Steemit Needs Series: Please comment with your ideas to improve Steemit!! | E. 9 | July 14th, 2017 | Community Engagement | Archives to help Developers / Community.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi again everyone! I am keeping my word to keep the series going!

I would like you to comment with your visual aids or written ideas of what you think Steemit can use to improve the Community for features and why.

Comments sections here are GOLD as we know, some great TIL learning and tips usually pop up too here.


Part of the reason I do this series and share other things / series I do, is for the TON of new people coming to Crypto and Steemit daily, I mention this daily in a post or comment somewhere.

They need help and resources. They feel lost when they are Steemit / Crypto noobs. I know I did.



It's now several weeks or so after the latest big changes, the latest Hard Fork (HF) / the Steem Powering downs latest rounds, with some large power downs recently, many of those cashouts done and seeing some stabilizations, some bugs fixed and the latest hard Fork about a week ago!

The rewards pool is seeing a lot of changes again.......views and engagement still seem to be down and that is why I try to do so many posts / series to BOOST engagement.


It's OK to gather new ideas but if the same issues pop up, that is great too, because it will send the message that something is more important to the developers and Steemit Elders. My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members. I can combine them into one post later on if needed to help developers or members.

It is easily searchable also -- as I use the same key phrases / words etc. in the title to keep it searchable - more easily.

I was trying to pick good tags...... I decided to use the TIL tag -- hoping someone either looking FOR help on learning something -- or someone looking TO help on these things would comment! I thought about that one for a couple mins.



If you want to tag people or share it so others can comment and contribute also, that is great. I have my own ideas and see a lot of people talking about it, but as someone who is NOT - I REPEAT NOT! tech savvy like many of you, and who is relatively newer to the Blockchain and Crypto stuff, I know my role is limited to give ideas, I am just a Fat Minnow LOL.

But I have been an activist for years, I am used to building community and gathering info and trying to help so I guess you can blame the activist side of me for this idea which I think is a good one -- an INTENTIONAL POST on the idea, to gather stuff in one place and be easily searchable and findable for all the IT types and developers etc.

Just my way of trying to contribute. I did not even know for sure what tags to use in this post, and I actually spent 5 mins looking and researching the best ones in the past to try and use, before I posted this LOL. I will edit the tags ASAP if you give me better ones to use!!


Noobs can find the TIL or HowTo tags and nuggets here helpful, as I mentioned earlier here.

If we can get some good feedback going, we can use these ideas, all in one place and people can refer back to them. That's why E.1 / E.2 /E.3...4/5/6/7/8/9, etc etc - was in the title, I am hopeful it is helpful as a resource.



Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemitcampfire-series-weekend-11-is-tonight-just-a-reminder-and-runs-all-weekend-again-starts-in-a-few-hours-consider

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/steemians-5th-warning-do-not-use-poloniex-at-this-time-for-your-steem-and-sbd-transfers-and-maybe-other-things-here-is-why

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-ethereum-q-and-a-lessons-from-the-hard-fork-8-mins-super-practical

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/livestream-link-enclosed-for-big-bitcoin-meeting-tonight-in-montreal-eastern-canada-to-explain-all-the-segwit-uasf-issues-as

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/daily-digital-detox-a-steemit-community-life-series-and-reminder-or-e-25-intentionally-regularly-unplugging-my-quick-engagement

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/crypto-currency-market-cap-re-gains-usd11b-in-24-hours-epic-crash-gif-included-at-n-c-for-ya-community-based-engagement-resource



If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

I just wrote on the organizational issues this week here https://steemit.com/steemit/@aboutyourbiz/steemit-we-have-a-problem-wtf-is-with-this-organization-2017710t6949274z there are some comments from others there too.

Seems like a lot of the old timers have given up on having on site organization.

I think it makes a difference too if they want businesses to join like I write about here https://steemit.com/steemit/@aboutyourbiz/how-to-put-a-business-on-steemit-the-down-and-dirty-2017712t1094983z also this week.

Just some newbie thoughts and ideas.

I'd like to see an idea or 2 specifically, not just links dropped on my page.

I am using this as you can see if you read my post.... as a repository for future / dev use and reference.

