In a Free Market aka Laissez-Faire there is no such thing as a down vote. Ever wondered why?

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

I respect Dan and Ned and what they have accomplished here and I've read everything Dan has written with regard to Down Voting. If we compare Steemit/Steem to a share holders meeting simply due to steem power being vests then such meetings have AYE and NAY votes. Yet that is not really what this is. Yes, we have shares yet in practice this does not resemble a share holder's meeting. I just returned from such a meeting that happened for the company I work for over the past few days.

Source: twitter.com

I returned today to resume my participation in steem and steemit to see another long time member with a lot more steem power than I have calling it quits on steemit. I've read Dan's words on Censorship and had time to go off for several days and seriously think about them.

I've advocated for not having a down vote at all. Dan has responded to me and my ideals and indicated I might as well ask for world peace. I kind of gave in when he stated this. Why did I give into this? Did he and Ned give in when people said Anarchistic ideas and Austrian Economics would not work and are a Utopian dream? No, they decided to actually do something about it rather than simply talk. They started this grand experiment. Is it right for me to agree simply because Dan believes my positions are a pipe dream and unattainable? Is that me giving into an Appeal to Authority? Would that be me failing to do what they did? They decided to do something. I am not in a position to reshape Steemit.com or make another website on the steem blockchain at this time. There are others that are.

I am going to TRY really hard this time to reach out and explain my position. If Dan and Ned do not believe it is realistic they have built the tool upon which others COULD attempt this vision. It actually does not harm them if these other experiments on the steem blockchain are attempted. They and we still benefit. That is another beautiful aspect of the blockchain.

Down voting is a cancer on any site that permits them. It makes the environment innately hostile. Some people feel they need the right to cast their vote counter to others. This becomes a hard stance. I at one point held a similar stance. Something felt wrong.

Source: quickmeme.com

I've come to believe that steem and steemit are very new ideas. I fully believe they can function without a down vote. There does need to be a way to flag a post as being plagiarsm, abuse, or even spam. This could be simply a reporting function that if abused could ding someones reputation. A reputation system has proven to be important. That does not need to extend to flagging/down voting for disagreement. The blockchain cannot be censored, though sites can be. As with a free market the owners of a facility should have the right to refuse to offer service to people at any time. This alone is justification for down voting when disagreeing. Steemit.com could be viewed as the shop owned by Dan and Ned. They could prefer this method.

Source: safetysign.com

The blockchain does however support the ability for people to build other shops. There could be many such experiments. I know of numerous such experiments underway. If down voting remains as it is I do not expect steemit to remain the preeminent site for the blockchain. The hostility is present and it is not needed.

So how would it work without a down vote for disagreement


It's actually quite simple. You can look to the free market for your answers.

In the free market I am free to do business. If people want to do business with me they come and purchase my goods or services. There is no action in free market equivalent to a down vote. Those that want to purchase from me freely may do so. Those who do not simply don't come to my shop or ask for my services.

Source: documentarywire.com

Not coming to my shop or asking for my services is the same as not voting. Voting is the same as someone paying for my services and showing that there is a demand.

In the free market if you want to pay me for my goods or services there is no way for you to go cancel out the demand of another person. You may only exercise your own demand.

The act of down voting is cancellation of demand. It is not needed. The demand is still there, someone just chose to cancel out the rights of another.

Source: bu.edu

Dan recently used examples in history of ostracizing, and shunning type situations in history. These do exist and they do work, yet they also are not equivalent to a down vote. They are equivalent to someone not voting, and not giving someone else attention. Down Vote is the equivalent of someone forcefully stopping others from dealing with an individual. This is not ostracizing, or shunning since those things involve the people that participate in voluntarily shunning someone. If someone in their community chose not to go along with the decision then they would not be able to stop them without using force.

Source: www.blogtalkradio.com

There are positive and negative forces. It could be viewed that demand for something is force. That type of force is typically assumed to be positive. When anarchists say something like "Good ideas do not require force" they are not speaking about positive forces. They are speaking about hostile forces, negative force, that cancels out the rights of another person to voluntarily decide their own fate.

