Sort:  

Thanks for posting this! Great interview. I learned some new things!

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 7.09$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Great interview with my favourite witness! I love hearing you talking about Steem and crypto in general, Luke @lukestokes. You know how to explain correlations in a way even people who have not such a deep knowledge in cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology understand them perfectly. Also you made a great point on expectation management, completely second that. Thank you! :-)

Yes, greatly enjoyed the interview, and thrilled that you enjoyed it as well!

Thank you, Marly! :)

from her sayings about you, you must really be a great person; for how long have you been into cryptocurrencies bro?

wow!!what kind of cryptos are you into?

Many. See my blog for some I've talked about over the past year and a half (BitShares, STEEM, EOS, SmartCash, etc)

I hate to put it this way, but Luke is a large part of why I have put any level of trust in the steem currency and by extension the steemit platform. Having to rely on the benevolence of steemit inc. or any of the other central actors does not instill confidence, but Luke's participation makes me feel like there's at least one decent person involved. That's not to say that I know much about the other actors(or even who all of them are), but I just have not gotten the same feeling from them.

So, I hate to hang that on you, but that's how I see it.

Hah! Wow. No pressure, eh?

I completely understand how you feel. After I went to Steemfest2 and put this post together, I felt a lot better about the whole system and the developers keeping it going. There are still systemic risks involved for sure, but I do think we have something pretty amazing here and my hope is it will continue to grow and decentralize. That's my hope.

Thanks for sharing that post. A lot of my misgivings are related to my own personal unrealistic expectations(of which I've more recently reconciled with reality) about the potential for a sort of utopian society built on this new technology and the disconnect with some of the ugly displays of human nature I've witnessed here already. Most of that has nothing to do with the platform or organizers, although I think self-voting should have been disallowed from day 1. I can't see any sort of utility for that under any circumstance.

As much as I despise the pure profit motive of centralized corporations, it's easier to understand and put aside. You know where their allegiance lies. A shadowy man(or group) behind the curtain is somewhat unsettling even if you feel like they are somewhat altruistic. But, I'm hopeful too and that's why I'm glad you're here to shine a little light.

I had a long discussion about self-voting a while back which you may be interested in reading. It's not really something which can be stopped because of Sybil attack concerns. People could fairly easily create other accounts and vote themselves up anyway (and they already do). It's a complicated topic, for sure. @sean-king did some posts on this a while back also and made a strong argument that a platform that doesn't allow it will be replaced by one that does because the investors drive all the value we see here and they want returns.

Great video guys what a great discussion. I agree with @lukestokes the inherent value is in the networks developed and relationships made on the platform, because at the end of the day if you have noone to press that upvote for you what dors it really matter how much SBD is. Thanks for the video @davidpakman youve found yourself another follower 👍

Thanks so much for the interview, David. I really enjoyed it, and it's an honor to be included among so many other great steemians. It's a bummer the audio and video seem to be out of sync (kind of looks silly with me nodding and smiling with no connect to what's being said! Hahah), but maybe we can try again some other time on a new topic. I think we covered a lot of things here, and it would be fun to unpack them more or dive down the rabbit holes of politics, activism, voluntaryism, economics, morality, artificial intelligence, universal basic income, etc.

Yes, would be glad to have you back on again!

Fantastic! I look forward to it. Just ping me any time.

What a pleasure to hear @lukestokes "Live"! He is a brilliant man, thanks for the interview and its sharing.

Namaste :)

Thank you so much for the compliment. I need to go deflate my ego now. :)

Hey David,

Is there a way for two people to split screen on DLive that you're aware of?

Thanks!

I'm not super familiar with dLive but if you are using streaming software, you should be able to do the split screen with OBS, which is free software.

Any one knows why steem backed dollars are fucking going down for no reason? Will it ever reach 12$ again?

Speculation and demand, but yes, definitely something lots of creators are facing the consequences of

How come few people ask, "Any one know why SBD are fucking going up for no reason?"

It's speculation, supply and demand, and manipulation. Those with money spend money to push up the value of small market cap cryptocurrencies (and stocks, gold, silver, etc for that matter) for their own benefits. They also do the same thing in the opposite direction when they can short it.

If people had absolute knowledge to say whether or not SBD would go to $12 in the future, they would already price that in today with some time-value of money discount they feel is reasonable. No one really knows. I sell SBD as soon as I get it when it's price is above $1 because the history of SBD so far shows it eventually comes back down again. If you want to speculate, why not do so with STEEM? SBD will keep being printed until the debt increases and the price comes down. Eventually people will start converting SBD to STEEM again if and when it falls below $1.

That's my thought on it, anyway. Due to loss aversion, we registered a price drop from $5 to $4 as more serious that a price rise from $1 to $5.

@lukestokes you just hit the nail on the head, I have been asking myself several questions about SBD, but with your response here, I have all my questions answered. I will rather hold steem than hold SBD.

its over man... scam confirmed...

That was a really fun interview guys!

So true about the "value" only happening during the transaction. This goes for everything gold, silver, copper a house a car whatever someone is willing to trade/pay for the time at that time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43