700+ Followers?! Thank You! [3 Tips to Steemit Success]

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

farmsteadsmith farmstead faverolle chicken thank you

Hey everyone! I hope you're all well! Tell me about the stuff you are up to lately! I would love to hear it!

I have to stop in and make a quick post to thank those of you who have taken the time to click that silly little "follow" button. I am blown away. I have now over 700 people who thought my content was decent enough to want it showing up in their feed, every time I manage to make a post!

These last three ish months on Steemit have proven to be worth every second I have managed to spend here! Thank you!


I'd like to share with you things I think are beneficial and important for you to do in your posts and comments here on Steemit. These are things I do in my posts that I feel really have helped me get to where I am.

farmsteadsmith farmstead bumble bee

Be Genuine

Every time I talk about things that are important here on Steemit, being GENUINE is the biggest thing I stress, and I think really is THE BEST thing to do here. People are coming to your blog, my blog, and they want to see the real us. I am real, and this is how I am in real life and on the internet. I fully believe that is how you should present yourself here on Steemit. I encourage you to share your life, the good and the bad. Share your mistakes, and your achievements.

Other people are coming to our blogs liking what we write and financially, yes, FINANCIALLY, supporting us! albeit a few cents, but to me, that says a lot. I never got anything for writing before, and now, people think I'm worth their few cents. It seems menial, but to me, it means so much. So, show them the real you and who they are supporting. They want to know.

farmsteadsmith farmstead mums flower chrysanthemum

Photos!

Take your own photos and share what you're up to, for real. Use your cell phone or your crappy digital camera, and take photos to tell your story. Photos serve more of a purpose than just eye candy. Photos give your audience a break from reading. It's not something that they know they need, but they need it!

So maybe you're not great at taking photos. Hey everyone has to start somewhere! Start taking pics and you just get better and better! And a quick google search for "How to take decent photos" always works too! :)

farmsteadsmith farmstead ducks

Find Your People

This is how you "make it" on Steemit. Whether you find only 3 people or 300, this is what makes YOU feel good about being here. For example, I blog about my farmstead, so, I wanna find other people who have the same interests. I searched the platform for other homesteaders and was lucky enough to find a really fabulous bunch of people who use the homesteading tag. Search those tags! They're out there! There is someone who is interested in what you write! You have to go and say hi! It's not exactly the easiest thing to find people on here, but it's definitely doable. Go find someone you think is interesting, follow them, and create a great and relevant conversation on their blog post. Get to know them!

When you find your people, you will find that Steemit is the best place to be because these people will genuinely care about you and what you post. They will want to hear what's going on in your life and will be there to support you.


So again, thank you to each and every one who has pressed that follow button and chooses to support me by commenting, upvoting, and most importantly, being there for me when I really need it!



Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the backwards thinking toward animals area in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she makes on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

Congrats! Good to see you friend. I hear you load and clear you speak the truth. Sometimes I get bored with myself and do something unusual to spice things up a bit. Hope all is well with you and yours. How are the chickens, ducks, quail and has the smoke lessened? 🐓

Hey gal! Thanks for stopping by! Sometimes I do something weird to spice things up too! I haven't done anything cool in what seems like forever, what have you done to spice things up lately?

Things are going okay, they could be better, could be worse, but otherwise, good. Everyone is real well, I just did an update post the other day! Here's the link, you'll love it! Here's the link to chickens and gucks: chickens and ducks And here's one to the quail: quail Everyone is doing decently. Though I MIGHT have a sick chicken. Oye. I'm dealing. But it's frustrating. She's been inside with me today in the "sick ward".

The smoke is gone, I think! Hahah. We've had some rain and such. AND COLD WEATHER. Ugh.

How are you? What have you been up to?

Sometimes I get off into my experiments with photography and digital art. It's a slow time here at the homestead, just planted a fall garden, chickens have slowed down laying to 4 eggs a day. I think they have a bit of PTSD from going through hurricane Irma being cooped up for 2 days with crazy winds and torrential rain! It was miserable for us as well no power for a week which also meant no well water!
Sorry to hear about the sick chicken, what are her symptoms? Is it your bestie?🐓

Oh I hope you post about your photo and art experiments! I do more drawing and such in the winter when it's too cold to do anything else. I haven't really drawn digital in a long while.

My chickens have been super sporadic in laying also. I think due to the smoke blocking the sun. But now we don't have 14 hours of light per day, so I think it's going to slow considerably. But yesterday I did get 5 eggs!! That was a surprise from the 2-4 from the weeks prior. Haha.

She was just standing in the corner of the coop, like she was in a time out. So I brought her in, felt for maybe a stuck egg (no), and just gave her some probiotic/electrolyte water, food, and all that. It's one of my welsummers, so not bestie. Man, I would probably be so upset if it was bestie... I gave all the chickens probo/electrolyte water. Hopefully this one was just feeling under the weather for no real reason... I can't tell if she's eaten anything, cause she just knocked everything over, but she's drank. I'll probably put her back out tonight, maybe later today. We'll see. I think she's alright overall though, I hope!

I'm going to the feed store today so I may pick up some special goodies for boosting chickens or something, if they have them.

Congrats on the milestone! It doesn't surprise me one bit that you have so many followers... after all, who else has GUCKS!?!

Glad the smoke is gone and will send positive vibes for a summer to hold on a bit longer for you.