Source: quickmeme.com

Vests and Investment


If I realize that steem power is brilliant and it gives me the ability to award ideas I like more money with my votes, that is a very strong motivator for reinvesting in steem power. I spend time, effort, money, or perhaps all of those to increase my steem power so I can better spread my curation and support for the system via my vote. So what good does that do me if I get to say the ability to award $10.00 per vote if another person can come along and down vote the things I support and make them worth $0.00 or perhaps a fraction of what I wanted to award someone?

Source: steemit.com

How does that resemble a free market? How does that resemble Austrian Economics? How does that resemble anarchism?

What can you do with a down vote?


Let's not worry about plagiarism, spam, and abuse as I've already agreed there needs to be a ways to flag and report such things. There also needs to be a way to deal with people who false flag. Yet, those are the only things I see anything resembling a down vote as having a purpose. Let's consider what you can do with a down vote...

Source: quickmeme.com

  • You don't like a person. So you can down vote them regardless of any reading of what they wrote. You can do this purely out of spite.
  • You can down vote someone you believe down voted you for bad reasons out of spite. You can escalate things if you want.
  • I may like to talk about the mating practices of badgers. You and your friends could come down vote that topic into oblivion so that I may have a lot of difficulty finding such topics. Why? You don't like them. It can be said it is not censorship as it is still in the blockchain. Yes, I do have the technical skills that if I wish to circumvent the view I have into the blockchain and come at it another way I can. Yet that does not describe most users. It is much like the government choosing to censor certain topics on the internet does not stop people from creating the dark web. So if down voting something to oblivion here because you disagree is not censorship then I guess the government is not censoring things they disagree with either, as we can still use the dark web or create other ways to talk about them. In fact, if this is true then there really is no such thing as censorship.
  • You can limit the free association of others due to your disapproval.
  • You can pretend it is a board meeting and every post is a shareholder's vote. Yet that is not how this place is setup, and is not the perception it gives. So that is likely not how it will be perceived by others.

Source: quickmeme.com

What can you do with an up vote?


You can support the things you are interested in. It will balance out based upon the quantity of interest shown by people. This is how a free market operates. If every time I write about the mating habits of badgers I get 10 or 12 people up voting me and that is it then I as the author get to decide if that is sufficient reason to keep discussing the idea. Perhaps that is enough. Those 10 people and I will certainly not be making much money but the interest may be there. Whether there are 10,000 people who don't want to read about the mating habits of badgers or not is irrelevant. Those 10,000 people will be up voting other things. The quantity of people interested in other things will likely be way higher than the 10 people discussing my topic. It allows people to pursue their interests, and it let's the market do what markets do.

Source: writers-village.org

The things with more demand will rise to the top, yet it will stop the hostile nature of people silencing the interests of others.

Private Shop


If steemit.com is taking the private shop approach and wishes to be able to choose whom it does and does not serve then leaving the down vote is a really good way to forcefully steer people towards the door. It is far more forceful than shunning and ostracizing. It silences the voice of the target, where as shunning and ostracizing are you simply choosing not to share your voice with them.

Source: www.mysecuritysign.com

If this is a private shop that would be good to know. I might seriously consider backing people and trying some alternative SHOPS for the steem blockchain.

Source: www.freerepublic.com

I do believe in steem, I believe in the mission, and I believe in Dan's thoughtful blog post on why he does what he does. I am taking a cue from him. This is not the same as asking for World Peace. This is the same as asking for a free market. Let people show demand for what they want. I have never heard of anti-demand in a free market.

Source: www.slideshare.net

Hybrid situation


Steemit does have some shareholder properties, yet it clearly is a place the free market could thrive. The shareholder part is purely to secure the currency and allow us to invest. Investment gives us a way to extend our reach for things we like and are interested in. This makes investment very appealing. If others can silence the reason for that investment then it becomes less attractive.

