#Advice: Why it is important to read and why your vote is SO IMPORTANT!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

EVER since joining Steemit, I have really developed in so many ways in terms of what I view as something of value but sadly, this appears to be something that I do not share with quite a few Steemians - sure, there are some of you I share this with but not all.

So, the headline caught your eye but perhaps my reputation didn't so much - I mean, what's so cool about having a reputation of 45?

Well, there's the obvious part that it is not in the lower reaches of 25 or less so clearly, I must be doing something right #DontSpam!

While you're casually scrolling through your feed, you're obviously looking for cool content and who to follow - OMG, a Steemian with a reputation of 75 just posted an article and it is literally a second old, it doesn't have a vote yet and you're right there to claim the curation!

DQmSzykMnanZ7VbSCWPNhUiTC7yZnsQHyCnsa4TNfb91Hk8_1680x8400.png

Is that not something amazing!!!

But wait - I literally just gave them an upvote and I didn't even access the post to see what it was about - bringing me to a vital point.

Each and every single one of your votes count and thanks to some well-placed advice from @honeysim, I now know the difference thanks to a site which she was kind enough to share with me FindItHere

You'll want to access the site and edit the URL as follows: https://steemd.com/YourUserName

This site will show you exactly how much weight your vote carries and how much voting power you have left - let's put it like this:

If your voting power drops below 80%, it becomes pretty much useless from what I understand.

In short, you have about 11 upvotes you can work with on a daily basis to ensure that it never drops below 80% - each and every day, your voting power adds 20% back from what's missing so clearly it is a fine line you have to work with to ensure you gain the most out of curation rewards.

Why am I telling you this, you might wonder.

Simply put, that Steemian with a reputation of 76 somehow managed to fool all the previous Steemians who upvoted them by simply posting copy and paste info or stolen images from other sites all the while, claiming it as their own.

Not that it matters all that much to you because you might still have scored some curation rewards - but here is the issue.

Everyone simply upvotes content from Steemians with high reputation levels because they have high reputation levels.

Go ahead and kill the little guy why don't you!

Last week I was introduced to an amazing curation contest hosted by @thedarkhorse and in this contest, Steemians are recognised for their quality efforts on the platform - best part? All the curated Steemians have accounts with a reputation below 50 and through the curation contest, they are able to get recognised and rewarded for their work.

Check out my entry for @thedarkhorse's contest here

Here are some details for the latest contest: New Format - Week 8 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest - Steem Bounty and SBI Shares

So, instead of being careless with your upvote, perhaps next time you'll consider actually reading what was posted before you actually upvote content and don't think me to be silly about this, I myself was fooled by a Steemian with a high reputation level and it turned out they were stealing Getty images and removing the branding.

It really is not fun when you've basically been rewarding someone for what at it's core is considered theft!

Besides, once you're done reading the article and have deemed it worthy of an upvote, write back to the author in the comments section and give them some quality feedback - who knows, you might just score an upvote or two.

For a really great and super informative article on voting power and how it works, check out @scrooger's post

END OF ARTICLE:

Read some of my other articles:

#Contest: Week 7 - Pay It Forward Curation contest by @thedarkhorse

#BonsaiCommunity: Do you love Bonsai? You can help us grow and share on Steemit! (Calling all Bonsai Steemians)

#BonsaiNews: If you like flowers on trees, the Jacaranda tree is perfect for you!

#BonsaiNews: Grow your own Marula tree (Complete Guide)

#BonsaiNews: (Complete Guide) Do you want to grow your own avocado tree?

#BonsaiNews: Japanese Maple makes for an excellent bonsai!

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV.gif

giphy.gif

COMING SOON!!!

giphy.gif

Sort:  

Hello, imagendevoz! I wish you a very happy journey here in this loving and caring community :) All the best!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

@imagendevoz ...welcome to this great community..I'm positive you'll do well , I've followed you, please do well to follow back..peace!

Well done. I could not have said it better. It’s hard writing articles and not getting recognized for it. I read a lot of articles of higher ranked steem it users and if funny how may votes they get for writing about simple things. The best are the ones that just post photos

Agreed. But at least we can rest assured that we'll still reach that level irrespective of what we post as long as it is quality, quantity and original.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Well done. I could not have said it better. It’s hard writing articles and not getting recognized for it. I read a lot of articles of higher ranked steem it users and if funny how may votes they get for writing about simple things. The best are the ones that just post photos

You're right!

It's difficult for us smaller members to get our content noticed, it's a bit of an oligopoly at the moment...

Luppers

Hi and welcome to Steemit - I see you've only been around for roughly seven days - perhaps consider doing an #introduceyourself post and see how that does as a start. For a newbie, you've done quite well in the last few days considering you've already raked up over 100 followers! Be patient, and continue to produce quality content. You'll do great here!

thanks for the kind words of advice!

Will give it a go!

Luppers

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Well written article my friend and a very useful advice to minnows. I also have written on this matter in my posts. I think most of the time people just follow herd mentality. They don't realize that a post of a whale can be average while a minnow can produce quality content but because he doesn't get much for his labor, he began to loose interest. This is not good for this platform. Reward distribution system is also faulty. If someone is rich (have more SP), his every post and comment will be worth earning reward. There is no equality here. So minnow should unite and help each other. They don't have options to choose.

Agreed but sadly the reward system from what I have experienced and seen is probably what the creators of Steemit had in mind. Total control by the user. It's your upvote and you're in control of it, thereby, you're responsible for what you upvote. So sadly, I feel that I kind of need to disagree with you somewhat since there is equality in that sense. It may be chaotic but there is equality. The only way to get rid of the problem is to actually read before you upvote and after that either upvote or downvote. The other problem is that users are perhaps scared to downvote posts since you can see who downvoted you.

My friend can you downvote a whale even if you are well aware that he is indulged in spamming or plagiarism? Or is a minnows vote power is enough to reward a good post? Answer is no my friend. Most of the users take services of automatic voting tools which don't see whether a post is worth upvote or not.
So this is the sad part of the story which can be changed.

In that there is truth. Users should have taken action early on. But therein lies another problem. The fact that you can create many accounts to benefit one and that you can purchase Steem. Which again shows that the user is at fault and not Steemit.

I think no one should be allowed to be so powerful that he may become a tyrant. I agree with you that someone can create so many accounts to misuse the system of voting. Nothing is perfect but a system should be create to check these things.

Agreed 100% I found one of your articles very informative, from what I read so far. I've resteemed it to help spread the word.

Thank you my friend. I also found your articles very interesting.

I'm here with a big smile on my face.... So proud of you bro for doing this article. Good job and I'm happy to see that my advice was of use to you.

I agree, many persons only vote on content with a high reputation. I try to stay clear of those unless it's someone I have been noticing or watching....I hope all this will change maybe no time soon but hopefully before all hell breaks loose on steemit. Thanks for this one; it was a good read and thanks for mentioning the curation contest in your post. Really appreciate it. @thedarkhorse started a great project that many of us are able to learn and benefit from.

PS. Be careful with the introduce yourself tag... By right, you should only use it once and that's when you're introducing yourself to the platform for the first time. You can be flagged for abusing the tag. Great post :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44