✴️Send-Back Sunday: Major in the majors, not in the minors! Parts 1 and 2

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)





I believe I heard this saying for the first time when I was listening to an audio book from Jim Rohn. That man had some incredible philosophies.

'Major in the majors'


In simple text, it means stop wasting your time on the little things, and rather focus your time on a major task, that can reap a major reward!
Don't major in the minors.

Examples of minor tasks:

  • Chatting on messaging apps.
  • Scrolling on Facebook, Instagram, or any non-productive site.
  • Watching TV.
  • Playing Xbox, PlayStation, PC or mobile games.
  • Washing the dishes, cleaning the house, etc.
  • Complaining, moaning, worrying.
  • Sleeping.
    These are all examples of minor tasks. Why? Because none of them are scalable when more time is invested.
    Now, that wasn't completely accurate.

    Especially in today's day and age, some of those tasks can be a major for one person, but a minor for another. Let me explain.
    Playing games for example. There are many YouTubers who make a full-time living from posting videos of them playing games. This then becomes a majorly demanding task in their daily lives. However, if you are just playing games to chill, and you are spending hours per day, then it's definitely a minor task.
    Make sense?

I will give you an example of both a major task, and a minor task relating to Steemit.

Minor Steemit task: Looking through random meme-posts.


Major Steemit tasks: Writing blog-posts, commenting on new people's content, building a following, etc.
It's simply identifying out of those examples, which task do you think would bring the worst results? Which do you think will bring the best results? Then just do the task that will do the best.

I know sometimes all the analogies can become overwhelming, and quite frankly, a little annoying too! The main point in explaining things like that is to give something to compare the thought with, in a real example.
Sometimes it can also be difficult to understand the moral of the message. What I like to do when I get over-whelmed, is simplify things. I will give an example of this relating to this very post-topic.
Think about it this way, the whole concept of 'majoring in the majors', is to explain how to be more productive with your time. If the topic has be confusing, then simplifying it would be to look at two extreme opposite real-life examples.

For instance, we all have 24 hours in a day. It's not like some people are given bonus time.. Right?
So, do you think there is a distinct difference between the world's richest man, and a homeless person? Of course. By looking at things like that, in complete opposites, you will clearly see some differences. That's what I mean with majoring in the majors, versus the minors.
If you simply dedicate 1-2 hours a day to purely focus on a major task, versus spending the entire day pondering on a thought, which do you think will give the best results? I hope the answer you were thinking of was the first example! Spending focused time on a major task will always produce great results. We are often just too lazy to have a reality check.
TO BE CONTINUED....png
If you think someone you know deserves a shout-out, you are always welcome to let me know! Yes, you may nominate yourself, only if you really think your content deserves more exposure. Your results need to speak for themselves :) I choose a new person every week for the Shout-Out Saturday post! So stay tuned, it might be you!
More than how much my posts can make, I care far more about getting my content in front of newer faces. So if you would like to show your appreciation, you can share this with others!
I want this blog to be a happy, motivated place where you guys are free to engage and say whatever is on your mind. A place where if you have something on your mind, no matter how dramatic it may be, you can feel free to speak. Resteems are appreciated!
I reward good resteems and comments! I would love to know what's on your mind. Be bold and talk to me in my comments section! I would to know your opinion and what it is you'd like to achieve. I am trying my best to make 2 high quality blog posts per day. So stay tuned!
THE END.png

My previous post:
My copier has given up.. Check this out!

My previous Shout-Out Saturday post:
🔲 Shout-Out Saturday: @saffisara! Send her some love!

My previous Send-Back Sunday:
✴️Send-Back Sunday: Does life play tricks on us? Productivity killer!

My previous image-gallery post:
📽Anime gallery: Berserk (Part 2)

My previous milestone:
🖊 Thank you for 1000 followers!! New banner!

My main Instagram account is currently at 36K+ Followers.




REMEMBER I REWARD GREAT COMMENTS.png

Sort:  

Solid Point of Structure Here. I just finished writing a post that in a lot of ways aligns with this: Structure - Master Builder

Up Vote Service for all Players is coming to a Close.

will upvote this and another one once my vote power charges back - but ya man - No More!

talk soon :)

All good bro! I appreciate your awesome efforts. You better pop by once in a while! Your comments are appreciated.

By the way, are you on chat? Want to discuss something with you! Talk soon.

what chat?

Like Steemit.chat? Or Discord? Anywhere I can reach out to you in private. Got something cool to discuss.

Talk soon.

ahhh!

  • i haven't explored either of those really - well i did discord awhile back - but it just seemed like everyone was just link dropping

  • steemit chat i will take some moments and explore - it's been on my to do list...so how does it work exactly...do i just search your name? is it a group chat like discord? i'll look around.

  • not sure if you had fired me an email when i gave you an email or facebook way back - haven't really been using that email too much - my bad - i'll check that too.

  • inadvertently bro - you're helping me get my ducks in a row on some basic points! haha.

it's all about the basics

Talk Soon

I actually can't remember if I ever sent that email.. I don't use email too much. I think in our day and age, there are so many spammy emails from being on bad email lists, so our messages could easily get lost!

Consider just making a quick Steemit.chat account. Very easy to use, and simple platform. But yeah, I'll add you on FB if I can find your username from that email again quick lol.

Agreed :) All about the basics hey. Talk soon.

I haven't seen it this way, but I think it is great to divide all the daily tasks up in productive and non-productive tasks, to choose how much time you spend on each ;-)

Talk soon...

Love it brother. Very good way to evaluate what is working, and what isn't. Thanks for that input!

Talk soon.

Nice analogy zane. Majors FTW

Well done for winning ;) Thanks my man.

Talk soon.

I really like your post, regards \o/

Thank you for that :)

Talk soon.

Read every word as always and from now on I'm going to start cutting down on all minor tasks and only focusing on major ones. Great post!

I am glad you read every word! I did encourage that in the beginning of the post :P Thanks!

Talk soon!

I'm guilty on playing games 😅

Hahaha hey bro. All good :P Comment quicker next time in the contest!

Given you a follow. Talk soon.

This is such good advice!

Even if we can only find an hour or two, things will definitely improve in your life.

The results will help you maintain a positive attitude.

Thank you so much! Yes it's exactly that. Consistent action, day in and day out. That's just it!

Talk soon!

Great advice as always 😊 Zane my dear friend
So true about time, not how much time we have that matters but what we do with it😉
Just to make one goal to do one task is a great first step. To get over that threshold 👍
Have a good night and stay as you are ❤️
Talk soon

Hey Sara :) Thanks for your awesome comment. Yeah, you hit the nail with that one :)

Awesome stuff my friend. Talk soon!

My pleasure my friend 😚 talk soon. Miss ya

Sure thing! I am about to make my latest post :)

Can't wait to see it😊 talk soon. Witch on do you use most of steemit chat or discord? Sometimes confusing when people write on both.. Lol

Better late than never :P Next time my friend!

I have given you a follow. Talk soon!

thanks

No problemo :) Stay in touch!

☺👍👍

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by enazwahsdarb from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44