Source: www.learningsharepoint.com

I do not believe approaching steemit blog posts as a boardroom is the correct approach. I am willing to debate the issue, I am willing to change my mind. In fact, for awhile I thought Dan had changed my mind. Yet, seeing people still leaving and angered over the power a down vote has over their voice here is still very much getting to me.

I will tell you Dan that I think you are right about a great many things. I do not think you are right about the need for a down vote beyond the need to flag spam, plagiarism, and abuse.

I do realize that programming something to deal with this would be difficult. Yet you yourself have proposed a solution.

Source: linkedin.com

Constructive Criticism


What if the flag could only be used for plagiarism, spam and abuse? What if people could flag a flag as a false flag and if enough people did the false flag would be removed and a reputation penalty applied for false flagging?

Is there any reason beyond that to ding a person's reputation? Are people not free to speak their mind as long as they are not doing one of those things?

It seems like this is very doable, and much easier than World Peace. It also would effectively eliminate what right now can seem like negative force, aggression, and hostility.

Source: quotesgram.com

It was seeing THIS post that inspired me to write this again. I was saddened and moved by the post made by @tuck-fheman.

EDIT: I am going to link to other relevant posts as I stumble across them...
@tuck-fheman - Just Downvote it, mute it, and walk away, is that a reasonable solution?
@lennex - A solution to censorship on steemit (You won't like what follows)
@proglobyte - No Vote Lists And Brute Force Downvoting - Gagging Kills Meritocracy

Sort:  

I really believe in and agree with the concepts presented here, just to damn many points to list them all !

To Whom it may concern: I am but a mere layman and a noob ..
I M H O
The amount of Politico-Bickering is sickening. If this IS a "Private" Club, Keep the damn boardroom door closed. If it IS "Open"source then get your PR (Oh yeah ... NO PR people, NOT even a CONTACT US on the drop down menu) people to make an announcement (Oh yeah ... no Steemit Official Announcements, NOT on the drop down menu anyway) and for Pete's sake, let the communications FLOW and let's ALL work it out.

I am not a writer , so please forgive me if my articulation skills are not up to par ..
I would ask for help, as any noob would do ..BUT THERE IS NOT EVEN A "HELP" IN THE DAMN DROP DOWN MENU EITHER !!!!!

I love this place & think you guys are genious "coders" ... BUT ..ARE you businessmen ?
If you ARE... WHO are your secretaries, PR folks, accountants, publicist, attorney's, HR people ...etc., etc., etc. ...
Certainly NOT in a drop down menu under CONTACTS !

jus sayin ....

Oh yeah, I guess if you don't like what I say .. or the color of my beard, you can just DOWNVOTE RIGHT !!!

"Read More, Reason More" ... JTS

Up voted. I have noted some of these same concerns in the past. I can tell you that I've been around crypto for a long time, and most developers, though quite competent in their area of expertise, are not real-world business thinkers, they tend to be technical and theoretical thinkers that confuse the "map" for the "territory "......theory for reality. I have seen many a crypto project fail for just this reason.

ty for the response .. it has been a very long night for me ..it is now 7:18 a.m. here and still have 15 tabs open 13 are steemit ...
I call it Coder-think ... they.assume.everyone.thinks.like.they.do.com
like so many creative people that start a business they forget to wear THEIR hat, and let pros do the rest of the Biz ..
so often businesses fail because of bad management ... I think I see a sinking ship here, I hope they wake up, and start delegating !
P.s. I have been in the "Need" for crypto for a LONG time ...( 55yrs old) lol
just my .02 SBD
"Read More, Reason More" ... JTS

I wrote the blog post and am a coder. Yet long ago I decided to focus on games. :) Its pretty easy to run into players not thinking the way you thought they would think. So you learn that despite what you think others will think differently. I have encountered MANY MANY people who are coders like you describe though. I've fixed some of their code from time to time when it wouldn't work for the regular people that hired me to fix things. I also did take a systems analysis and design class which many coders with degrees (which I don't have) have taken. It focuses quite a bit on trying to tame this beast that is our mind, and us thinking everyone must do it our way. That doesn't mean it is something everyone that encounters it manages to be convinced is actually important. :(

