We can harness the Power of Steemit to help Syrian Refugees! Steemit's 1st Charity Post!!! We can change the world one up-vote at a time..

in #charity8 years ago (edited)

This is a first for Steemit, and hopefully a record breaking post. Steemit's first Charity Post!!

First of all, how is this going to work

  1. All Steem Dollar and Steem Power profits will go to Oxfam (or another Charity(s) if the community makes better suggestions) to help Syrain Refugees. I will benefit in no way from the rewards this post generates
  2. I will DM @ned on Slack to confirm my identity and work out a way to move forward with the donation phase. Also I will be looking for him to back my credentials with a post which can set the community free of worry over my motives.

EDIT: I have contacted @ned who has told me he cannot take responsibility for charity funds. Anyone have any idea's barring trusting that I will do the right thing? Which I will!!! Whatever happened, I will post proof that funds have gone to the right place...

  1. I will post full confirmation of funds being deposited with the charity once funds have been liquidated.
  2. I am more than happy to sign over to @ned and @dan the proceeds of this post, who the community can trust and who can use this for promotional purposes for the Steemit platform (see above, I have left a message with @ned to see if there are any options, I will advise when I have received a reply)
  3. I have been on the platform for 5 weeks, feel free to check my contribution here https://steemit.com/@hisnameisolllie and if you have an eloquent way for me to confirm my identity to reassure the community, please let me know.

This goes deep into Steemit's nature and what sets it apart from other social media platforms. Other social media platforms benefit financially from increased traffic and engagement when an atrocious event occurs (for example, the 2 attacks France has experienced over the past year). Steemit can be a force for good, with every single member in the community contributing to a pool of funds that goes directly to helping the people in need.

Ideally, I would like to see Charities set their own profiles up (after going through extra security checks from the Steemit team), however I thought this would be a great way to engage the community early and get the ball rolling on a more structured approach to these kind of posts.

Syrian refugees need all the help we can give. Innocent people are having an incredibly torrid time, and although we cannot solve the problems, we might be able to make some of their lives more comfortable, and maybe even saves a few lives in the process.

Every Up-Vote counts. Let's do this!!

Sort:  

As long as you can verify with Ned Im with you !

I am talking to him on Slack currently. I will update when I hear back

@repholder If @ned decides not involved (he is clearly a busy man), do you have any idea's of how we can get around the trust issue with this?

I will always upvote for a good cause.

Great @justtryme90, I thinks it's a great application of the Steemit platform

Sounds like a pretty good idea ! Thumbs up :)

@quotefancy Thanks, put the word out :)

Good idea! Upvote from me

@lehard Thank you. One up vote at a time... Hopefully we can beat the 'First Make-up Tutorial' and really help some people...

Nice ! Thought ! I will do the same for #Balidogs being skulled since years ! Sorry Maybe it doesn't fit on your post but charity idea is super sweet of you !

Great @mammasitta. Not something I have knowledge of, but Steemit is a great place to educate on these matters, and possibly raise some funds in the process...

So much has to be done ! it seems to be endless !

Hey! I've just seen your post and it's pretty cool what you're doing!

We are also fundraising on Steemit, I've made a post on how we do it with 100% transparency:

https://steemit.com/charity/@katyakov/officially-the-first-charity-post-on-steemit-easier-than-ever-every-upvote-makes-a-kid-with-special-needs-smile

Hope this helps!

And good luck:)

Why is it when it's crypto people think it has to be a pyramid scheme because it's making little guys rich but if it's Facebook it's considered a legitimate business even though a lot fewer people make money from Facebook? It's the same, it's social media. Social media like Reddit is worth billions and there is plenty of room for something like Steem to grow well into the tens of billions at least.

I believe we will have something like 400 million Steem supply this year, so if the market cap reaches 1 billion what could the price of Steem be? Anyone can become a top hero. Craig and I were not top heroes just a few weeks ago but now we get called top heroes?

In a month or two the next generation of people will have earned Steem Power and eventually will be called top heroes. There is plenty of growth for everyone.

I am a downvote bot. Contact @pharesim at slack if you think I am misbehaving. Please help fighting spam! Upvote this post to strengthen the bot, downvote the parent post if it has positive upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65