Ok, in a nutshell in organization, give users the ability to create places to keep track of their posts by topic and also other users posts by topic. I used train cars as an example in my article. If I see a recipe I want to try later, I have to write it down or it's lost in 24 hours. Freight cars and passenger cars. Similar to Pinterest boards.

If I find an author I like, I want to browse their work for other things I might be interested in, but I can only see their recent work. They may have something awesome from a month ago but I'll never find it.

Or something awesome from 5 mths ago that was undervalued, undercommented on --- you might like this:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/re-changes-to-not-reward-steemit-posts-authors-after-30-days-etc-i-disagree-and-here-s-why

This looks like theft. Why did they essentially cut your pay?

If I upvoted that post, what would happen to the money I'm "giving" you? Isn't it created when I upvote?

Who benefits monetarily from the old posts accumulating as Steemit grows?

There is a copyright violation/infringement in here somewhere.

If a post is older than 7 days you cannot reward the post anymore. The money doesn't go anywhere it seems, the money that is attached to the post represents a share of the daily reward pool. I think the 7 day pay period is a good change, and don't think another pay period is necessary, but in the past there were two, one that paid roughly 24 hours after the post, and then one that paid 30 days after the first payout, but the problem I think is that these transactions need to be solved by some kind of limit, and having them limitless won't resolve the pay period and how that looks with the reward pool at the time.

You're right about the money not going anywhere. I just tried to upvote that 5 mo old post and the total did not change, but it looked like it accepted the vote. IDK

The problem I see with indefinite payout is that for a chance at making someone a couple more cents years from now or locking up steem in accounts long dead, we will have to compute another pay cycle for posts after the pay cycle each time someone votes, and then we have content that is new competing with the ever increasing amount of old content.

Resources for developers are absolutely dreadful and the build guides don't even work without modification, never mind the complete lack of a Windows build.

Voting power and reward distribution are still incredibly unfair despite the recent changes. It absolutely needs to be weighted so that they're more progressive (like tax bands) or this platform doesn't really stand a chance of going mainstream. Having such inequality has led to the platform being dominated by a handful of power users. For those that don't remember Digg, this is how social platforms fall into obscurity and die.

On this site, everyone votes for the power users because because they know those posts are going to the top and it's a self-reinforcing spiral which just sees those power users accruing more and more wealth at the expense of everybody else.

Edit: Another thing I just thought of. Given that steem can be used to send private message using the memo functionality, why can't we send private messages to each other on steemit?

Edit 2: Why do I have to visit a different website in order to view my voting power? Why can't I view it on steemit?


Steemy McSteamFace - A Steam inspired dark-coloured skin for Steemit

I just followed you because:

A million common sense ideas in one reply.

Mind blown.

Voting power and reward distribution are still incredibly unfair despite the recent changes. It absolutely needs to be weighted so that they're more progressive (like tax bands) or this platform doesn't really stand a chance of going mainstream.

Why and how is that true?

Having such inequality has led to the platform being dominated by a handful of power users.

You can always make a windows build, then fork the chain, and distribute the coin yourself, because you will hardly get anywhere if you think people are going to go along with anything that devalues their voting power.

On this site, everyone votes for the power users because because they know those posts are going to the top and it's a self-reinforcing spiral which just sees those power users accruing more and more wealth at the expense of everybody else.

People get a decent reward in curation first of all. The problem is that most of these power users EARNED their followers and their niches which gives them a clear advantage, and they deserve it, they worked or that after all. Some abuse those niches and crowds that follow them, but that doesn't say much of the community in general, as what others do by following the popular people doesn't harm the community.

The spiral is a spiral of ever better content and engagement.

Edit: Another thing I just thought of. Given that steem can be used to send private message using the memo functionality, why can't we send private messages to each other on steemit?

This was discussed before and it's a good question, I remember @l0k1 said there was a way to send private messages/encrypted through the memo. Maybe someone here know more or l0k1 shows up.

Edit 2: Why do I have to visit a different website in order to view my voting power? Why can't I view it on steemit?

I think they don't want you to worry abut those things.

Voting power and reward distribution are still incredibly unfair despite the recent changes. It absolutely needs to be weighted so that they're more progressive (like tax bands) or this platform doesn't really stand a chance of going mainstream.

