500 Steem POWER!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Milestone of 500 Steem POWER has been reached!

What a nice birthday present!

thinkstockphotos-89691627-e1473407875639.jpg

Having joined STEEMit back in June 2017, I was just a Bonefish trying to figure out how things worked.

To be honest, I am still trying to figure out my place on STEEMit. At first, I made all sorts of posts, but some of those have dropped off the radar. Of course, I made September about The Event, which is a time period that includes my birthday (Sept. 25th). I like to throw things out there in a conspiracy and "make you think" sort of manner. I find it interesting. I may or may not believe it.

Anyway, back a few months ago, I had my first big payout with May the Fork be With You. It was more of a surprise for the person who gave it to me. My next big payout was Fear the Walking Dead : A prepper discussion , which I enjoyed writing and apparently a few whales enjoyed reading. I didn't make a ton, based on what others made, but it started me thinking about what goals I wanted to do with STEEMit.

Side Note: My last two big payouts were Antarctica Atlantis Awakening, a creative writing contest and Back From Camp!, a post about my camping trip. As you can see, almost any topic can get you a nice payout, if the right audience finds it.

I decided that, based on what some Whales were doing with their Steem POWER, that I would build up my Steem POWER to a point that I could earn a decent amount for each article I created and upvoted myself. There is no way I can rely on whales upvoting all of my articles. Also, getting a strong group of followers with enough Steem POWER to upvote more than $0.01 isn't very easy either. And, I want to earn my upvotes without bots helping me and do not want to do some other schemes to drive upvotes.

To build up my Steem POWER, I won't cash out any STEEM until I reach the level I want to reach. It might have taken a few months to figure out, but part of reaching my goal was to go Power Up 100% on all of my articles. This would cutout steps for converting and show my commitment to STEEM and STEEMit. Also, it helps the STEEMit community.

I encourage every Bone Fish, Red Fish and Minnow to do go Power Up 100%

One of the drawbacks of putting everything into Steem POWER is getting it out. It takes time and you had to power down everything. Well, now You Can Power Down Any Amount. Which means, when I do reach my goal, I can still continue with Power Up 100% and then just start powering down the amount I want to, obviously above the goal amount.

500steempower.png

So, what is my Steem POWER goal?

That is a good question. Right now, at 500+ Steem POWER, I can only give a $0.06 vote. That's not a lot, in my little world. Even if I went back to 4 articles a day, that would only be $0.24 a day and $1.68 a week, before price fluctuations and percentages. I think I would want at least $100 a week for the effort I put in. So, that would be 10x what I can possibly make right now. So, at a minimum, I would need at least 5,000 Steem POWER.


fishmv.png

That means I would have to go from a Red Fish to a Minnow to a Dolphin, before I can see good payouts. That seems like a long ways from here and tons of articles from now.

But, it is possible.
Just keep posting articles.
Just keep engaging the community.
Upvotes will come!

According to some, if you upvote yourself, 20 times a day, you can double your Steem POWER every 6 months.
I'm not going to link to that article, but don't do that. I try to limit my upvotes to 10 a day. This helps keep my power level high, so that I can squeeze out every last penny in my upvotes. If I do 4 articles a day, that leaves 6 upvotes to deserving articles that I find. Upvoting yourself 20 times a day doesn't help the STEEMit community and it probably hurts your voting power.

Just write what you enjoy writing about. Make posts that people like and upvotes will come.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges
redFish.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

Congrats and Happy Birthday!

And yes, you CAN swim up to a dolphin!

It might be a tough swim, but it will be a rewarding swim.

To climb steep hills requires slow pace at first. Have a nice day :)

Like eating an elephant. One bite at a time.

Congratulations man. I've made it to 50 Steempower, so I have a ways to go to catch up! Keep up the great content!

Thanks!
You'll get there.

But, getting those big article payouts, does help with motivation. I have not secrets on how to get those, it still seems random to me.

Haha yeah me too and I know. Just need to keep it up! One day we'll be the ones helping the minnows and bonefish along.

Congratulations on your 500 STEEM POWER! Your contribution motivates me to carry on. At some point I want to become a whale or at least a dolphin.
Keep up the good work and reach your goals @deanlogic !

Thanks!
I think it helps if everyone tries to motivate each other with goals and achievements on STEEMit.

Congratulations and Happy Birthday. You have a great blog going here and I have learned a lot from your helpful tips along the way. The Big payouts do seem random and varied so I keep posting on various topics to see if I can spot a trend or some form of clue as to why and when ... so far no idea. I have a hard time keeping my Power between 90-100 % since I keep finding so many great articles to upvote. Unfortunately I am back down to 70 % so I need to take a break again .... Will take me 3 days to get back to 100 %

It seems that more power you have, the longer it takes to get back to 100%.
I know that's not how it works, but it just seems that way.

Maybe someone needs to make an app or a browser plugin that shows how many votes you have done in a 24 hour period, so it easier to know when you are at your limit.

Once I get back to 100 % I am going to limit myself to 10 upvotes per day. That is the plan anyway.

I powered up last week thanks to your advice. Thanks again.

thanks for the insights - just joined about 2 weeks ago and really thankful for every post I find helping to understand the "game" a little better! Now I finally found out about what the definition of minnows, dolphins and whales are all about, haha!!! Still playing around with subjects just as you describe it - and trying to get a "feel" for the right tags... and the right time (daytime)... I am putting most of my posts on 100power, just now and then on 50/50 - here also playing around and trying to find the mode fitting best for me... Cheers from the seven mountains in Germany and following you for more

As I mention, I don't see any reason to do the 50/50. All that does is create STEEM debt in the form of an IOU. Unless you plan on playing the market between the cost of SBD and STEEM, it does you no good to wait or pay to convert them to STEEM.

As mentioned, you can power down for any amount now, so if you want to move our Steem POWER back to STEEM and then convert it to another currency, it is much easier now. Still takes a little time, but easier.

Good luck!
I still don't know when the best time of the day is and I would like to be able to schedule my articles. I guess it is something I need to look into further

guess I will have it set on 100 from now on - thanks for the tip :-) With the time, I am sort of trying to do an analysis - it also varies within the days, esp weekend-days... with all the different time-zones users are in it also is influenced be the number of users per time-zone.... love it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54