Steemit, We Have a Problem! WTF is With This Organization?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

One of the biggest problems with Steemit from the perspective of possibly nearly half the people here, by that I mean people who have only recently joined in the last couple months, is that the ability to organize things is non existent. I figure people who have been around longer have either adapted some how or given up on organization.

As of this writing I have been on Steemit for 24 days. I already have a shit ton of posts in three piles, one called Blog, another called Comments and the last one called Replies. Now I suppose this works for keeping up with conversations, but it’s terrible for long term organization. And Steemit wants people to be long term, don’t they?

If I want to go back to one of my posts I have to scroll, and scroll, and scroll through my posts and the posts I’ve reSteemed until I find what I’m looking for. Now if I’m already frustrated with this at 24 days, what about those who have been here for a year and have 10,000 posts? And what if I come across someone who has been here that long and want to look at their older work? I’d be scrolling for days. One Steemian who has created his own work around for his readers, after certainly a TON of effort is @creatr as described in this post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@creatr/introducing-my-steemit-library-a-better-way-to-steemit

But let’s say I do scroll for days and find something from six months ago that answers something I need right now. I want to reward them but the time for paid upvoting is long passed. I wasn’t around six months ago and cannot reward this author now. Unless that author somehow monetized their post with Google Adsense, (barf), some kind of affiliate program or product for sale, they can not earn on their work for more than 7 days. But no one is likely to see their work either. Unless their post starts showing up in Google search...

I can’t organize other peoples work if I want to refer back to it either. There may be a recipe I want to try, or a how to article I want to do in the future. If I want to have access to it I have to bookmark the link in my browser, copy the link to a file I keep on my hard drive, or gasp, write a recipe down on paper. Better yet, maybe I’ll just go follow the Steemian on YouTube... if they even have a channel. So this cutting edge technology called Steemit is going to make me go old school and write down a recipe? Apparently.

I know there are people who work on apps and websites, and plugins that can help people do things when Steemit falls short, but this is not something you can work around and stay on site. I’ve heard someone is working on a browser plugin, I’ve heard there is a wordpress plugin so you can automatically post from Steemit to your website, which does have a place, but this needs to be addressed right here. And I have an idea.

On a similar but side note before I tell you my organization idea, I’ve also noticed that as a new user there are many topics that you don’t learn about unless other people are talking about it. Many of them important like how things work around here. One topic I addressed myself in this post: https://steemit.com/steem-help/@aboutyourbiz/want-something-you-don-t-have-follow-people-who-do-have-it-to-get-what-they-got-both-in-steemit-and-in-life is the whole follow issue. New people need to know.

I had also experienced what I could only call a whale drive by. I had a post that suddenly made over $100 but did not have the views to match the votes. I found out just today in this article: https://steemit.com/curation/@jerrybanfield/upvotable-day-1#@aboutyourbiz/re-jerrybanfield-upvotable-day-1-20170709t210512024z by @jerrybanfield that it’s a way of curating articles to encourage and help us little guys. It was encouraging for sure.

But people who invest their time to produce a quality piece want people to see it. Yes, we want to get paid, but there is a satisfaction factor when your content is seen and appreciated. That’s where slave drivers like @merej99 I mean, er, compassionate people like @merej99 invest their time in people by creating challenges like this: https://steemit.com/challenge/@merej99/putting-my-money-where-my-mouth-is-a-community-challenge#@merej99/re-aboutyourbiz-re-merej99-re-aboutyourbiz-re-merej99-re-aboutyourbiz-re-aboutyourbiz-re-merej99-putting-my-money-where-my-mouth-is-a-community-challenge-20170709t062326644z

I bring these up to say it would be beneficial to have some of this stuff explained, or links to explanations that can be read when a person first starts, like maybe a recommended reading list. The example posts above may be past their lifespan next week, but still potentially valuable to new people.

Now back to our regularly scheduled programming:

First, to solve the organization problem, we can steal an idea from Pinterest. Pinterest users can create their own boards so they can organize their pins by topic or however they want. So the functionality we need is to be able to create some kind of storage area.

Here’s what that could look like to the user. Since Steemit is often compared to a train, and Steemit would be the engine, users need to be able to add their own cars to the train, how ever many they want/need. Freight cars can be added for the content they have created. So if I want to write about training dogs, I create a freight car for all my dog training posts. If I want to write about how to garden, I can create a garden freight car. This way too, when someone comes along three months from now and wants to know about dog training, they can see my dog training freight car and not have to see my gardening car. Freight cars should be able to be partitioned too, so that if I have a
photography car with all my pictures I share, I want to keep mountains together and beaches together each in a separate space.

