Scuba Diving in the Island of Paradise ๐ŸŸ๐Ÿ๏ธ๐Ÿก

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago

Untitled-1.png

A Trip Isn't Complete Without a Dive

We've been traveling all across South East Asia for 5 weeks now and there's no way I could head back home until I spent a little time in the water. Every trip that we do we find at least one place to go scuba diving. So for this trip what better place than Bali, The Island of Paradise!?

We originally planned to go south to Denpasar where most people go to feed their scuba addiction. But we met a tour guide who told us that the best place to go was to the East Coast city of Tulamben which is much quieter (away from all the tourists) and offers a better underwater experience. After looking online, we confirmed he was correct. Just off the shore of Tulamben sits the USS Liberty Shipwreck which is the most famous dive site in Bali. This US cargo ship was torpedoed by a Japanese submarine back in 1942 and ultimately was beached on the island. However, in 1963 Mount Agung (nearby volcano) erupted, which created incredible tremors, and caused the ship to slip off of the beach. It now lies on a slope in about 25 to 100 feet of water, creating a reef and the ultimate dive experience. We were sold... this was the spot for us!

We set off early in the morning to travel from Ubud to Tulamben which takes approximately 2 hours. We decided to do two dives: the shipwreck and a shallower ledge dive. Both were amazing! Unfortunately the pictures from my GoPro didn't come out as nice as I hoped, even with using the proper magenta and red filters. I did a little editing though and they're worthy of posting here lol. I'll let you be the judge though.

Pictures From Both Dives

scuba-us.png

Thanks to our dive master for this shot

scuba-me.png

Me creating a "candid" shot of myself swimming ๐Ÿ˜‚

scuba-boat.png

The bow of the USS Liberty Ship

scuba-fish2.png

Schools of fish everywhere!

scuba-angel.png

Butterfly Fish - these were one of my favorites

scuba-clam.png

This clam was huge, approximately 3 feet across

scuba-starfish2.png

Blue Sea Starfish

scuba-bigfish.png

Bumphead Parrot Fish - this one was at least 4 feet long

scuba-reef.png

Pink Skunk Clownfish hiding in a Sea Anemone

scuba-eels2.png

Garden Eel - From a distance they looked like kelp growing from the seabed


I'm hunting Steem whales!! ๐Ÿ‹

turtle.png

Giant sea turtle feeding by the reef

Post Dive Pics and Our Dive Master

I have to give a shoutout to Sea Hua Ha Ha Dive Center for taking great care of us and making sure we didn't miss a thing while we were under the water. They also fed us a delicious Balinese lunch during our surface interval. Check them out on Facebook if you're interested in diving in Bali. You can also reach out to our tour guide who planned everything for us. His name is Kadek Sudirta and his Facebook page is here. Not only did he take us to some really cool places around East Bali, but he also shared with us details about Balinese culture and the daily lives of the local people. Things you wouldn't necessarily get from your average tour.

Thanks for following along with our underwater adventure! If you have any questions about traveling in Bali, or planning tours, please let me know. Although we were only in Bali for a few days, we learned a lot about the geography, scheduling transport around the island, and what to watch out for while you're here. I'm glad to help with anything you need!

hr.png

Recent Posts


hr.png

hr.png

Sort: ย 

Nice pics! You should go on more travel adventures. lol

Lol, I've started thinking more and more about travel blogging. But I do like my time at home in the states. I think that that would be the best profession you could have. You would experience SO much and get paid for it! Win-win!

Sounds like a great trip and great dive. I am a scuba instructor in the states and love to dive, especially wreck dive. I have been all over the world but not to Bali. Looks like it goes on my list. Thanks for the report. Looks fun...

There's a lot of diving and surfing in Bali. I think you would have a lot of fun exploring the waters here. Btw, I'm not sure if you've been to Roatan, Honduras yet... but it's my favorite dive spot. For me it even beats Belize, and that's saying a lot. I also did some snorkeling in the Galapagos and I've NEVER seen so much underwater life as I did there. Tons of sharks. I can only imagine that the diving would be incredible.

Under the sea is truly a different world! Great experience!

๐ŸŽต "Under the Sea" ๐ŸŽต reminds me of the Little Mermaid LOL. I really love diving, there's no better way to escape from this busy world. :)

I would love to be able to travel outside of the USA. Thailand,Japan, china, Tibet.... so many places I want to see.

I say do it!!! Itโ€™s much easier and cheaper than you might think. Especially in Asia. Super cheap and most people speak English everywhere we went.

I liked all under the sea taken shot
Those photos were just beautiful. :)

Awesome!! Thanks, Iโ€™m really glad you like them!

Great photos, Brandon! Keept it up :)

Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜Š

These are some of the most beautiful photos I have seen, it feels as we are in the water with you.
God really made the earth the most beautiul place. We are both jealous as we can not travel or do things like this anymore. My husband told me about finding your site this morning and how impressed he was because you are trying to help people. I can assure you he made me watch the whole youtube video and we will try it our together. We have been married for 49 years and it has been wonderful. You should enjoy your youth as it does go very quickly but this seems such wonderful fun. The sea where we life since our retirement is also beautiful, but this seems like the most wonderful experience that any person can have. I really hope you enjoy your diving and rest of your touring I will also follow as it makes us so happy to enjoy something that others enjoy. We travelled a lot when we were younger, but really not as nice as these places you are showing us. Thank you for taking the trouble to post those beautiful photographs and have a wonderful day from the two of us.

Thank you @bigbear! The world really is a beautiful place, and it's so peaceful under the water. When you're down there you feel so far removed from all the noise of the world. Thank you so much for dropping by and letting me know how you found me. I hope you will continue to follow along as I have SO much more to share. :)

Such a motivating post, atleast for me. I love water and I am going to enjoy scuba experience this year in my country.

Awesome! Where do you live?

Pakistan ... I see privacy problem here www.steembottracker.com ... Might be an expired SSL.

You can message @yabapmatt with any issues concerning steem bot tracker. Heโ€™s the owner. But I just used it and seems to be fine.

very cute couples and awesome picture

@sojournx, thank you :)

Nice photography and great to see u sir .
its a great journy been far and hope you will support us more

Thanks Iโ€™m glad you enjoyed them! Itโ€™s been an incredible trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88