you click on that, you will begin the sign up process by first choosing a username. In choosing a username, I like to choose ones that are simple and easy for others to remember. In my case, I simply used my first and last name. Others may choose a random name or perhaps a business name of some sort. It really depends on the type of account you want to create and what you want to be known for within the community.

steem2.PNG

After you input a username, the next step is to enter your email address. Use an address that you have access to so that you can confirm your account details. In a subsequent step, you will be asked for your phone number in order to fully verify that you are a real person. For the free account, simply follow the steps and fill in the details to the best of your ability.

The upside to this option is that you do not have to pay to open your account. The downside is that you will be waiting 1-2 weeks for your account to be activated. So, if you are willing to wait it out and submit your personal information, sign up using the free account option.

Alternatively, if you would rather not submit your personal details to Steemit.com and skip the waiting period, then you can sign up for a paid account. Upon choosing the Pay to Sign Up option, you will be shown 3 different avenues to pay. The first one is by using a service called Blocktrades.

steem3.PNG

Blocktrades is the chosen exchange that Steemit.com uses to exchange digital currencies, or cryptocurrencies. Upon clicking on the Blocktrades option, you will be taken to a page that lays out the steps in detail for signing up for a Steem account. The fee is minimal, and if you already have Ether or LTC in one of your wallets, then you can use that to send to Blocktrades and they will create your account for you.

The second option is AnonSteem. AnonSteem is simply another way to get a Steemit account created by paying a small fee to them. Do not be alarmed by the look of their website if it seems a bit dark. They are a trusted site and I feel comfortable creating accounts through AnonSteem.

The process tends to be a bit simpler with AnonSteem, as you basically pick a username, then chose the option to send them either Steem, LTC, or BTC as a form of payment. You then click on buy now and it will take you to a new page where you can pay and then have your account set up. If for some reason the page times out, then just use Blocktrades instead.

steem4.PNG

The last paid option for signing up for a Steemit account is by using SteemConnect. SteemConnect is a tool that is used to connect user accounts to other applications on the Steem blockchain. In order to choose this option, you need to already have an active Steemit account. Choosing this option allows you to create another account for yourself, or to create one for a friend.

Once your account is active, you are now ready to start blogging on Steem! Hooray! I am excited that you are getting started on Steem because the community here is so fun and inviting, not to mention you can earn rewards for posting, commenting, and upvoting. You now have access to all the apps built on the Steem blockchain such as @dtube, @dlive, @dsound, etc.

kenmelendezdivider.png

Right now is an extremely exciting time to get started on Steemit. If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments below and I will do my best to answer them. Choosing a sign up option is up to you depending on how much of a hurry you are in to create your account. Paying for one makes sense in my opinion, buy you can do as you please of course.

Can't wait to see you on the inside my friend. Until next time, remember...You Are Awesome.

Take care.

kenmelendezgifresized.gif

-Ken
@kenmelendez

P.S. Once you are active, let me know by commenting on one of my posts. I want to give you a HUGE welcome :)


Recent Vlogs You May Like

Winners of the DTube T-Shirt Giveaway - Super Exciting!
Check Excuses at the Door and Achieve Your Dreams
Shifting Perspective for Added Joy and Fulfillment
Don't Throw in the Towel - Ride the Steem Wave
5 Honorable Characteristics of Steem Whales
Right Now is a Great Time to be a Minnow
The Importance of Staying Committed


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I clicked on AnonSteem and it says that it costs 5 Steem to create an account. Thanks for that information.. I was looking for this!

@kenmelendez

You got it Chris! 👍🏻🙌🏻

Btw, what's that link titled IPFS?

I clicked on it and it didn't seem like a working website.

It’s a link that DTube automatically puts onto each post. They use IPFS to encode each video. I don’t believe the link is meant to be clicked on.

Ah, okay. Thanks for explaining! I understand now.

I shared this on my twitter. Really good quality presentation! Some people are really missing out. Now hopefully more and more and more join! ^_^

Hey thank you @jacknaxter. Yes, I hope that this tutorial will encourage others to join the platform as it is truly life changing :) Appreciate you my friend.

-Ken

I really appreciate your video @kenmelendez I bet you've told so many people to join. So far I've brought 3 people to steemit. The more the marrier, and the more steem grows as well.

Congratulations @kenmelendez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for explaining it in a very simple way. I signed up the steemit by paying through blocktrades. Can you make a video explaining about Withdrawals from Steemit? I need that information and would like to see from you end. :)

@sciencevscoins absolutely! I will add it to my content creation list. Thank you for requesting that and welcome to the wonderful world of Steem! Glad to have you here.

-Ken

I have followed you. Please follow me. I am new to this industry please help me

@srnetworker thank you for commenting. I appreciate your request, but I need to find out more about you first. For example, you need to add a profile pic so I can see who you are. Welcome to Steem and I look forward to getting to know you better :)

-Ken

Hi there! Very interesting read. I signed up for steam a few months back and patiently waited a few weeks for activation. I'm now excited to share some content on this site!
I'm curious as to what your thoughts are about the live streaming platform 'DLive'. Whilst I do enjoy other hobbies and professions, streaming games on DLive is an avenue i'm really interested in persuing. Any tips on being a more effective content creator via streaming and the likes? I'd love to do DLive streams more often.

Thank you again for the lovely article @kenmelendez

@lethaltoast I appreciate the beautiful comment you left here. Welcome to Steem and keep that excitement going! DLive is a great platform. My experience on there has been posting videos as I have not done any live streams on it yet. My advice though is to follow your passion. If you want to stream games on DLive, then be the best game streamer on the platform. Do it with all your heart and you will find success.

To be an effective content creator, you have to create with your audience in mind and not come from a self-centered point of view. Also, aim to create content that is quality which means put time and energy into what you are doing. Don't have one foot in the door and the other one out...put both feet in and take consistent action. That is what I have been doing and it has been working.

Go get'tem man! I believe in you! Tag me in one of your streams so I can come check you out.

-Ken

@kenmelendez thanks so much for such a speedy and word-bountiful reply. I'll take these words into careful consideration - i'm going to create some new graphics and effects for my stream and posts to improve the overall quality. I appreciate the words of advice!
Thanks! If you are interested in Overwatch, i'll be streaming that a little later - if photography is more your thing, I shall be uploading a photo rich 'documentary' of popular UK tourist attraction Blackpool.
For previous reference, here's my last stream description: https://steemit.com/dlive/@lethaltoast/e547c8f1-73c0-11e8-9a73-0242ac110003

Have a wonderful day! Thank you again.
Ollie

hi, very informative read about steemit and othere steemit featers.

Very informative. I'm extremely new to the whole crypto thing and to Steemit too so this was invaluable. Thanks for posting it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81