Steemit Upvote Bots: Still Profitable or Waste of Money?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Are Steemit Upvote Bots Still Profitable or a Waste of Money

I've been getting this question a lot lately so I decided I should make an update video to my previous Steemit bot video that I did 10 days ago. I'll share my thoughts on the growing demand for upvote bots and how you can make better decisions with your bidding on these promotional services.

Check the current bids: SteemBotTracker.com


If you're interested in more videos, tutorials, and how-tos, I encourage you to follow my channel and leave me replies of things you would like to learn about. If I don't know the answer, we'll learn together! :)


- Daily Comment Reward -

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Leave a unique comment (not just a "great video!" or "follow me")
  3. And you could win $20 USD worth of SBD!

That's it! It's also a great idea to go ahead and follow my channel so that you don't miss any upcoming posts. You can do that here: https://steemit.com/@brandonfrye

Sort:  

Sorry for your loss and congratulation!

You have been victim of a @GrumpyCat flag because you or someone else sent money to buy votes from a non-GrupyCompliant service.

@buildawhale
@jerrybanfield

The good news is that GrumpyCat select the best and most deserving posts to flag for greater impact. Congrats! Your post also earned a resteem by @GrumpyCat.

To know what voting bot to use, refer to https://steembottracker.com/ and use those that have 3.5 day or less in the "Max Age" column.

@jerrybanfield is compliant.... What the hell?

@grumpycat, Are you serious!?? @jerrybanfield is listed on your site and this post is currently only 5 hours old. I even mentioned your site in this video so I definitely know how to use it! This is robbery!! Please reconsider this as I think this has to be some sort of mistake. I understand if you want these vote sellers to stick to a minimum post length of time, but why would you want to punish somebody for upvoting a post that's only a few hours old. I didn't even know about this until now. Is this what decentralized social media looks like???? Don't punish the buyer, punish the seller if that's what you're after.

Complain to your voting bot providers for not having updated or notified their customers in last 14 days. They either have missed two post that got to the very top of trending (with their name as mention) or they don't care.

They most likely don't care yet. If all they want is profits why would they care if people use their service to upvote 6 day old posts only?

We will either turn Steem to shit and it's price collapse or they will change behavior and as a legit user you'll eventually get better prices for your post promotion.

@grumpycat, I can see your points on maintaining the quality with Steemit. However, could you please have a look at my post? It's brand new. Plus, I use your site to purchase the upvotes and even mention it in my video. Shouldn't some responsibility go to the website hosting the services? I had no idea about this.

Plus, my post is not some crap post like you talk about on your channel. I work hard and put in a lot of time to create my content. In fact, what you're doing is ruining Steemit. I'm a hardworking content creator who cares a lot about making Steemit a better place. If you looked over my channel then you would know that. But what you're doing is punishing people like me which (in the end) could drive us all back to Facebook, Twitter, or Reddit.

Please take another look at my post. Downvote Jerry's post if you're so upset with them. But don't hurt us who are trying hard to get a start here on Steemit.

That still has NOTHING to do with me, what content I'm putting out, or how I'm using the upvote services. What YOU'RE doing is wrong.

Look for @grumpycat compliant bot's. They say no votes after 3.5 days, just because your post was new doesn't exclude downvotes to users of their services.

Sorry, Hitler. I had no idea that you won the WW2 or that you were even still alive. Either you're a well-played puppet of the pussy here or you're equally devoted to ruining decentralization.

@grumpycat I'm not exactly sure what this is about. If your conditions are to stomp out people using bots on their posts that are about to expire, what is wrong with this one. I am trying to understand what this post is doing that is an issue. Thank you.

I watched your video and it sucks that just because you are a bigger guy that you have to get knocked down as an example.

