You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The rise of the shameless 'UP-VOTE ME' posters!!! I call upon all Steemit users. Down vote these posts!!! Help Steemit community by joining in with examples...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I think we should be able to hide our wallets from public and the votes as well, so if you're a big dog and you vote it will just say "anon vote" or something.

I found it odd that we can click on someones page and see how much money they have... I don't need to know you have "7,801.447 STEEM"

Sort:  

I think it won't be possible because of the blockchain and transparency. Steemit.com can hide, but if you want you can check it at steemd.
But if you don't click on the poster's wallet you won't know! :)

interesting, lol I forgot the site is pretty much a "block explorer" and yes I don't normally look lol I was just making a point.

Ha.. just have a little button that puts a sign over your wallet link which says "don't look at it!"

@fonzerrellie I can see your point of view, but there are benefits to this... We can see how much the founders of Steemit have, and what they are doing with their funds. Are they transferring large amounts to Bittrex to sell? Are they Powered Down (Yes they are, but this might be a function of the hack, we can wait and see https://steemit.com/@ned/transfers https://steemit.com/@dantheman/transfers). If they are all in, that gives other users confidence, if they are selling, maybe we should be too..

You can see how long I have been on the platform, and how much I have to lose from giving mis information and misbehaving. You can see if I am a bot, or a real person.

I see it as a reputation signal. Complete transparency is one of the beautiful aspects of the blockchain, and this is exactly the same in Bitcoin and other crypto currencies (albeit with less personal information attached)

Good points and in all honesty as much as I love the idea of being able to hide your wallet it is basically a pipe-dream. The transparency does have massive benefits which can't be discounted for very good reasons. Though I have to admit I do like my idea of the "don't look" sign. Not like anyone's going to follow it but it would be kind'a funny.

Interesting thought. Put a extra webpage saying 'I would like to keep this private' with 2 options; proceed or return. That could work...

Indeed, I guess the benefits outweigh the risks/annoyance. I just hope all the big holders are sufficiently protecting their wallets

That's true i don't need to know who has what, i would not like it to have my bank balance on here too if you get my line of reasoning ;)

Im sure it wouldn't take much to hide that info on steemit but still have it on the blockchain

I think that's a really great idea!
An option to keep your wallet blocked from view kind of like what you can do when registering a domain name and signing up for the "who-is" blocking services that exist out there. I really like this idea a lot.

Maybe making it more difficult is possible (i.e. not on Steemit, but on the Steem Blockchain) but hiding altogether cannot work. I wouldn't be against people having to go to Steemd.com to find out as @spiz0r has alluded to...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51