@FullTimeGeek and His Full-Time Posse of Bots

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

robot-2587571_1280.jpg

Steemit Bots That Nobody Can Complain About

Let's face it... Most people reside in one of two camps when it comes to bots on the Steemit platform. You either think they're the worst thing ever and will cause the demise of the blockchain. Or, you feel that they have utility and purpose, and possibly even help drive up the value of Steem considering how much Steem Power has to be powered up for them to be effective.

As most of you know, I run my own upvote bot (which helps fund fellow Steemians), so you know where I stand on bots. Therefore, we won't get into that whole debate. But what's up with this @fulltimegeek guy and all of his awesome bots!? What makes them different? And why is NOBODY complaining about them?

I'm SO glad you asked!.. 😀

Who is @fulltimegeek?

This is something I've really been looking into lately. And you'll understand why in just a moment. Because for the last few weeks his fulltimebots have been upvoting my posts to $20-$30+ worth of rewards. And people this generous don't usually come right out and say, "Hey, look what I did for you!" Lol, so I've had to do my own digging to see what he, and all of these bots, are really up to.

Typical Payouts After the Bots Hit My Post

Capture.PNG

First off, it wasn't too hard to figure out that these fulltimebots were connected to somebody I had spoken with on a couple of occasions who goes by the name @fulltimegeek. But who is this @fulltimegeek character and why did he choose me as the recipient of such generosity?

A Little Research Later...

I found out that @fulltimegeek is no newbie to the Steem blockchain. In fact, I would go so far as to say he's downright a founding member (or an initial investor). When I looked up his account on steemd.com it literally says his account was created 27 Moons Ago LOL (which also translates to July of 2016). In other words, he's been here a minute! And his account holds 373,880 SP, which most of it is delegated out to other users (and the bots which we'll get into in just a moment).

I found a link to a @dtube video that was created some 20 days ago where apparently @fulltimegeek explained the purpose of his bots, and how they work. But unfortunately the video wouldn't playback for me:

(I'll keep testing this link because I'd love to hear him in his own words)

I kept digging and that's when I came across a post by @taskmaster4450 (who had seen the video). You can read his full post here, but he goes on to say...

"This is an absolute stunning display of the mindset that is aligned with the Age of Abundance. He (@fulltimegeek) decided to use technology coupled with his SP to create a magical system for the benefit of many.

Many complain that the bigger accounts should do more to upvote other accounts and stop circle voting. Here is an example of one who is doing just that.

Of course, his system throws a monkey wrench into the bot debate since @fulltimegeek created 100 bots on the STEEM blockchain. That is why I wrote that he is "going botsh*t crazy".

So what is taking place?

@fulltimegeek established all these bots to randomly upvote those who consistently produce quality content. It is an automated curation system that provides 1,000 upvotes per day to people who have a track record of providing content that enhances the STEEM blockchain. This is not a paid-bot service but one that he created to reward content providers.

This is true Age of Abundance thinking. We all need to support @fulltimegeek in this endeavor."

Here's Why This is So Powerful

One thing I've gathered from reading @taskmaster4450 and other users' articles is that @fulltimegeek won't stop here. Currently he has at least 100 bots (with 3,000 SP each) upvoting great content. And as these bots upvote posts they gain even more SP, making their upvotes worth even more. But I imagine that @fulltimegeek will take the curation rewards from these bots and use it to create even more bots, so that he can help even more people!

Talk about a genius way to use your SP!..

As he uses his SP to reward users, he grows his own stake even more, which in return rewards more users. It's a brilliant way to use one's investment in Steem, and it's an act of generosity we don't see often enough on the Steem blockchain.

How Can We Support Such Acts of Kindness?

For one, you can follow @fulltimegeek. I've recently done this because I can tell he spends a lot of time finding authors who create great content and resteeming their articles. As I mentioned in yesterday's post, this is something I'm wanting to do more of myself.

Another thing I think more of us should do is give back, especially those of us who have already done pretty well in regards to building a following and earning rewards. If you see a good article, upvote it and resteem it for others to enjoy. If you spent the time to read a blog post, take a minute to leave some feedback (or your opinion).

Let's start taking more time to reward others. I believe at the end of the day our generosity towards others will only prove to increase our investment in the platform, and in each other. The price of Steem will always fluctuate, but the experience here doesn't have to.

hr.png

Or you can click this link where you can vote securely using SteemConnect.

hr.png

Recent Posts

hr.png

Sort:  

The English dictionary defines @fulltimegeek as:

  • good whale
  • selfless
  • fun person
  • inventor of the matrix
  • of unknown origin (speculation is that he was born in the Orion constellation)

LMBO, I love this definition. And the more I learn about him, the more accurate this definition seems to be. You guys who have been here a bit longer seem to have similar encounters with this fun-loving, selfless whale. ;)

Amazing man @fulltimegeek he's doing so much hard work to finding the extraordinary author and content, you are right we should at least appreciate him and support him as much as we can this not an easy job and most importantly he's helping others for not for just his sake, but just for the appreciate good authors and for steem blockchain community.
Thank you for sharing!

It really does take some time and commitment to find these gems hidden in our blockchain. I'm trying to do that myself now, and it takes some work. I'm starting to realize how valuable the New and Hot sections are for doing just that. ;)

That's a good idea @brandonfrye my all wishes with you! best of luck :)

Nice. Love reading about Steemians like this that give back to the blockchain.

Fantastic to learn about his account to so I’ll be sure to follow him

But more importantly how do you find all this awesome stuff?? lol I need to hang out where you are hanging out lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, i had to do some digging to get to the bottom of this one. People this generous typically don't gloat about it, and I can appreciate that. :)

that’s a good point. they just prove by doing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, very cool, I love how there is no limit. Is he a witness?

Wow, very cool, I
Love how there is no limit.
Is he a witness?

                 - giddyupngo


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

No, I don't believe he is. But he probably should be! :)

This is an awesome concept as it demonstrates the power and flexibility of the blockchain. It also shows how a whale can support the growth of the community while also gaining from the curation. It is a longer term play but it gets the growth and development into the hands of the future content creators and not just the whales. Congrats on being targeted as it demonstrates the quality of your content and the commitment to the exosystem!

I was delighted to be targeted! At first I thought it was random and it probably wouldn't last, but the upvotes keep coming. This also ties into my post from yesterday, and further explains why I'm starting to take a different approach to Steemit and the entire community. The best way to protect our investment is to ensure the growth of not just ourselves, but those putting in the work around us.

Awesome piece of information Brandon! I hope you didn't blow his "cover". :) Anyway, such consistent acts of giving back to the community are not as often as they could be.

Haha, no he's perfectly okay with it. And you're right, this level of support and generosity is uncommon.

I don't like to read this much. I love your youtube video if you could explain there. It will be helpful and I always use you (bot)for upvoting.

I can understand that. I personally prefer video myself. But I knew that more people would consume this article (or content) in its written format. More videos to come though. :)

Thanks man, I’m always looking for new, interesting Steemians to follow. @fulltimegeek fits the bill.

Posted using Partiko iOS

He's definitely a good follow. He's helping me find some great authors!

Sir @brandonfrye i am actually newbie on steemit i have joined in feb 2018 and i really know yo are helping and teaching us on Youtube now i am watching your this video


i loved it and i really like you thanks..
regards.,@abdt

Hey @binkyprod I saw a post on my feed get some fulltimebot love and started diving down the rabbit hole and found this post :) The nancy drew in me compelled me to tag you in it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97