I wrote an article about it because I was unhappy with the mess:
https://steemit.com/success/@thegreatlife/is-this-cat-about-to-ruin-de-centralized-social-media#comments

  1. I didn't even know you existed until you downvoted me. I am new to this community and you downvoted me. Literally stole money from me. No warning. Yours was my first downvote experience. I didn't even know it was possible until you did it.
  2. @grumpycat doesn't even sound like something to take seriously. It sounds like a joke honestly.
  3. This was my first experience in bot voting. I just learned about them and was experimenting to see if they even gave returns. I have yet to receive a return from a bot. I may never because I unknowingly poured everything I had into posts that return sooner so I could see what happened.
  4. Now I have nothing left. I can't refund or take back what I had done. You took it.
  5. Then you use my content to advertise your extortion scheme. Salt in the wound. I lost my money, I barely know why, and the guy that mugged me is now painting a sign on me so I am a warning to others.

You are a criminal. Don't act like you're helping anyone. You're not. You're oppressing the poor guy so the rich guy can stay rich.

I am the creator and owner of the steem bot tracker site. Myself and the site have no affiliation with grumpycat. I agree that the vote buyers who are not promoting old posts shouldn't be the ones that get punished here. I will try to work to create a better solution to this issue.

@yabapmatt, thank you for that. The way @grumpycat worded their post they made it sound like they were the owner of the site. I feel like I was just robbed of $230 from somebody I've never even heard of. This has totally ruined the whole "decentralized" experience I was expecting to find over here at Steemit.

$230 worth of up-votes in the 1st 8 hours? I guess if your post is worth that much @grumpycat 's downvote will correct itself.

That normally states even the author feels that they wrote a......
Shitpost layers.jpg

Tell your vote bots to get......
184063988.jpg

This sounds like some Russian level shit. Im a new user and how can i be sure @grumpycat is not in some game with the bot creators? As in "USE THE BOTS I TELL YOU TO OR LOSE". That sounds like the same things thats happening in the Russian version of steemit where if you did not use a guys bot you got flagged when you got to trending.

What do you have against Mother Russia?

All vote bots can become Grumpy Compliant, all they have to do is fix their bid times. That sounds fair all the way around.

I notice that Seembot Tracker lists 'Vote Value' and 'Total Bids' in $ and 'Min Bid' and 'Max Profitable Bid' in SPD or Steem. Does this mean that we have to convert our reward $ into SPD in order to calculate ROI?

I only use the vote value as a way of seeing how big of an account the bot has. For example, if it's Vote Value is over $100 then it has more room for bids than a bot that has a Vote Value of $20. But I don't actually use that in any other way but to tell the whales from the rest of the crowd. Min Bid also helps you see the size of the bot and what other people will be voting on this bot.

And we spend SBD to get the bids typically, so that's why you see the Max Profitable Bid in SBD. If it's 10 SBD then do not bid more than 10 (probably better off with a 5 SBD bid).

So to answer your question, yes. Just for example.. on this post I spent 41 SBD (which currently equals $217). So far the rewards are $86.70 which if we take my portion (75% of it) that is $65.02. Next we need to divide that in half (I get 50% in SBD and 50% in Steem Power). That gives us 32.51 of SBD and 32.51 of Steem Power.

And that's exactly why some people are saying that the bots are no longer profitable. I spent 41 SBD and got 32.51 SBD back for this post. But what people aren't accounting for is the 32.51 Steem Power that I'm also getting. But let's total it up in USD to make sure.

32.51 SBD = $172.65 USD
32.51 Steem = $135.51 USD


Total Reward = $308.16 USD

Minus My Costs of $217

So I Profited $91.16 USD

And no, I do not calculate this with every post and upvote purchase. Actually this is the very first time I've done this calculation. I usually just guestimate my returns. :)

Makes sense to me. Before I actually began to understand bots I figured I would use bots to increase my Steempower indirectly rather than buying or transferring SPD. I had some doubts about this strategy but this post has shown me how to better calculate. Thanks you.

I'm sorry to say but you won't be getting 32.5 steem. You need to divide 32.5 by the steem price to get an approximate steem return amount.

@oldmariner - you can choose what currency you would like to see vote values displayed in using the "Display Currency" setting. I recommend sticking with USD though since that's really the only one that makes sense.

Also you can see the ROI in the "Details" view for each bot which does all the calculations for you.

Just paid for an upvote from 'booster', using steembot tracker, I paid 10 spd,says I got vote value of about $50 yet post earnings says 16.50. I do not understand.