Why and how is that true?

Because the voting power and reward distribution concentrates voting power and reward to those who already have the most. A handful of people currently dominate the site and their power and rewards are only going to increase even faster compared to those with less power. This domination by power users destroyed digg and saw most of its users switch to reddit. Mainstream users will not accept that domination of this site by a handful of people and that domination is blatantly obvious for everyone to see.

You can always make a windows build, then fork the chain, and distribute the coin yourself, because you will hardly get anywhere if you think people are going to go along with anything that devalues their voting power.

Have you even tried following the guide to do a linux build? The guide is wrong. What chance do I have of creating a Windows build when the developers can't even create a working guide to build it on Linux?

If those at the top are not willing to give up their power, then the site is doomed to failure and they can circle-jerk amongst themselves about the price of steem being $0.001 USD.

People get a decent reward in curation first of all. The problem is that most of these power users EARNED their followers and their niches which gives them a clear advantage, and they deserve it, they worked or that after all. Some abuse those niches and crowds that follow them, but that doesn't say much of the community in general, as what others do by following the popular people doesn't harm the community.

Followers have nothing to do with this. People upvote the power users regardless of whether they're following them or not. The reason for this is blatantly obvious - to maximise curation rewards. These guys didn't need to earn their voting power, they simply used their wealth to allow them to mine and purchase steem. You don't even need to bother voting manually either as there are plenty of bots that you can setup to do that for you.

It's not that these power users are abusing the system, it's that the system is a flawed design which funnels even more money to those at the top than traditional financial investment systems. That's simply how the system was designed. Lots of people called it a blatant scam because of that and refuse to use the site.

The spiral is a spiral of ever better content and engagement.

No, it's one where those with the most voting power (from mining and purchasing cheap steem) get richer far more quickly than those with little voting power. You may think you're going to be a whale one day but not under the current rules you're not. When you've increased you're voting power by 100x, the whales will have increased theirs by 1000x making the gulf even greater. Relative to whales your voting power is actually decreasing.

Like I said, if this platform is to stand any chance of going mainstream, the rules have got to be changed to more evenly balance voting power.


Steemy McSteamFace - A Steam inspired dark-coloured skin for Steemit

Steemit needs to allow posts to be rewarded forever and not just for 10 days. Maybe this will kill the rewards by adding more and more payouts on old posts over the life of Steemit, but it really kills the value of potentially great posts. One major advantage youtube has at this point if Steemit is looking to compete with them.

I agree. A "Best" tab could be useful.

This would be a step. It would provide exposure for people who create great content!

I have agreed and posted replies, and actual blog posts right on this subject.

One of them was on @dantheman / @dan's blog months ago --- he was a co founder of Steemit.

He is basically a genius. He disagreed though.

Do you remember his reasons for not wanting to do this?

Not exactly -- it had to do with the rewards curve/pool stuff again and tied it to the fact 99% of posts die off or do not get a comment even a week later.

If you look up my post on it, it was pretty detailed on that standalone subject.

I still get comments on posts months old, I know others do also.

Steemit keeps all the content, but we create it. The contents builds the site and I said we are all content creators, like authors or movie screen writers etc, -- their content does not have an expiry date for getting paid, was my main point.

I agree. I've posted and before I knew better, upvoted posts from months ago (guess it doesn't really matter as it doesn't effect anything). I'd be interested if youtube vidoes back up these statistics. Also, while that stat may hold true for posts about current events, I would think timeless posts (such as how to posts or guides) continue to grow pretty strong with time.

Haha I could go on and tried to find your post with no luck, but done beating a dead horse.

TY for the effort and dialogue today, I did appreciate all this.

I was AFK a few hours, got back in awhile ago, got my weekend series #SteemitCampfire post up and found it for you, you really might like this post a whole lot.

It was way undervalued and under commented on.

5 months ago:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/re-changes-to-not-reward-steemit-posts-authors-after-30-days-etc-i-disagree-and-here-s-why

Hi @Barrydutton,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

Awesome!

I am sure lots of people reading my stuff say WTF also.