Similarly, a user needs to be able to create passenger cars. The passenger cars are for keeping access to other authors posts. So I can create a recipe passenger car, divisible to keep dessert separate from main dishes, if I want to collect recipes to try. Or a Crypto car or a gardening car. And sometimes the gem is in a comment on a post, so we need to be able to save the comment in the cars.

Second, authors need to be able to monetize their older content. Whether that be an ability to go back and edit to add outside monetization or...

What if an author could periodically re-publish their older content? This may already be possible in terms of an author just doing it because it’s been a while and no one would likely notice, but what if...

What if you could re-publish your content, once a quarter, twice a year, whatever the interval, but it only went to the feed of people who were new followers since the last time it was published? I don’t know if that would be beneficial or not since new users don’t have much voting power, but maybe it gives someone who knows more an idea? The point is, there should be some way to make money more than just once on a post. People who do this in other ways, like their own website, are looking for residual income, which doesn’t appear possible on Steemit as it is now.

So these are some thoughts from a new user, hopefully if enough others agree, someone can make these suggestions happen or knows someone who can. Or takes the ideas and makes them better, I’m down for that too.



(Banner by @son-of-satire)

Photos from https://www.pexels.com

#minnowsupport

Sort:  
Loading...

No offence but I wish you could have condensed this a bit, I felt it "going off the rails" few times, what if we stared with a forum style pinned post in a help section, would we have to give people the power to pin things whether to their own blog or people with hogh reputation to topics

A help section of some kind is a great idea. Maybe there is a way to vote them sticky

Thanks

There was a bit of an uproar when we switched to one payout at 7 days. When I first started it was a payout after 24 hours and then a second after 30 days. I still have mixed feelings about that.

IF I was more organized with my own material, I would be posting my Steemit blogs on my website. Actually... I've automated the process to send my blog to my WP site and save in the drafts folder. I do that because WP doesn't like markdown! sigh

So, I've got a lot of evergreen posts that I still need to re-edit on WP with lots of helpful, searchable tips for new people but... I'm never there anymore!

Ahem! I prefer "task master" LOL

Now get back to work! < wink >

yeah it seems if you're going to use your own blog, it should get the content first, but that's not what Steemit wants. And I don't see much linking to outside sites much more than credits.

I try to write evergreen posts which hopefully stand the test of time. I've even noticed a lot of new comments on posts that are nearly a year old and it surprises me! I wonder how they found it? Google search maybe? I think a good compromise is to allow content creators to select (at least) 10 posts that could keep earning in perpetuity. But having a proper profile page is probably necessary to keep that shizzle organized.

I'm noticing a lot of steemit old timers don't have much hope. They've been singing about change for too long w/out results. Hoping new voices joining the choir makes it louder so it gets heard. We can hope, as long as we don't start preaching to the choir ;)

I am ever-hopeful. We've got some bugs we need to sort out. We've got a lot of voices clamoring for change; a lot of people saying "I WANT" but don't come up with solutions. So... we hardfork, experiment, and see where we land. It's not a bad thing. In fact, as uncomfortable as change is, I've seen my Estimated Account Value rise and fall but I'm still making 100% more than on any other site. No complaints here. My tip: Leave your expectations at the door and just create. That is what keeps me in my happy place even if the sky is falling.

My biggest deal is the organization. Don't like chaos, and I can't provide technical solutions, but I thought I had a pretty good conceptual solution.

Leave your expectations at the door and just create

My thoughts exactly

OMG - this is me:

what if I come across someone who has been here that long and want to look at their older work? I’d be scrolling for days.

I like your 'Pinterest' organization idea - I think that would work very well here. Yes, I agree, it would be SO nice to earn on old posts / comments. Thanks for sharing the suggestion of The Library :)

Yes, I believe there is a lot of great content here that gets buried never to be seen again, much may have never actual been seen by more than one or two people. Residual income. Authors get royalties on their work when people buy their books, photos, etc.

Thanks for the feedback on the train car idea, I kinda like it myself ;)

Hey @aboutyourbiz, We feel your pain :-)

I have engaged in a lot of conversations in posts about this topic in the last 2 weeks over on the @steemitblog account and other long-time member's posts. Everyone who is serious about the long term has these same concerns.

In short, we use tags in our posts, so we need a way to sort our follower feeds and personal blog feeds by those same tags. (your train cars) And a repost function is still good even if the new crowd are "minnows". In the long run they could become dedicated followers, who over time have more vote power to support you. I honestly plan to repost a few of my good posts with steemit/community type content again in a month, now that I have more of a following. Before I was posting to nobody. lol Things I know others can use, not just my flower pics, and I will add a note that they are updated re-posts when I do. :-)

I'm sure with all the chatter the Steemit Gods are listening and will adapt as we go along. HF20 is already in the pipe to solve some of the new accounts abuse issues and other items, so we'll see what comes after that.