The $50 shown on the site is USD. Post earnings are 50% SBD and 50% SP. So at the current prices of STEEM and SBDs the 16.50 post earnings are worth about $50.

I seems to me that the upvote arrow should use 'sp$' as a symbol not just the $ sign then.

Yes, it absolutely should. Unfortunately the steemit.com frontend (as well as most others) operate under the assumption that 1 SBD = 1 USD. Now that that is not the case the values shown are confusing. I hope that they will consider changing that soon, but I'm doing the best I can to show things correctly on the bot tracker website.

I've spent nearly the last hour watching your tutorials. In that amount of time you've shown me how to get Steemit notifications via Steemify and how Steemit curation rewards works. Now you've taught me what the bots are all about. Thank you for putting in the time to put out so much quality information!

And that makes it all worth it! Seriously, I want to help as many people as possible make the most of Steemit. So I thank you for your valuable feedback. And I'll keep the videos coming. :)

Awesome! I've followed and got you on my radar now

Come on, even the US Government, knows vote buying is shady as fuck.

Haha, luckily my following is real and understand that this is cyber bullying at its finest. You do know that this makes Steemit look SOOO bad. I've only got 1200 hours and $3500 invested here. @poimenpost we'll figure this out.

Everyone is free to flag and up vote at will. Disagreement of rewards is the number one reason for a flag.

You create NO original content so how would you know what it's like for us original content creators. Go f Yourself

What it's like? PUT YOUR TIME IN. Like everyone else. It is your "I deserve" attitude, that causes you to vote buy. Do the work, put in the time. You won't need to buy votes at that point. As it stands you just prove your own worth in your own eyes.
I don't want to go flag myself by the way. Unless you can't say FUCK! It's a free world dude. Fuck is okay.

Another quality video about a thing I had no idea about!! I do appreciate the work and effort you put into making my (our) life easier.

A couple days ago you read my comment and mentioned me in your video. In the 24 hours after that I got 24 new followers and am guessing that you and your video is responsible for half or more. Thank you!

That’s really cool to hear @bigtom13 and that’s what I love about Steemit. It’s bringing so many people together in such a positive way!

It's very interesting post!!
I like your work, Thank you for the hard work _)))

You're welcome. Thank you for watching and giving your feedback. :)

The video is quite cool...This will at least clear doubts on the mind of people....the unbelievable thomas really needs to watch this

Thanks @harddeynike, I appreciate the feedback on the video. And please resteem if you like so more and more people will see this and understand how we can all help one another.

thats would be helpful because many people have doubt about it.

Thanks @rubnawaz, yes I think a lot of people are questioning if the bots are still useful. Glad you like this! :)

I seriously need an upvote bot services so that my Steem power SBD will act as if under the influence of Steriods.
I will watch the video ASAP.

Lol, don't we all! Great comment and thanks for the feedback. :)

Thank you. Haha, we all do

Your channel is quickly becoming the only resource I'm needing to figure all this madness out.

Appreciated as always sir.

This is one of these features of Steemit that I have never even attempted to try. I'll give it a go today and see how it goes. I believe in pushing yourself every day and get out of your comfort zone to see some big growth....

Using bots to promote my posts is most definitely out of my comfort zone lol Nothing ventured, nothing gained...

Hah, thank you @jongolson. I appreciate that! For the time being I'm still using upvote bots. I believe that as long as they continue to add more and people understand how to properly use them, then we'll all see an ROI. :)

Yeah that's a great point. Someone new coming on Steemit and sees 'bot' they may get a little worried about that and wonder if it's legit to use. Heck, I'm speaking from personal experience LOL I thought I'd get my account banned if I started using them.....lol

Hm, very interesting. Never thought about using upvote bots. Are there any tutorials you'd recommend to get started?

Yes, I actually did a video on them about 10 days ago: https://steemit.com/steemit/@brandonfrye/steemit-upvote-bots-are-they-ethical-useful-or-even-profitable

That should help you get started with them. Very easy to use and I've never had a bad experience with ROI personally. But I do take into account the free Steem Power I'm gaining from using them.

Awesome stuff. Thanks for the lightning quick response. I actually just watched your previous video. I'm going to try this out! Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62