LOL

So who owns the copyright? These articles are found by google searches and steemit benefits and grows, but not the author? And most posts go on to oblivion not having made much of anything.

You are on the "money" there with this comment.

Maybe people need to talk a little more about copyright law

You are right bro
In you tube we have more probality of earning then steem
Because our content is monetized for lifetime in YouTube but here we have only 7 days chance to earn whether our content is good or bad

Yeah I'm thinking about just making youtube videos and posting them on here with a short write up. It saves me time on steemit not typing a post and it provides more value for me and the content I'm creating.

Great best of luck 👌👍

The could have a function lowering author rewards with respect to time that converges to 0. Say after 10 days author rewards have a half life. It may be computationally expensive to track rewards for that many posts.

I'm not saying it will be easy nor am I saying it will be worth it, but however expensive difficult to track, youtube makes it happen.

In my opinion Steemit needs a lot of improvements. For example lately I don't get notifications when someone replies to more or something new shows up in my feed, does anyone have the same problem?

This problem happened earlier as well :(
Everyone is facing the same problem however people using esteem are getting notifications

Yeah same here. If I do get them they are very random.

That ongoing issue comes and goes, so I am glad you mentioned it again today.

TY for the input!

What about a language filter ? For non-English speakers. What do you think about this idea ?

I agree, I have said this myself previously months ago as well as seen others say similar, so when good ideas keep repeating, I would think it should be on the list.

That is one thing I like about Steemit -- it is really global.

I really admire all the people who fight thru the language barriers here - having everything keyed for English first.

Seconded @reislad. Seems like a real downfall of Steemit right now and I've questioned the same thing about why there isn't a translate post button.

hello @barrydutton, My opinion of how steemit can improve! I would like steemit to make a kind of guide, it can be images or videos, regarding how to grow on this platform! How to create post of better quality, which are the most specific missions, such as withdrawing funds. In a few words to give the community certain goals! I for example am new, and to be able to find out how steemit works I had to ask for third party opinions! However if steemit could make the corresponding guides everything would be much better. Greetings I hope my comment will help you, I follow you brother, I hope so too, thank you

Best advice I've found for new Steemians. Comment Comment Comment. Make sure your comments are good quality (don't just spam). Find a group/community to grow in. You can join #teamusa, #thl, #teamaustralia, or join the minnowsupport project. All great communities I've found. Post about things you enjoy and not just things that you think will make you money. Goals are to increase the value of steemit by doing said above things and creating new communities for topics you enjoy that might not have communities yet. I think steemit doesn't do this beacuse they want you to find people who make great posts about the topics you were just talking about to get you to discover great content creators.

Ok, what does join a group mean? Take Minnie support. Someone commented I should go there and join it. I went, but there is no place to join. Is joining following the page? If it is then people should say go follow, not go join. Words mean things.

For new people especially, it's not clear how to do what is suggested in "joining" a group. And how does following a recommended page help? That is not clear to a new comer.

  1. The value of whale upvotes needs to be nerfed more, and minnow votes need to be worth more. Right now I'm practically obligated to pay for whale votes, which makes them richer without having to do any work. God knows how many whales are scamming the system by upvoting themselves and other whales. It's only a matter of time before a handful of millionaires buy up a ton of Steem and aggressively scam the system.

  2. I'd like a dedicated profile page, not just a banner.

  3. I'd like a table of contents page that gives easy access to users posts, preferably organized by topic.

  4. The site needs more community building tools, like the ability to join tribes or circles or communities. These communities should have their own profile page and member list as well.

Communities have been said officially they are coming, for months. I suspect sooner than later now for sure.

Lots of great input there, thanks for taking the time for this

I am following you now!!!

A better way of finding older content under a tag. Not sure anymore what a good solutions is. Site moves to fast everything just gets lost in its own noise. Expect for the small minority.

Agreed 100%.

It seems some days the only tags being seen are what the site seems to WANT to be seen for trending tags.

Ive always been a say how it is guy or exactly how I see it... Everything is worse since the fork...

I would have to say I agree completely. I had a feeling this was going to happen.

Congratulations @barrydutton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

LOL

I publish 4 posts almost every day and then some LOL!

Thanks bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88