EP. 7: University of Greatness – 7 Things I Will Do Differently If I Have a Chance to Write a New Introduction Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Introduction posts with #introduceyourself tag on steemit is a popular culture that has been laid right from the beginning and it’s a nice concept for an interesting platform like steemit.

Just like any other steemit noob, I was eager to put up my introduction post and see how much I could make and the level of exposure I could gain as well.

intro

Steemit greatness begins with introduction post and most new steemit users screw it up right at that opportunity to gain the right people attention and just explode like a wild fire.

What constitute an Introduction post that will be successful or go viral on steemit and make a lot of money varies and it’s both functions of technical, financial and intellectual knowledge of the steemit platform.

In my case, I had one of the best write up for my introduction post because prior to that I had done a lot of research to see how introduction posts in the past that got breakthrough did it.

Starting on steemit I didn’t have any mentor nor was I in contact with anyone I could get close to and learn things from. However I manage to write an introduction post that made $8 and later dropped down to $5 after some price fluctuation in steem price.

billgate

Fast forward to this moment I’m tempted to review and see things I would have done better and differently if I am to write a new introduction post on steemit with the knowledge I have amassed so far.

1. I would use a professional and clear photos


I was in haste to write and publish my introduction post, I had join steemit for some days and did nothing while my days on steemit had already started reading like a Nigeria electricity meter.

I couldn’t wait for my Smartphone to be around because the screen got smashed and I sent it out for repair. I called on my junior sister and told her with excitement

“Bae, you’ve got to snap me some pictures right away because steemit is waiting for me to come and post something about myself and they will be paying me to do that so you get a tip too”.

She got up and gave those pictures I uploaded here.

But they weren’t cleared enough and in addiction to that, those pictures couldn’t get my own attention, how then can they get the attention of others? So if I have a chance to do another introduction post, I would definitely get some nice pictures from a good camera.

2. My post would be properly formatted


I don’t know anything about markdown text formatting language prior to joining steemit and upon joining, I didn’t feel the need to learn this dead-simple formatting language that could add glory to my posts.

I opt in for the editor and used the “what-you-see-is-what-you-get” formatting language to write my post which had limited text formatting options.

If I’m to write a new introduction post, below is some markdown formatting style I would use:

  • I would arrange my 11 reasons for joining steemit with order list like this example

I would center my images with the < center> </ center > tags like this example

I would bold the important words to emphasize my points with ** bold ** like this exmple

I would use underline --- to create sections for my post each like this example


I would use > to make quotes and mentions like this example

I would use [link here ] ( http://bania.com) to create beautiful and clickable links to other great resources I have found prior to writing my introduction post like this example

3. I would dream bigger and follow on my dreams quickly


I have always been a big dreamer right from childhood. Dreaming big for me is almost becoming a life style. Same was with me coming on steemit, I had big dreams to collaborate with the top guys of this community that I know then and put their names here.

So far, I have been able to attract the attentions of the people I had dreamed of having around me on steemit except for Jeff Berwick of @dollarviginate (please anyone close to this man to help me inform him, I need to have in my network :) ).

It’s not quite easy to have the attention of the right people but well I did and I won’t stop growing my network.

People I would love to connect with that I didn’t add in my introduction post because I didn’t know them yet then are:

@TrevonJ
@Craig Grant
@Jerry Banfield
@Team Steem
@sweetsssj

4. I would promote my Introduction Post


When a new introduction post is made, instantly it will get attention from some great steemit curators and users that are always browsing through the #introduceyourslef tag looking for potentially great steemit users to follow and support.

One could be carried away in the ocean of this overwhelming welcome and loads of response coming in and most minnows might not bother to promote his or her introduction post.

If my introduction post had little promotion in the appropriate places, I believe I would have at least gain steemit mainstream attention. Some of the places I would promote my introduction post if I have the chance to do a new one is:

  • Discord: I would join many steemit related servers and use the #post promotion channel to promote my post

  • Steemit.chat similar to discord; the most important thing is I would use only the #post promotion channel and wouldn’t spam other interesting places or else I will ruin my chances of getting the audience I want.