Hi @dwinblood thanks for responding. I'm glad you brought up gaming. I educated my children using games, being a gamer yourself adds weight to your post and my comment. From a group to a full End Game 40 man Raid, if everyone does not do THEIR job as professionals will wipe, fail. This was my point where I agreed with you, any serious or professional endeavor will fail if everyone involved does not do his or her job. Main point here "Everyone", yes a group all working together. In this case, regardless of how good the raid leader or tank or healer is, without the "Pros" backing them, all fail. In Wow I would say that over 90% of players Never play End Game Content because they don't grasp the idea of being a Pro at what you do and NEEDING other "Pros" to do what they do.
Same with any successful business ... There is always a Pro team working together ... People forget ... Together we Stand, divided we Fall.

imho Steemit needs to start delegating responsibilities and let THOSE Pros do THEIR job ...

OR ... You can just downvote ...right ? /sadness

"Read More, Reason More" ... JTS

Thanks for your post. I wholeheartedly agree with your sentiments on this issues and share you concern that this point of view has not gained more traction. I think the current downvoting policy hurts the social structure. We can and should do much better. I will copy a copy comment I made on another blog replying to "smooth" regarding the flagging issue. You many also find reading the original blog of interest: New Content Flagging System With Feedback

Response:
"Hi smooth, good comments. I also think that the dialog box is a good, or maybe even an essential component to the flagging system. It is essential because flagging is providing negative feed back. This is always touchy as misunderstandings can lead to upset between the two parties and thought of an unfair playing field. It is first essential (and sorely lacking currently) to have a clear set of rules, )a constitution if you will ) that all agree to play by. We all know that spam and plagiarism is against the social consensus. We need to expand on that list of social expectations and pin it visibly on the site. This rule book should be the bases of all flagging action noted on @bendjmiller222 's dialog box. In doing this we get clear documented expectations and clear documented violation. This way, very efficiently, one can check the " accepted rules", against the "rules" their being accused of breaking.

Regarding using flagging for down-voting, I have an idea for possibly a better way for reaching consensus that I hope will be considered.

Lately there has been a lot of down voting of top paying posts, who have no visible violation of rules of social consensus (that I can see anyway). I've seen a lot of comments about this. People are assuming the cause to be jealousy, dis-like etc. I must admin many times I am left with simular notions. Whether that be true or not, "perception is reality" as they say. I would submit the idea that negative feedback in a broad mass-communication social network is not a good thing. Negative feed back opens the social group up to the potential of a whole host of emotional driven actions that usually end up being harmful. So, Instead of ( + / - vote ) to reach consensus I would propose ( + / 0 vote ) .
"Up Vote / No Vote" - These would be the two binaries between which consensus would be achieved. Doing this we remove the emotionally charged issue of negative voting. Think of it as simular to how the Steemit system gets around the negative stigma of asking members to pay upfront for operational costs by actually acquiring its resources through inflation. The end result is the same, but the phycological negative barrier is neutralized,. In the case of counter voting (down voting) it leaves the flagging system alone to deal strictly with rule breakers and transfers the responsibility to the "up vote" algorithm

So then, how to we deal with blog awards being to high if this is in fact an issue? I am not a mathematician, but it seems the general up-vote weighing calculated by the program would need to come down. So, build the counter weight into the up vote algorithm to hide it, just like Steemit's ability to obtain resources is hidden in to the inflation.

That said, it could very well be that the voting algorithm is working just fine now, and what we are seeing in the large awards is simply the free market at work.

Thanks. Enjoyed reading your ideas."

I posted a shot of a dialog box log ago when I first started along this path. At the time I hadn't really settled on the up votes only with flag for simply three things that I am on now. I did have a dialog box with just those three things and I think I was on the path to explaining why we don't need down votes, but I hadn't quite solidified on those perceptions. I hit the free market idea a couple of weeks ago and for awhile I was swayed by some deep posts by Dan. Then I thought about it some more and they didn't silence the inner thoughts on the subject.

