The rise of the shameless 'UP-VOTE ME' posters!!! I call upon all Steemit users. Down vote these posts!!! Help Steemit community by joining in with examples...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

With the rise of Steem value over the past few weeks, suddenly Steemit members who have been using the platform for 4-5 weeks plus have the power to award a reasonable amount of money with a single up vote.

An up vote from myself is now worth around $0.25. Not much, but enough for me to begin to get accosted with pointless, annoying 'Up Vote Me' requests. I can only imagine how many requests the larger Steem holders are getting... I haven't been down voting these posts, however I have been replying to them requesting that they contribute some thoughts/knowledge/questions/answers (SOMETHING!!!) to earn an up-vote. My patients is however already running thin, and I will begin to down vote these posts moving forward...

Some members are already fighting back. @pharesim has a down voting bot which takes on the spammers posting the same content across multiple posts. The bot is called @soupper3, I will be lending my support to users like this one, by up-voting whenever I see them catch a spammer.

It's inevitable that this would happen, but as a community we can keep Steemit pure by working against these bad actors.

If anyone does see culprits of these kind of tactics, post links so we can see what to look out for and so we can down vote with confidence. First example is the link attached. See bottom of post... https://steemit.com/charity/@hisnameisolllie/we-can-harness-the-power-of-steemit-to-help-syrian-refugees-steemit-s-1st-charity-post-we-can-change-the-world-one-up-vote-at-a

@igorduarte has posted the exact same content on multiple posts and should be considered to be a spammer (until his or her content becomes original). This was caught by the aforementioned down voting bot. I checked in with him on slack afterwards to confirm he was who he said he was...

EDIT:

Found another one; I have down voted...

https://steemit.com/ethereum/@hisnameisolllie/ethereum-hard-fork-due-on-20th-july-download-ethereum-mist-wallet-0-8-1

https://steemit.com/@nastrom/posts

Sort:  

I am so looking forward to the bot wars, it's going to be a hell of a show seeing what these bots will do. I suspect it's only a matter of time before someone with too much time on their hands and a "no craps given" attitude develops one just to down vote everything in it's path and mess with the community. It'll be very interesting to see what happens then. It'll suck... but it will also be interesting to see what comes of it.

@jayjustmay That is something I have been thinking about too. The 20 second (I think it's a minimum 20 seconds between actions on Steemit) rule should slow these guys down though.. Certainly can see a battle of the bots coming though for sure!!

This is all I can think of when I think of the bot war.

Is that Bruce or Michael? I always get the Buffers confused. Kind of eloquent when you think we are talking about bots. I'm sure it will be very hard to identify who's who in the bot wars too :)

I honestly have no clue what the guy's name is but you can't deny his career as being "the fight announcer" is damn impressive. I was introduced to him from an old Sega CD game called Prize Fighter if you believe it. That was back in the early 90's I think. You know you've made it big when you get paid to do what you do in a video game lol!

All posts like that should be downvoted straight away, it's almost as bad as begging in the street it adds nothing to the site and should be deleted imho

from https://steem.io/getinvolved/posting-rewards/
In addition to defining what content is desired, the it is also useful to provide guidance on undesirable content. Any submissions that meet one or more of the following criteria (borrowed from reddit.com) should be voted down.

NSFW (Not Safe For Work) content
Encourages or incites violence
Threatens, harasses, or bullies or encourages others to do so
Impersonates someone in a misleading or deceptive manner
Is spam
Links to viruses or malware
Is improperly categorized or not relevant to the conversation

If anyone does see culprits of these kind of tactics, post links so we can see what to look out for and so we can down vote with confidence. First example is the link attached. Go to bottom of post...

https://steemit.com/charity/@hisnameisolllie/we-can-harness-the-power-of-steemit-to-help-syrian-refugees-steemit-s-1st-charity-post-we-can-change-the-world-one-up-vote-at-a

@igorduarte has posted the exact same content on multiple posts and should be considered to be a spammer (until his or her content become original). This was caught by the aforementioned down voting bot. I checked in with him on slack afterwards to confirm he was who he said he was...

I wish they would make the little flag bigger to be more noticeable. I didn’t know you can down-vote until someone mentioned it to me on my post. Cheers!

It took me a while too @paco. Suppose they don't want to make it too easy to downvote ;)

I think we should be able to hide our wallets from public and the votes as well, so if you're a big dog and you vote it will just say "anon vote" or something.