It surprises me! Hahah but by golly! You're right about the gucks! Haha

Thanks for being there for me! I appreciate you and what I consider to be a friendship!

Absolutely please send some of your hot weather on over to me! Even as little as 10 degrees more would be smashing! Haha

Ditto on the friendship, hon, and you're most welcome!

Oh, and we're in for another 90+ day tomorrow. I'll gladly give you 20! I'll get to work on that right away. ;~D

Hahaha I'll be waiting! I'll let you know if I feel it!!!

I know what you mean about finding your people. For me, it's kind of hard. I'm a bit random. A little bit of nature here, some chickens there, maybe some traveling or pets. Haha. I'm all over the place. I am very grateful for the slacker community within steemit. It's nice to chitchat with people who know what they're talking about. Steemit has really brought me out of my shell. I feel like I'm actually contributing to something. Somewhere, someone thinks what I have to say is worthwhile. That means so much to me.

Well I'm a bit random too! I used to fit in all your little categories but I don't travel now that we have the chickens and stuff. I have zero trust in other people... haha

I love seeing you on the chat! And chatting with you! I'm sorry I haven't been there as much as I could have been. But I'm here for you whenever!

Congratulations!!! Gotta love the OG SBC crowd. Hope all is well and it looks like you're killing it here. I agree with all your points. Genuity is SO important! I hate reading summarized stories or copy and pasted articles. Any ways, cheers and steem on!

Hey man, wow!! Long time! Hi! I hope you are doing well!

Things over here are just chugging along. I did take an unexpected hiatus from here, but, I hope that doesn't happen again! I've definitely missed the interaction and the goings on around here!

I've come across some newish profiles who seem to be doing the copy paste, and it just frustrates me! I try super hard to just let it go, ain't no one got time for that! I got things to do and other people I want to spend my time fucusing on. Yet, it still troubles me. Haha. Ah well, I don't think the copy paste people will be going away any time soon.

I went over and saw your milestone post! Congrats to you as well! That's an amazin step! :)

Nice summary! I like your emphasis on original photos. I would much rather see an imperfect genuine original photo by someone, rather than a perfect stock photo. Authentic experience and thoughts, too. Even for topics that other folks have written about, because everyone has a unique spin on topics or projects, just because it's their own thoughts or work. I'm glad to read that you are enjoying Steemit!

Thanks! Absolutely! The stock photos always throw me off a bit because they usually seem a bit out of place. I've used them a couple times, but it usually takes me ages to find something suitable anyway. Haha

I was actually talking to someone about being interested in hearing about a certain topic, but they were worried about someone else feeling copied. I had to say, sure that's out there, but I want to hear it from you! And I wanna support YOU writing it.

There's nothing original anymore, that's just the way it is! We make unoriginal topics original by using our own narrative.

I am enjoying Steemit. I think it's incredible that I have this account and it's worth money?! I mean really, it's nothing to scoff at, but I am feeling good knowing that little bit of $ is there with my name on it!

I'm glad you let the other person know you valued their experience and perspective. If topics only got covered once, we'd miss out on a lot!

You make a very valid point! I never thought of it that way! :)

Congratulations! It seems like just yesterday you were at 500 followers. You have worked hard to develop your blog and deserve it! I always love your photos! Finding other homesteaders here has been a lot of fun!

Thanks!! It did happen fast! I am rather wowed! Ha. I am so glad you like my photos, they're probably my favorite part of blogging. Haha. I'm glad you're here !

Congratulations!!

Totally agree with all your points, especially 'find your people'. Honestly, I've discovered such a wonderful group of people here on Steemit over the past week I can't even believe it!

I am so glad you're here and have really enjoyed my interactions with you on the chat!! I appreciate it too!!

Ohhh I just noticed your farm logo. I LOVE IT. It's so creative!! Did you make it yourself? I will bug you about it on the chat... Haha.

so glad you found me and my chicken, haha, so that I could find you!!! your post is another eyeopener for me - just joined two weeks ago... My biggest challenge is finding the right tacks - with homestead there is an important one for me to use. Also I am not sure if it is of help or rather opposite posting in English and German in the same post - maybe I should just do two posts instead, one in Englisch and one in German.... thankful for tips on this one! for now, greeings from my little farm to you... upvoted, resteemed and following for more!!!

I'm really happy you found this helpful! The homesteading community is really great here on Steemit!!

I personally wouldn't be bothered with both English and German on the same post. Maybe you can experiment and see which is better! If you did two posts, then you could use German tags on the German one and English on the other. I'm not sure how that works! :) good to maybe ask around or ask people on your blog which they would prefer.

That's what I will do - it's been only two weeks for me here so far, so lots of time ahead to gather experience for what works best for me ;-) Maybe I'll put a little note at the end of my posts asking for feedback on the German/English text - sometimes it feels like the "flow of words" suffers while my brain switches back and forth constantly....

Those tips are spot on. I especially resonate with the first and the last. They kind of go hand in hand. I'm glad you've found your people and I'm glad to be one of them.

You are one of them! And I am so glad you are too! I suppose they do go hand in hand. If you're genuine, you are bound to find your people! :) haha

Good job @farmstead! 700 and counting! Seems like your time away has not affected you one bit. :-) Steem on, my friend!

I GUESS I was at 701, but I lost two followers there somewhere. Shrug Ah well. I don't mind. 699 is close enough! Hahahaha. Thank you for stopping by. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45