Things That Make You Love And Hate Being One-Year-Old Steemian

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was one year since I joined Steemit. Instead of some big celebration post about it, I decided to make kind of review of my past year on Steemit and discovered things that make me love and hate being one-year-old Steemian.

One Year On Steemit

Not only the day I joined or in those early days, but even a few months ago I thought when that first-year anniversary arrives it would be a huge thing for me with lots of success in behind. It turns out not.

Well, I'm not nagging. If there is anyone who should be blamed, then it would be me in the first place and nobody else. So, here are some facts about my year on Steemit.


I Didn't Post Much

In fact, I posted very rarely. When I divided 365 days of the year with the total number of my posts, it turns out I was posting one post approximately every 11 days. Although, it's not quite true. It would be great if I managed to keep that rhythm, but I didn't.

I had some more intensive phases when I would post daily almost a whole week, and then I would have a month or even two long pauses. My longest pause was about 3,5 months long. One of the biggest reasons why it took me so long to start posting again was the crazy downvoting war that was going around at that time. I really hate it so much that I didn't want to be even around.

So, I posted only 34 posts all together in the whole one year period, and I'm still just a Red Fish, the smallest fish in the Steemit ocean (if you are not counting dead fishes) and not even a Minnow.

However, it would be the part that I hate about being one-year-old Steemian as I believe I could do and achieve much more if I was more active.


Over 850 Followers

Despite all of that with those small number of posts I manage to gain over 850 active followers. Yes, I know that my profile stats show almost 1,200 followers, but having in mind that about 300 of them are in fact dead followers (what you may check by yourself with a Dead Followers Tool created by @mynameisbrian).

This is also one of the reasons why I have never posted some milestone post about reaching 1,000 or so followers as it would be a false claim in fact.

I don't know why or when those 300 followers "died." I believe some of them are old Steemit members who gave up of Steemit on the way for some reason, some maybe earlier, some later on. I also think some of the followers are those who don't post much or even at all but curate only in which case Dead Followers Tool recognize them as dead followers.

I think there are also some bot accounts who act the similar, therefore as well detected as dead ones. It's also possible that some members who were following me actually died as I remember a lady who had cancer and I don't see her anywhere around for quite some time. I hope those last ones are in the smallest number.

However, those over 850 active followers is something that I love about being one-year-old Steemian, and I'm greatly thankful to each of you for your devotion and every single vote or comment you were generously rewarded me with.


Original Content

I believe the reason for this relatively high number of followers in comparison with the low number of my posts, mostly lies in the originality of my content.

Maybe my posts are not so sensational for the majority of readers, but they are for sure original and my own. If nothing else, you may see that through my somewhat broken English, as English is not my first language.

On the other hand, I'm not the one who would post just for the sake of posting, and that's also one of the reasons why I didn't post that much in the past year. If I don't have anything to say there is not a newly published article and that's it. I know many might argue about that, especially those who are more or less pure profit hunters, and I can understand them, but it's not my cup of tea.


Whales, Orcas And Dolphins, Doesn't Swim In My Waters

Whale

In other words, my posts didn't catch much attention if any of those big fishes from the Steemit ocean. Why? I really don't know.

On the other hand, I wasn't hunting them also. I know there was even some sonar tool or so (maybe still is) that detects whales activity on the platform, so whales hunters would find out the best times when to post or what so ever. I didn't participate in this crusade. It was crazy to me.

I was thinking, even if I eventually manage to catch those big fishes how can I force them to like or be interested in something they are actually not, and more over I don't want to force them on anything they wouldn't do by their own will as it would be just another fake.

Orcas

Oh yeah, I've received many pieces of advice regarding this matter also. Like, do I know that majority of them are men?
OK - and???
The answer was: "Men like cheeks!"
Oh, I see! Well, if that's crucial I don't have any chances however you turn it around. As first, I'm not some 20-something beautiful young girl who would attract their attention with few lovely photos, and I don't think they would be interested to see the photos of some potentially soon to be a grandma. I'm also not Mrs. Robinson, and I'm sure they are not Emmanuel Macron type of guys.
Secondly, writing about some other cheeks just to catch some big fish attention, sounds even more crazy to me. Besides, I still feel very straight oriented to write about other women in that manner.

Dolphin

I was also told the big fishes like topics like beer, cryptocurrency, and sport, while all the rest more or less doesn't interest them at all. Great! No chance for me again.

What can I do? I don't like beer. It simply doesn't taste good to me. Can't help myself. I'm not saying I never drink it, but it's so rear, maybe once a year that it's not even worth to mention. So, if I'm going to make an article about how and why I don't like beer I could only attract their downvotes.

