You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Upvote Bots: Still Profitable or Waste of Money?

in #steemit7 years ago

I notice that Seembot Tracker lists 'Vote Value' and 'Total Bids' in $ and 'Min Bid' and 'Max Profitable Bid' in SPD or Steem. Does this mean that we have to convert our reward $ into SPD in order to calculate ROI?

Sort:  

I only use the vote value as a way of seeing how big of an account the bot has. For example, if it's Vote Value is over $100 then it has more room for bids than a bot that has a Vote Value of $20. But I don't actually use that in any other way but to tell the whales from the rest of the crowd. Min Bid also helps you see the size of the bot and what other people will be voting on this bot.

And we spend SBD to get the bids typically, so that's why you see the Max Profitable Bid in SBD. If it's 10 SBD then do not bid more than 10 (probably better off with a 5 SBD bid).

So to answer your question, yes. Just for example.. on this post I spent 41 SBD (which currently equals $217). So far the rewards are $86.70 which if we take my portion (75% of it) that is $65.02. Next we need to divide that in half (I get 50% in SBD and 50% in Steem Power). That gives us 32.51 of SBD and 32.51 of Steem Power.

And that's exactly why some people are saying that the bots are no longer profitable. I spent 41 SBD and got 32.51 SBD back for this post. But what people aren't accounting for is the 32.51 Steem Power that I'm also getting. But let's total it up in USD to make sure.

32.51 SBD = $172.65 USD
32.51 Steem = $135.51 USD


Total Reward = $308.16 USD

Minus My Costs of $217

So I Profited $91.16 USD

And no, I do not calculate this with every post and upvote purchase. Actually this is the very first time I've done this calculation. I usually just guestimate my returns. :)

Makes sense to me. Before I actually began to understand bots I figured I would use bots to increase my Steempower indirectly rather than buying or transferring SPD. I had some doubts about this strategy but this post has shown me how to better calculate. Thanks you.

I'm sorry to say but you won't be getting 32.5 steem. You need to divide 32.5 by the steem price to get an approximate steem return amount.

@oldmariner - you can choose what currency you would like to see vote values displayed in using the "Display Currency" setting. I recommend sticking with USD though since that's really the only one that makes sense.

Also you can see the ROI in the "Details" view for each bot which does all the calculations for you.

Just paid for an upvote from 'booster', using steembot tracker, I paid 10 spd,says I got vote value of about $50 yet post earnings says 16.50. I do not understand.

The $50 shown on the site is USD. Post earnings are 50% SBD and 50% SP. So at the current prices of STEEM and SBDs the 16.50 post earnings are worth about $50.

I seems to me that the upvote arrow should use 'sp$' as a symbol not just the $ sign then.

Yes, it absolutely should. Unfortunately the steemit.com frontend (as well as most others) operate under the assumption that 1 SBD = 1 USD. Now that that is not the case the values shown are confusing. I hope that they will consider changing that soon, but I'm doing the best I can to show things correctly on the bot tracker website.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88