I also was involved with that post you shared at one point or another.

I am upvoting this because I totally agree about the flagging,even though I´m an anti-capitalist, and totally cringe when I hear the term "the free market".

Do you want to be free to go about your business without some asshole telling you what you are doing is wrong for some spurious reason, and gathering a gaggle of ghouls to flag you out of view? Then you are for a free market.

Forget about what these pseudoanarchist Republican twats say. A free market is beneficial to everyone. Not abortion-mysoginists, drug warriors, drug warriors, any kind of busybody intent on suppressing disagreement, or conspiracy-theorist-haters (as much as 90% of conspiracy theories are psyops and delusions). And let's not forget that as a dyed in the wool agorist and anarchocapitalist, you an-socs have enough overlap in your higher goals that there is no reason why we should be fighting. Let's find what is common, build it, and let the debate educate people from both sides about the flaws in their arguments. Let the Best Ideas win. Not the best churches of politics. Fuck that shit.

I´m a post scarcity anarchist. I do not belive in a free market, I believe in free stuff for everyone, fully automated luxury anarchism. And local,direct governance,and self governance.
I´m a communalist, a follower of Murray Bookchin´s works.
I do agree that we should move past our differences as much as possible.
The only way to do that is if we can agree to work for the goal of moving beyond scarcity.
I do not get bogged down in petty disagreements.
But when I perceive Ancap´s arguments as favouring accumulation of wealth without any regard for the extreme consequences on the environment, the fact that most of the world is suffering in poverty, then it´s hard to find a common ground. I believe that the earth´s resources should be a commons, it´s a common heritage, accumulated over generations. Not created by a single person or company, but harnessed by persons and comnpanies.
But let´s focus on where our views overlap, and try to make a better world!

The only way to do that is if we can agree to work for the goal of moving beyond scarcity.

This is the sentence that lost me. It is impossible, absurd, and undesirable. For what shall you fill your now completely un-occupied time beyond eating, shitting and sleeping, if nothing else requires labor to acquire.

Not only that, what about intangible capital. Love, Respect. Recognition. These are scarce, and so they should be. Can you honestly look upon the majority of people and say, honestly, that they need do nothing to earn these non-monetary forms of currency?

Please, before we can work together, we have to agree that we live in the same world. Otherwise we might a well be in parallel universes, talking through computer screens, with no other way to interact, or contribute to each other's ongoing war against scarcity

You misunderstand the central goal, purpose and aim of anarchocapitalism. To continue to push that boundary of scarcity, further and further away. And, conversely, to then give us the opportunity to discover the little, valuable scarce things, that further improve our lives, and discover how to make more of it available, to more people, and so it goes on.

I will not even attempt to refute this concept of commons. We are not seeking common ground, it is impossible. I stand here, and you may not, unless you push me out of it, or negotiate a price that I agree with voluntarily.

No, the only common is ideas. And you have to stop being so fixated on your faiths in certain ideas at the expense of realising how much they impoverish you, and isolate you from your fellow humans, who have many things to offer you, as you do to them.

Could you please try to interpret my words as if I´m not a blabbering idiot?
Moving beyond scarcity means to be able to produce goods and services so easily and cheaply, that in the end it can be provided for free.
And to clarify, in face of your strong will to misunderstand me, I want a gift economy for all things that remains scarce, which basically is everything that demands human consciousness. For instance therapists,teachers and nurses.
But if capitalism continued to exist in a post scarcity setting, this would be kind of okay,as long as everybody has their basic needs met. That includes food,housing,medical care, acess to cultural activities, therapy if needed.
Nobody should have to work to deserve these things. But humans do wish to work,and to participate in society.
In a world where possibly as much as 90 percent of the work is automated, we would focus more on human values, like culture,creativity,and togetherness.
And your arrogant rant is just disgusting. Who do you think you are? Jesus?
You are unfollowed, you are arrogant and intolerable.