Regarding cryptocurrency, although the topic interests me very much but not being some expert on the field more the one who is still learning, I wouldn't have a lot to tell about it. Even less I would like to pretend to be some guru while my knowledge is more hollow than Swiss cheese. What I know - I know, but what I don't - I don't know!

I'm also not some big sports fan, although I like to watch all sorts of games especially when our national teams or players are playing. Once upon a time, as a young girl, while I was still in high school I was actively training volleyball, even being in one of the biggest (if not the biggest) national clubs playing for the junior league. But, I'm out of it now.

I even stopped taking my dancing classes last year when I heavily injured my shoulder not being able to move my arm for several months (literally) nor even having the strength to hold stupid TV remote control. I'm sure big fishes are not interested in my rehabilitation recovery story! And how could I blame them when I'm not even interested in writing it.


Steemit Challenges

I can't say I am a big fan of challenges especially not of some newer ones that recently appeared around. But there are some nice ones around which you could blend some story, and that would help you in inspirational dry days.

I like the most those fair competing ones where the challenge creator clearly states the rules from the very beginning. I participate in few of them. In some, I even managed to win some prizes.

The funny thing is, even I didn't win the award, the most exciting, entertaining, educational and rewarding in so many other ways was the one @merej99 organized about a month ago.

Divider

One Year On Steemit - Conclusion

All in all, with all the love and hate, I'm glad to be one-year-old Steemian. My account is currently worth about $500. It's something above the minimum monthly wage in my country, so it's certainly not the amount I could leave for the whole year. In comparison with some other one-year-old Steemians, it's certainly not some big money to show off around, but I still feel gifted with it, and I'm glad I had the opportunity to earn it by doing something (no matter how often) that I like.

I would have to work on my posting consistency and use inspirational days when my muse visits me and when I have a million articles ideas to write down instead only one, at least two or three of them and keep them for cloudy days, in a manner of seeing obstacles as opportunities.

Last but not the least and besides all being said, but most valuable in this past year is that I had a chance to meet and become friends with some people I would probably never come across otherwise. Priceless!


Posted on Wednesday, August 30, 2017


Photos: Source - Pixabay or own derivative work with photos from Pixabay

Sort:  

Great post my lovely little red fish 😎 Upvoted of course. Why are you not a minnow? By heart you are a whale, go hunting Ana, people love to be hunted by awesome ladies like you.

Thank you very much, Uwe! 😊
The answer on why I'm not a minnow yet it's quite simple. To become a Minnow a member must have at least 1 million VESTS or Vest Power, while I have something above 750K.
You may see how it goes on @arcange's post - here.

Interesting, another new segmentation, did not know that before :-)

Yeah, there are so many things on that Steemit that we can't sip it all at once. - I'm learning and discovering new (or some maybe old but new to me) things around here almost every day.

I have no idea on most (about all) the technical related things about Steemit.... Need to put more effort in studying of Steemit I think... :)

Well, to be honest, I don't think it's really crucial to know all or even most of the technicalities around Steemit, but some basic functioning staff would be good to know and understand.
I believe it's more important to focus on the content creation and quality, posting consistency and building relationships. I think those things are most valuable and most rewardable (even if it doesn't seem so from the financial aspect). 🙂

Well I think when we focus on our content and building relationships, the financial part will slowly follow...

I believe so too! 🙂

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Can you tell me please, @mandolincarls - where exactly did you resteem my post as I can't find it either among your posts on your blog or elsewhere???
MandolinCarls did not resteemed

The only resteem I received are those three shown in the photo below, which I had, BTW, quite some time before your arrival and posting the comment here.

Where is your Resteem

I enjoyed the post through ups and downs. But I think you underestimate a) what whales and Dolphins like and b) what YOU can do in terms of content creation. There is no need to be an expert in anything in order to share and inform others about something you have just read about.

I am happy that you enjoyed your time and that you feel gifted with your earnings. To me Steemit was from day 1 a chance to provide for my family in times of need. It turned out a life changer but you can imagine that I approach the platform very differently from you.

