Is This Cat About To Ruin De-centralized Social Media!?

in #success7 years ago

grumpycat steemit killer.png

Beware bot users and everyone alike! There is a new supposed power driven deity that has arisen from to the Steemit Community and someone pet his fur the wrong way. ...

Grumpy cat was always entertaining while existing solely within the domain of meme related content, but today a purist with millions of dollars of influence is about to make this comical kitty into a nightmare for some of the biggest Steemit users and their followers. As depicted in his profile here: https://steemit.com/abuse/@grumpycat/reminder-grumpycompliance-in-7-days-look-who-s-buying-votes-on-his-6-days-old-posts , "Unless votes sellers become GrumpyCompliant in the next 7 day @grumpycat will push the vote buying abuse ratio even closer to 100% by flagging the most legitimate use of post promotion at the worst possible time...
Capture3.PNG
So, what are the conditions? Well, the claim is that too many posts are being up-voted by bots close to the time when they are about to expire meaning that people are abusing the system to make a quick profit (which doesn't help the community.) He demands that every bot user that isn't complaint with his rules will get a friendly flag...you know.. one thats backed up by a 2 million dollar account flag.... yeah...
So what are his rules? well he claims that if you use any bot that isn't on his list of approved list, you can receive this lovely message:Capture1.PNG
Grumpy cat demands that any user of a bot that accepts people's money and up-votes a post who is willing to do so past a 3.5 day period after the post is created, is in serious risk of getting the big red flag of fur... now, you might think..."ok, that's not a big deal, I'll just up-vote as soon as my post is ready, right" well, no.. the thing about it is that it doesn't matter when you purchase a bot for your post, it only matters if you used one that would have been willing to accept transactions that would expired before grumpy cats deadline. What is more, is that he fully expected that people should know his rules well in advance and, just like how ignorance of the law won't stop you from going to jail, Ignorance to grumpy cat will not prevent his judgment upon you. ..
So, a lot of people out there would probably say that there is nothing wrong with this. I agree, that there is a few things about Steemit that make the system semi broken, but this isn't the answer. This is one of the negative sides to a platform that doesn't have a big brother to look over it. One man with a lot of money already is what dominates the regular world, is that suppose to be the fate of the de-centralized world as well? I wouldn't care all that much, but it seems less like justice and more like cyber bullying. it's very deliberate and unforgiving. @BrandonFrye had just made a post not long ago and got hit out of nowhere. He wasn't aware that this grumpy cat was even a thing, an BOOM! there goes $230.00 or so down the drain. Even after trying to reason with him, Grumpy had nothing to giveCapture2.PNG Popular content creator Jerry Banfield is one of the highest in popularity in the Steemit community and he is getting hit hard by the paws of fury as well. Just after 2 hours of being up, Jerry's content was hidden due to being flagged.
I'm not saying that people should or shouldn't be upset about people using bot, but what I do say is that being vindictive and/or malicious isn't the way. Take a look at one of these responses grumpy had and tell me what you think: ![Capture.PNG] ()
Is this movement about helping the community by getting rid of bad practices, or is this about a demonstration of power? I'm only a baby in this community, so I don't have any control over these sorts of things, but I know that as I gain more influence within the Steemit ecosystem, I'm not going to be targeting people, nor will I come to the conclusion that I am qualified to take away the income from active members who put their soul into their work. I can't possibly have anything against Grumpy cat, because I don't don't know him, but all be warned that there is yet one more obstacle out there that you might have to be mindful while posting and yet one more obstacle keeping people from reading your posts. In closing, I leave you with a quote from Thomas Carlyle. "“A great man shows his greatness by the way he treats little men.”
Happy Steeming!

Btw, check out https://steemit.com/steemit/@brandonfrye/is-steemit-decentralization-backfiring from @brandonfrye
for a more detailed video regarding this post.

Sort:  

I will supporting your good intentions for this platform and I'm aware of these things such as the "cat". Let me help you in building your reputation.

Thank you, Appreciate the re-steem!

I'm new here. And I'm so confused. I have been perusing the posts of people I might want to friend to see if we are at all like minded. Are you saying that if I like a post that's more than 7 days old it actually hurts them? This makes no sense. If I find a post that's 2 weeks old and I really like it and want to leave a comment or just a thank you, what am I supposed to do? Leave it as though I didn't see it?

Not at all. To clarify, what is going on, there are a lot of people offering to sell their up-voting power for a small contribution. It's usually a good way to gain an audience because an up-voted post will be more accessible to people, and will give the author a higher reward. The issue with grumpy cat is that too many people are using this service right before they get paid out for a quicker profit. When this is done like this, only the author is benefiting by cashing out at a higher payout at the last moment. usually, when a post is discovered earlier in it's life cycle, readers, have the opportunity to gain additional rewards by finding good content. If an author promotes their post at the tail end, the reader isn't able to take advantage of this reward. I agree with this being a little shady, but the way Grumpy cat is going about it, is he is flagging peoples posts which is hurting the author. I don't agree with the way he's going about it..... hmm. I hope that was clear. I'm not that old in the community yet and I still need to do a lot of research on how it works myself. In short though, you never have to worry about up-voting content that you enjoy. Only flagging a post will negatively affect an author.

Thank you. Someone mentioned communities. I guess like groups on FB. Do you know how to find and join those? I'm looking for anyone interested in paranormal or dentistry, but I don't see any tags for those.

Steemit hasn't been around long enough for all of the tags that would be normal on most platforms. It haven't hit mass adoption quiet yet. Plus, most people get the most views from crypto news and such. as for finding those topics, perhaps write an article on one of them and make sure your tag has one of those key words in them. I don't that you can openly search tags specifically, but have you tried using the search function in steemit? I says it's driven by google, but every result will be exclusive to steemit. I did a quick search right now and found some of these: https://steemit.com/haunting/@annasophia/a-haunting-is-the-best-paranormal-tv-show-of-all-time
https://steemit.com/paranormal/@tecnosgirl/haunting-at-oakhurst-playhouse

https://steemit.com/dentistry/@anne1211nne1211/is-dentistry-course-a-good-choice

... so I suppose that there are those topics. just use the internal search. Hope this helps!

Excellent content, follow back, vincentb tag unite - upvoted you - united we stand, divided we fall - together to the top

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thegreatlife to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43