define 'blubbering idiot' please. Does this mean that you keep repeating absurd and provably illogical positions and refuse despite the best efforts of others to show you that scarcity has no 'beyond' after a given item goes to zero, ie, abundance. and when you use this term in the abstract, general sense, can't you see that in no situation, even fictional, like the garden of eden, there is still scarcity: the space to physically occupy, and indeed the limited number of people in it.

i don't know you from a bar of cheese. I have no ill will and what I say is purely a dialectic, a discussion, based on terms of reference I have already proven you do not understand.

you can want all you like an economy where there is no accounting, but outside of a small, trusted group, the historical precedent strongly indicates your 'gift economy' is not economic, and the gifts are selfishly given, and secretly everyone is keeping an account.

get a grasp on the real meaning of the words you write before accusing me of trolling you. I am not trolling you, I am trying to help you understand that what you say makes no sense, with even the most shallow analysis.

Well in a true free market isn't that kind of like someone not being able to censor what you choose to purchase, or whom you choose to offer your services to? I'd be interested in your opinion as I kind of see it as very similar to being anti-censorship. Also thanks for the vote and if you've been following me you'll know I am civil to people who disagree with me.

if i choose to ignore something, i am not forcing anyone else to agree with this shunning. censorship is the use of power to control what others cannot see. discrimination is important. an ounce of gold and an ounce of shit is very different, but you are more or less saying 'an ounce is an ounce'.

I know. That's why I had the word NOT in that first sentence. :)

For a place that was touted as censorship free I certainly see a lot of censorship this week. Just take a look at poor @dickbutt his rep is ruined now and he can't be enjoyed by others.

It makes me wonder now where did I hear this place was censorship free again? I'm not even sure.

It is supposed to be censorship free, but the due to showing the image as a thumbnail when your first image is potentially offensive by making it the thumbnail you are removing the right of others not to look at it. It is forced at them. I believe this post (I looked at his first post) should have been fine IF he had another non-offensive image before the cartoon one.

Let me give you an example... If I made an image of someones head crushed by a hammer as my first image and that showed up as a thumbnail in your view and everyone else view without you being able to choose to see it that could make some people physically ill. If the first image is something people will potentially be offended by and they are not given an option to view it then yes it will be censored and is the type of thing I would flag as well as such posts could be viewed as hostile by others. Yet it is subjective, so when in doubt self censor yourself by pulling the shades down on your windows before you start having sex in your kitchen. Don't force everyone driving by to see you. :) Now it seems understeem may be coming that may end up being a site that has no censorship, since all of this is still on the blockchain.

"It is supposed to be censorship free"

I don't think that's true. I think it's designed to self censor. You make very valid points about offensiveness and I'm not arguing about the use and need for some forms of censorship. I think it's fair to say Steem the blockchain is censorship free but Steemit.com is a self censored community.

What I'm really wondering though is did Steemit.com tout being censorship free or was that just hype and hearsay I read elsewhere? I really don't know.

https://steemit.com/agorism/@l0k1/agora-a-local-centric-distributed-compartmental-corporate-infrastructure

Give this a good read, and if you can help develop, promote and bring more development, refine the ideas, or whatever your talents are, the sooner we can have something that will make Steem look like baby steps.

And nothing against #dantheman. He is only working from the idea that there needs to be a way to eliminate trolling. But downvotes and flags are not the answer.

Yes I completely respect and value both Dan and Ned. I'll have a look at that though as if it remains as it is it will degrade and it is a turn off to a lot of people. A lot of people I've tried to get to use steemit have been turned off by this one issue.

I think that the flood of discontent is starting to reach the radar range of the Devs. They have many things to occupy their time, and of course they want to focus on expansion rather than refinement. But some things have to be removed sometimes, sometimes the seemingly trivial things turn out to be the biggest obstacles to the rest of your aspirations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61