  • Facebook steemit group: there are loads of them I didn’t give attention to but they are good place to network with other great steemians and promote your own post.

5. I would think beside the box


Yeah while writing my introduction post, I was thinking outside the box and that gave me wide inspiration but if I had think beside the box I would have gotten even wider exposure. Thinking right beside the box might mean different things to different people.

But what it means to me is that: I would have checked not only on people I categorize as doing well on steemit and wanting them in my circle, I would also look for minnows like myself with much potentials that could benefit me more.

By thinking right next to the box I would not only check the wallet and profile of whales to know what they are doing by looking at the history of their transactions, I would do same for some great minnow ahead of me too.

By thinking right beside the box, I would have spend time immediately after publishing my introduction post going around steemit and dropping nice comments on introduction posts that look great like mine. That would have given me some connection with more great and interesting people.

I begin to do this only after my introduction post, I begin to look for minnows like myself with great potentials and interact with them and give them all my best support even if it little.

6. I need you to help me out with number 6 and 7


What will you do differently if you are to write a new steemit introduction post? This is the episode 7 of university of greatness and we need to make it seven points. I hope you guys will help your boy out.


If you like this post or feel I am doing something wrong that needs to be corrected, drop a comment below and if you enjoy reading this don’t hesitate to upvote and resteem


University of Greatness is a new blog series on steemit by @bania featuring combinations of motivational articles and stories of a young Nigeria boy sharing is experience and that of others as he journey through the school of greatness. Check out introduction episode here, episode 1, episode 2, episode 3 episode 4, episode 5 and episode 6. You can support me by following, commenting, resteeming and upvoting this post to encourage me to strive more for the best and share great stories here.

upvote

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @bania, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @earncrypto.

Greetings bania, I hope you enjoy it here!

I have observed that people get upset or frustrated when they ask someone to follow them, and that doesn’t occur. There was a reason, following someone was reserved for someone whom you identified with, or you enjoyed their posts, things of that nature.

That kind of following is almost negligible now, since everyone wants to be followed no matter what they have to offer. I have found a sort of solution.

Now days, I follow whomever I comment upon; no matter what. I ask too, that they follow me; I will up vote them as well, if they provide decent content. If I don’t really appreciate their posts, I mute them. Problem solved. So I will follow you, please follow me.

FYI: you actually get more rewards if you up vote others posts, and comment/reply to your own postings. In other words, the more people you help, the more people help you.

I, @carltong, have all kinds of information on my blog, including faucets for free coin. Check my blogs out for that data, as this welcome greetings is just that, a sincere welcome to the greatest social platform on Planet Earth.

I would share two more things with you; first and foremost AVOID BITCOINSBRAIN! It is a HYIP site that stole about $1000 from me. It is a scam. Here is my take on HYIP’s.

IF IT SOUNDS TO GOOD TO BE TRUE, THEN IT’S NOT TRUE!

I was so gullible on BitcoinsBrain, that I took all my other coins and invested them into this fund. I was still texting and sending messages a full two weeks after they quit paying me. I could not grasp that I had been ripped off.

Secondly, @jerrybanfield is perhaps the strongest Steemian on Steem today. Check his site out for a free tutorial on how to use Steem. I took it and have learned plenty.

I hope things go well for you on here and once again, WELCOME to STEEMIT!!!

Sincerely,
@carltong

PS: If you like recipes, try @nettikisses.

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks

This post has received a 9.62 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bania.

Some sound advise!!! I, myself, rushed into getting my introduction done and then getting my first posts up. A good point you brought up in here is to learn a bit first by obeserving, among others, others intro's that do well. Cheers :):)

Yeah, thanks for reading and dropping your thought

Welcome to steemit @bania., Keep working well, hopefully in steemit we know each other, to add friends from different parts of the country .. I am so glad you join here, I feel have a friend again, hopefully in this steemit we support each other With the best work we have, best regards @rerycore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56240.84
ETH 2996.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21