Drinking Animal Poop & Swinging High in Bali 🇮🇩

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

There’s SO Much to Catch-Up On!

Just a heads up that I’m writing today’s post completely from my phone. So I apologize if there are any errors. The internet is pretty horrible at our hotel so I’m using my phone’s data (and touchscreen). That’s commitment, right!? This also explains why I haven’t been posting the last two days.

Anyways, we made it to Bali at 1am on the 13th and we’ve been exploring as much of the island as we can in the short amount of time we that have here. And I think we’ve done an awesome job!

Here’s just part of our Bali highlights...

Kopi Luwak Coffee ☕️

0D05E29A-DB73-4E34-A649-C44296601B26.jpeg

If you’re a coffee lover then you’ve probably heard of Kopi Luwak. It’s possibly the most expensive coffee in the world. Or at least it is outside of Bali. But this island is where Kopi Luwak was born.

Legend has it that the Dutch Colonies of the 18th century farmed coffee on this land but wouldn’t let the locals even try this delicious and highly sought after beverage. No beans were to even leave the plantations unless it was to board a ship and be sent off to a far away land for sale.

But what they didn’t know is that the beans were being eaten by the Asian palm civet (Luwak) and pooped out in the surrounding areas. Locals, eager to try coffee themselves, collected the poop of the Luwak where the beans had remained intact. They carefully cleaned, processed, roasted, and brewed these beans which gave them an extremely smooth coffee beverage. When the plantation owners found out, and tried it for themselves, they were amazed at the taste. They then began marketing it to the world but the market wasn’t interested lol. I, on the other hand, have waited years to try it!

5C7000BF-B3FB-46A7-AABE-824C1BD2A5A6.jpeg

It was very smooth and I even bought a bag to bring back with me to the states. At $35 a bag I couldn’t resist. It typically goes for $150-300 for a similar size bag.

Giant Swings of Bali

29E1082A-CA75-4673-AA13-4230610A8728.jpeg

Lucky for us, there was an entire swing park attached to the coffee house where we tried the coffee. These huge swings are a somewhat new phenomenon in Bali. I don’t know the story of how these big swings became a thing, but I’m glad they did. They’re fun!!

EC98D121-88CA-43F2-850A-7A95D1415BD9.jpeg

EE7CB68B-5ABF-4997-9A21-3B5D4E0F304D.jpeg

For $10 a person, it was well worth it!

So Much More to Share

I’m going to have to break up each post a little because it takes FOREVER writing all of this on my phone and uploading the pics over my data, but I’ve got a LOT more to share. So stay tuned!..

5ABB2107-CC1D-4840-8957-D8BF9B8113BA.jpeg

In the meantime, here’s a food pic for you food lovers out there. Bali does not disappoint with their local cuisine!! 😋

hr.png

Recent Posts


hr.png

hr.png

Sort:  

Judging by your post, I could deduce that your Sunday has been going on well. Do have a great week ahead

Most definitely! It’s been an amazing weekend here. Hope you have an awesome week.

Congratulations @gbemy, each post I give away a free upvote from the @brandonfrye upvote bot and today's your lucky day. Thanks for taking the time to comment and participate in the discussion on my channel. I'll be upvoting your comment above shortly!! :)

Great photos! Love Bali and can’t wait to get back there in a few weeks :) How was the coffee?

I love your article the way explained about your experience. Nice shot of Lord ganeshji , giant swing and mouth watering pictures of foods. I am looking for next update ,thank you.

Yeah Genesh is everywhere here 😁. And those swings were a blast.

That park looks like a lot of fun! Too bad places like that over here are often not viable because of liability issues.

True. I was actually thinking about that while I was there. You’d have to sign all kinds of waivers in the U.S. We just handed them our money and jumped on lol

Awesome!!! Wow that swing looks so fun!! Those pictures do not disappoint! Glad you made it to Bali safely. Can't wait to see more pictures of the cuisine! So jealous of your amazing trip! lol

Thanks @mrchef111, it was a lot of fun! We need those swings in the states lol

hahaha I know right!!! Have you ever gone to the Ropes course in Flagstaff? I haven't been yet, but was invited to go this past weekend but couldn't make it. I always see friends posting about it. Seems like a cool place. No swings, but they have some ziplines. haha. Oh and up in Sunrise Ski Resort they have a huge zipline and other fun stuff to do.

I have heard about that coffee. Coffe is the beat so I need to put that on my bucket list!

If you’re ever on this side of the world I recommend picking some up. But even purchasing for $20-30 in North America is worth trying it. 👍🏻

Welcome back! We didn’t hear from you for a few days and thought you might be off the grid. Glad you got it to work (with extra effort) on your phone.

Definitely off the grid lol. There’s internet here but hardly useable for uploading pics. I’ll be back in China tomorrow so I’ll be able to catch up on everything.

pura bali nice place jadi pingin to bali again

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks I really like it here and can definitely see myself coming back.

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Kudos for putting up such a great post from your phone and using your phone data. I applaud and appreciate the commitment.

Thanks lol. If there’s a way I’ll make it happen. 😁

It must have been a great deal of work making this post with your phone, and that just screams commitment. Thank You! lol.

I really do love those giant swing, it must have been amazing trying it out. I do love the view around it too, so green and beautiful.

That coffee sure do have a long history behind it, but I am not sure I will love to try it tho. lol. Enjoy!

Lol gotta try the Kopi Luwak! 😂 I first heard about it from the movie Bucket List with Jack Nicholson. Ever since then I’ve wanted to try it. But I love me some coffee.

And yes, I’m used to commenting from my phone but not posting blogs. It’s takes forever but I can’t wait anymore. Too much to share. 😁

That's awesome!

I tried posting using my phone once, and it wasn't fun at all. Comments is all I use it for.

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

Hi @jeevanjot, you've posted this same comment on 15 other posts in the last 5 minutes. Also, you didn't upvote this post. And while I do appreciate you saying that my content is good, you seem to think everybody's content is good. Also, your upvote is not worth anything because your rep is 25 and your SP is still using the Steemit Inc. delegation. Plus, you're asking for people to send you money directly. Therefore, I can only deduce that this is complete spam and fraud, and will be flagged as such.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53