Thank you very much for your comment, dear @flauwy! 😊

Regarding big fishes (including whales) taste, I really can't say what they like or don't like. I don't know that. I was just saying what I've been told from some members who allegedly know those big ocean species.
However, it was at least my intention to underestimate them by any means. I was just speculating on a thought - What it would mean to me or for me if it would be true. 😉

In terms of content creation and what can I do or not do - I believe you are mostly right. There is only one thing as a barrier and that is my own set of criteria below which, sometimes it's very hard for me to go. As well, I don't want to be some sort of local (Steemit - besides, there are already some) news blog, where I would paraphrase, but in fact, just repost what has been already said on thousand other portals. At the same time, I'm not saying I would never do it as sometimes is good to repeat even the hottest news or give own point of view regarding it.

And finally, regarding your different approach to the Steemit platform as the one exceptional opportunity to provide for the family - I think I would have to turn my course much more in that direction and even start learning from you. 😉😊

Well, I am going nuts here which costs me all my time. Few people can afford that. So maybe I am not a good example of what everybody can do because that is simply not the case. I am rather an extreme case of Steemit user.

What you are saying about the own standards and quality barrier I can understand very well. I was always a perfectionist. But Steemit doesn't honor that, sadly. At least not when you have little reach. So I started to learn how to write in a way that I don't sit 8 hours on my posts. Of course I don't wanted to deliver poor quality or even spam. So I found a middle way of quality and quantity.

I don't want to be some sort of local (Steemit - besides, there are already some) news blog, where I would paraphrase, but in fact, just repost what has been already said on thousand other portals.

Of course not. But when you are reading 2 or 3 articles about one topic you can already deliver a cool article about that. Sure, it will not go in depths at all. But your reader most likely doesn't want that either. Instead a beautiful overview about the key points with some initial and final thoughs will usually already make a great article. You can create an article like that in 60-90 minutes including reading time. This is actually how all teachings in life work but we somehow developed the idea that only qualified teachers may teach us.

But that is not true at all. You teach to a certain point, raise awreness of the student who then can move on to the next slightly better qualified teacher. A neverending process until you become the wise master yourself - which is probably never.

So be curious and be bold and write about something you have absolutely no clue about. Might be a great experience.

You made my day, @flauwy with this comment. I saw it in the morning but was in a hurry and no time to answer. But, I was thinking about what you say almost all day long.

The problem (or maybe not) is not only that I don't want to spend the whole day in front my PC and on Steemit, but I also don't have time for that (at least not every day). And definitively I don't want to go nuts. - LOL

However, I think I'm going to search for the way you already found and...

started to learn how to write in a way that I don't sit 8 hours on my posts.

As well, if nothing else than for fun and curiosity, I would take your advice...

So be curious and be bold and write about something you have absolutely no clue about. Might be a great experience.

to see what might come out of it. 😉😊

Thank you for your post, it is good to hear about people's ups & downs on Steemit....it's not all roses and champagne, not by long shot.
I wish you well on your continuing Steemit journey

Thank you very much, @pqlenator! 🙂
BTW - I read your Mojito story yesterday but had to leave suddenly so didn't leave the comment. Will fix that today! 😉

Congratulations Rockstar, great content is more important as posting all day in and out low quality stufd.You are doing great. Wishing you a beautiful day.

hahahahaha - many thanks, @musicgeek! Although last few weeks have been so hectic for me that these days I feel more like dead fish than a Rockstar. - LOL 😂

Thanks for your thoughts. Got a laugh out of the Marcon comment haha

hahaha - yeah, I could also say Ashton Kutcher kind of guy insinuating on the times when he was married to Demi Moore
But Macron is way more attractive regarding that matter, at the moment. 😜

Doesn't matter if English is not your first language as long we can understand it :)..... Congratulations and keep going wish you more success :)

Thank you very much, @danzy!

Loved this post, can relate a lot. Even with original content, and doing it quite frequently, it is hard to get whales or fishes to notice you as the ocean, as it is getting bigger and bigger.

hahahaha - Yes, that's right. Although it wasn't any easier a year ago when the platform was just launched and when the "ocean" wasn't that big. 😉😊

Happy one year old!!! :)
I am never in hunting mode... Well actually I don't really know how to hunt for the big fishes...
I don't like fishing in real life too...
Almost the same as you, not into beer, sports... As for cryptocurrency, I think you know more than I do...
I like some of the challenges... To me, challenge is a way to interact and engage with old friends and making new friends...
Upvoted and resteemed... :D

Thank you very much for your additional support, @elizacheng! 🙂

Thats a great achievement. Good days about to come. Patience is all we need

Thank you very much, @travelnepal - although I don't think it's some great achievement. I more hope, as you said the good days are about to come.
Regarding the patience, and having in mind my current wallet stats, if it would go on in the same rhythm I would have to live at least 300 years to achieve some more serious money. 😉😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.34