THE DARK SIDE OF STEEMIT: Giving Steemit a Bad Reputation (Flaggots)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I will take the risk of calling out @adm here and I won't be surprised if I will be attacked by this questionable character here in Steemit after this post.

This is the part where we are giving Steemit a bad reputation. And who would want a place where they are castigated and bullied for no reason at all?


PHOTO CREDIT: CCSM-UCC.ORG

A member ( @codymac40 ) with a reputation nothing short of exemplary behavior has recently received an unfair "flagging" for no reason at all. No comment or reason of the flagging. 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@codymac40/to-whoever-downvoted-my-last-post-all-content-should-be-allowed-here
https://steemit.com/money/@codymac40/make-some-pennies-with-me-lol 

I know of another victim of unfair/unfounded flagging by some other flaggots: @karenmckersie.

Is @adm one of the "flaggots" I mentioned in my recent post? Or a hitman/assassin paid for by someone else? There is no way to know if this is personal or a consequence of violating some rules. But there has been no rules against Ads and promotion of business here in Steemit.

Unless a post offends someone in terms of personal privacy, defamation, moral issues, religion or beliefs, we should be able to post anything that will help us provide our personal and financial needs.

Steemit is supposed to be a place of freedom. If flagging is reasonably placed and in consonance with the rules and regulations of Steemit, it should not be a problem. But there is no justification, no explanation whatsoever.

Also calling out our community leaders to please attend to this issue that could eventually happen to someone else.

Sort:  

That's Why I made 50 % of my account to help you guys up. The other 50 % I use as my private account.

https://steemit.com/uncool/@bullionstackers/i-am-your-new-case-attorney-at-steemit

There are quite a few of us that have seen this. I know people that won't come to steemit because of this. I've posted many blog entries on it over the past couple of months. The most recent was just a couple of days ago.

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@dwinblood/in-a-free-market-aka-laissez-faire-there-is-no-such-thing-as-a-down-vote-ever-wondered-why

I am not against downvoting but I'd prefer there must be some kind of qualifications and reasons behind it. With downvoting available to anyone especially with to those with so much SP, Steemit will become a wild, wild west that anybody who has the gun can just shoot whomever they like. I would rather that when I downvote, an option why I choose to do so is available so I can justify my action.

I agree with the concept of free market, as you wrote in your article. If I don't like your product, I simply will ignore you and move to the next shop. If I see offensive stuff in your store, I may report you to the proper authorities. But I cannot just barge in and break things apart just because I don't like the way they look or smell.

Much like how we upvote, we can choose how many percent we allocate for the post. The percentage indicate how important or how the post made an impact to the reader.

Why can't we do that for downvotes? I mean let's provide justification for the action.

that list of offense giving no-nos is pretty long. i would go with, privacy, defamation or incitement. that's it. giving offense over someone's beliefs is covered by the first amendment. that is why adults are said to exercise their rights. if they cannot exercise intellectual self defense, they are incompetent in the eyes of the law and must have someone to advocate on their behalf. insults that do not cause demonstrable, provable injury to person or property are not legally actionable. i agree with the rest of your post, thanks.

Thank you for your support, and I respect your opinion. Bottomline is, no one should be subject to abuse of power or authority here in Steemit.

i completely agree. to be clear, i do speculate often but, have stated nothing here, that i meant as opinion. thanks.

got it. thanks for the clarification. and thanks for keeping the thread alive.

seems to me, the system was created for people of a reasonable nature. For the most part it works. Then the tools arrive who think the greatest fun in life is to make it miserable for those who follow the system but are a tad weaker.

I always love seeing people banding together to upvote someone who has been unfairly downvoted. It's like mob justice for the good guys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61812.63
ETH 2432.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63