Thanks for reading AND responding. I hope someone who can do something hears.

Steemit will have trouble going mainstream otherwise, in my opinion

I agree, a few little additions will go a long way to creating the perfect blogging community - and with rewards.

You make some great points @aboutyourbiz! The search in steemit needs to made easier. On your aspect about monitizing, I think it works the way it is. If you really like an older post you can send that author steem directly through your wallet :)

Also, the reason why we do not repost is because all content on steemit is original. If you post it again is kind of copying something that already exists.

Hope you have a great day! :)

Thanks for stopping by and giving feedback. Good idea on paying the author of an old post, someone also mentioned to comment on the post and when they respond upvote them then.

THat is also a great idea! Thats is of course hoping they reply to you :)

And therein lies the rub

I'm getting overwhelmed, didn't take the time to read the comments before posting...not like me.

@sgnsteems great idea! about the wallet thing..I may have plagiarized myself the other day. :-/

@cryptologyx be careful about plagiarizing. @steemcleaners can flag you and that doesn't help your reputation. So be careful :) there are accounts looking for copied text. If you get information somewhere, make sure you cite the source. Take care!

@sgnsteems oh I'm pretty original on my own, verbosity is my middle name ...and the TLDR community will never know my last. ;)

Thank you for your concern...pretty sure they're letting it slide...or I could just go delete my original comment on another's post...that turned into a post of my own...but I did cite back to it.

~smiles fer miles~

You should be good, my friend. it's usually repeat offenders...or people who just copy "news" from other sites and post as their own.

Lol Verbosity is your middle name, and cryptology your first right? :)

damn...on my feed I read you should be my good friend ... I teased myself ;p

Yup...with an x...but you'll never guess my last name...'n it ain't Stiltskin..or VanWinkle so those guesses don't coun't...you have one left. If you guess wrong, all of your hair will fall out...if you guess right...it will all turn to gold. You decide if you still wanna play this game. ~smiles~

You can be a friend! LOL i apologize, I forgot a comma....see how important punctuation is?! lol

Yeah...it's a hoarder's wet dream in here...at least we can't smell all the corpses.

I like the thoroughness of your writing, something the TLDR community will never get...their loss. ;)

One thought reading this...seeing as we have no choice but to work with what we have...is ; if you find something that's gone past the upvote date and you wan't to reward someone as a thank you just go to an active post of theirs and upvote that.

You can choose to do it without a comment, or you could even comment with a simple thank you...or add the link to the article the kudos are coming from. I don't think too many Steemians would mind this kind of off topic comment.

Alternatively you can add a short note to a donation directly into their wallet. I'm unsure how many characters are allowed in this situation.

Just a few thoughts while reading your post. Nice work!

Thanks, great idea for the authors, challenge is finding the old posts :(

And call me a loser, but I don't know what tldr stands for lol

Hahaha...wasn't sure myself until someone used it regarding one of my own posts...after staring at it for 30 or more seconds and the context it was given the light came on...TLDR means...or I believe it means... too long didn't read...kinda polite to say so don'tcha think? ~smiles~

wow.

omg if ur still reading in 25 yrs wordz will look different don't u think?

haha...I never stop thinking...sure wordz will look look like this...wrdz...maybe.

Never suggested my thoughts had any quality content to offer though. Not for me to decide. ;)

yeah I'm not that well versed in text speak. And humor is always quality, to someone

just about missed this...I rarely text...and when I text...I only text to those in Canada. Lol...I don't do memes neither hahaha.

Yeah...funny is funny that way;)

hmmm about seeking old posts...do you know the author and the subject matter you seek? If so just use their steemit name and a few words (less is more) and the search tool here should zone in for you pretty good. G'head...try it! ;-)

Actually it's more like you come across someone you might be interested in and want to browse their stuff. The search can be helpful, but you can't be a mind reader.

look at it this way...search the key words you're interested in and you'll find like minded Steemians more quickly? Read your mind. <3

Sure that helps find people, but it's like going into an antiques store and there is nothing to browse through and having to go to the cashier and say I'm looking for something I don't know what it's called but I'll know it when I see it. Odds are you don't walk out with the whatchamacallit

I do hope a work around can be made then, I guess I'm just used to making do with what I have in front of me.

Always been that way, always do my best...or I don't...sometimes it's hard to tell which is which. I have learned to be more patient though...and that's a huge win to me.

Off to get my micro brewery post finished and posted by tonights deadline...don't want to disappoint the teacher @merej99 ..she's a sweetie!

Enjoy, good to get to know you better.

~peace out...in~

we make do when we have to. Good getting to know you too, and yes, she is a sweetie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17