I found it odd that we can click on someones page and see how much money they have... I don't need to know you have "7,801.447 STEEM"

I think it won't be possible because of the blockchain and transparency. Steemit.com can hide, but if you want you can check it at steemd.
But if you don't click on the poster's wallet you won't know! :)

interesting, lol I forgot the site is pretty much a "block explorer" and yes I don't normally look lol I was just making a point.

Ha.. just have a little button that puts a sign over your wallet link which says "don't look at it!"

@fonzerrellie I can see your point of view, but there are benefits to this... We can see how much the founders of Steemit have, and what they are doing with their funds. Are they transferring large amounts to Bittrex to sell? Are they Powered Down (Yes they are, but this might be a function of the hack, we can wait and see https://steemit.com/@ned/transfers https://steemit.com/@dantheman/transfers). If they are all in, that gives other users confidence, if they are selling, maybe we should be too..

You can see how long I have been on the platform, and how much I have to lose from giving mis information and misbehaving. You can see if I am a bot, or a real person.

I see it as a reputation signal. Complete transparency is one of the beautiful aspects of the blockchain, and this is exactly the same in Bitcoin and other crypto currencies (albeit with less personal information attached)

Good points and in all honesty as much as I love the idea of being able to hide your wallet it is basically a pipe-dream. The transparency does have massive benefits which can't be discounted for very good reasons. Though I have to admit I do like my idea of the "don't look" sign. Not like anyone's going to follow it but it would be kind'a funny.

Interesting thought. Put a extra webpage saying 'I would like to keep this private' with 2 options; proceed or return. That could work...

Indeed, I guess the benefits outweigh the risks/annoyance. I just hope all the big holders are sufficiently protecting their wallets

That's true i don't need to know who has what, i would not like it to have my bank balance on here too if you get my line of reasoning ;)

Im sure it wouldn't take much to hide that info on steemit but still have it on the blockchain

I think that's a really great idea!
An option to keep your wallet blocked from view kind of like what you can do when registering a domain name and signing up for the "who-is" blocking services that exist out there. I really like this idea a lot.

Maybe making it more difficult is possible (i.e. not on Steemit, but on the Steem Blockchain) but hiding altogether cannot work. I wouldn't be against people having to go to Steemd.com to find out as @spiz0r has alluded to...

I"l do my best to make interresting items, sure there not perfect and other blogs are far more interresting. But it get drowned by bullshit post.

While an "upvote me" post by itself might be annoying spam, what if they had something interesting to share? Even if you sort posts by "new" posts regularly, with the amount of new posts made, many quality posts are bound to get lost.

What if they truly had something interesting, and hoped to get more exposure for it?

I'm talking more about: Example: See comment section in this post, right down the bottom:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@hisnameisolllie/why-steemit-needs-really-successful-bloggers

Zero content.

Yeah, I completely understand what you're saying, and I agree. But I'm wondering what you think about the situation I'm describing? Some people might still be annoyed at this kind of self-advertising... On the other hand, it is extremely difficult for a completely new user to be found.

I see. I suppose in that case, I would just judge the content on it's own merit. It more acceptable in different cultures to ask for 'a reward' rather than it be a 'gift'...so we should probably bear that in mind. Completely see what your saying though @lightnovelist

I just wrote about a way to make it easier to discover relatively unknown posters here. Sorry to be one of those people, but I just really want to get the idea out. You don't have to upvote, I just want you to read it and tell me what you think. And perhaps share it if you like it.

agree with your words, upvote-me poster are doing damage to steem brand

@bhokor Certainly! I think we all need to work together to make sure these users requests never see the light of day. That's why I will be down voting from now on and not engaging...

Oh, I know what you mean. Spammers terribly bothered! I am glad that there is a bot that downvoting.
Sometimes I want to see something like moderator on steemit...

I am scared, Steem can degrade. One kind of people will create a spam as always, other will just harm everybody. There is no place for anykind bots here.
I think, just Developers must solve all problems. You may not agree with other people, you may dislike them, but without any special intention!
Don't make f*ckin bots, did you watch Terminator?)

@bitlord there is certainly an element of fighting fire with fire. I'm for supporting the good guy. @pharesim has a large account. I like to think his interest are aligned with Steemit users. I do like any post which ends with 'did you watch Terminator?' Kudos on that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50