Two Interesting Steemians I Found

in #steemit6 years ago

I've read great things about the Pay It Forward Curation Contest (@PIFC) which is in its 25th week already, a contest to promote original content authors with reputation 55 or below who aren't getting much attention. I recently came across these two steemians and considered featuring them for my first entry, but I couldn't feature them for one reason or another. So, I'll just write about them here instead.

Philip Kavan

@philipkavan is a young blogger from Dhaka, Bangladesh, and is on Steemit since August 2018. I first ran into him (or rather, he ran into me) when he commented on my post where I said I had received help to buy my Steem Monsters starter pack, and he said he had previously written talking about how he had won a card in a giveaway, but gotten devastated when he found out that players need to buy a $5 starter pack to be able to play the game. Then I went to check his blog. He mostly writes blog/diary style posts talking about what happens in his Steemit life, as well as the happenings in his offline life. He writes in a casual and sincere way, and adds his personal touch even to shorter posts. I think he's on the right track, but he's barely getting upvotes or comments in his posts.

His Steemit life posts include his story of how he almost fell to an abuser's fake "introduceyourself" post, and then GTG came to the rescue:

His offline life posts include his struggles with the scorching heat:

And also an original fiction he is writing, titled, "The Boy Whose Life Fell Apart," which currently has two chapters.

I wanted to do something to help him so that he gets more recognition, and eventually reaches the goal to buy the Steem Monsters starter pack to join the game. But as a small fish myself, there isn't much I can do. Then I remembered about the Pay It Forward Curation Contest (@PIFC), where he could get some help from the community, and I thought of featuring him. But someone beat me to it, and I didn't get to feature him. Well, I'm glad that there are more people trying to help him out. I hope he wins something in the contest!

Bekahluu

Still looking for a steemian to feature in PIFC, I found @bekahluu. She is a woman from New Zealand who is living in Australia. She joined Steemit in June 2017 (here is her "introduceyourself" post), but hasn't been getting many upvotes, much less comments. Her posts talk about what happens in her life, with pictures and nice descriptions. She is currently on vacation in Japan, and visited a Pokemon Center! As a Pokemon fan myself, her post grabbed my attention immediately.

pokecenter (1).jpg

Image source: picture taken by @bekahluu, found in her post linked below.

As much as I would have liked to feature her in the Pay It Forward Curation Contest, they have a minimum 200 words requirement for featured posts. While her posts are well-written, they are around 150 words, and this means I can't feature her. So, here she is.


This post was published from Steempeack.com (@steempeak), and uses the "beneficiaries" feature to share this post's rewards with the featured steemians. Once this post pays out, 10% of the rewards will automatically go to @philipkavan, and 10% will go to @bekahluu. I know it isn't much, but should be better than nothing!

Sort:  

@aiyumi cool to learn about Pay It Forward Curation Contest! Gonna have to figure out how this works...do I follow the page and to submit to contest rules? I haven't been on Steemit for 2 months because my Macbook broke with the black screen and so just back onto Steemit now! :) Anyways upvote your post to support, come check out my posts when you have time as well always welcome feedback

Thank you for the support!

Wow, what a coincidence. I had checked your blog just yesterday, but there were no new posts since two months ago. Welcome back!

Yes, it's just follow the contest's page and read the rules, but the deadline to submit entries for this week is already over (Saturday, or in other words, today at the time I write this). You'll have to wait until next week. I think it's around Tuesday or Wednesday that a new contest starts. Follow or keep checking @pifc for new contests.

In other news, Dlive has given up on STEEM and will migrate to another blockchain, which is really disappointing... everyone's been angry or upset about it these last few days.

Thanks @aiyumi for the heads up! Yeah I noticed Dlive is moving onto another platform so I have heard some rumbling indeed....I guess for me though I typically don't use Dlive so it doesnt really impact me per se....but I have no idea why Dlive decided to make that decision. Yes I'm back and I miss reading your post so I'm back to support you :D Hope you're well, anything new happening for ya? Gonna go check out another post of yours to support

About Dlive leaving: I read this post with some views on it. The way they left uh, well, doesn't sound good...

https://steemit.com/dappsofsteem/@aggroed/dlive-usd20-000-000-and-dapps-of-steem

Dlive left w Steemit delegation n lots of money from each Steemian user? How does that even work? I’m so fossil age on steemit platform...what is even steemit delegation n how does it relate to DLive? I’m such noob lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aiyumi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@aiyumi - Wow, thanks so much for sharing my posts! And also for considering me for the Pay It Forward Contest. It's a shame I fell short with the word count, but it's really great to know that there are people out there who genuinely enjoy my posts. I hope to continue adding quality content and pleasing more viewers.
And well done to @philipkavan - keep it up 🙂


Your support is much appreciated ✌️



P.s. If you liked my Pokemon Center post, keep an eye out real soon for my one on the Pokemon Cáfe 😁

Oh, so you actually found my post! :D

My support isn't much, but I'm glad you appreciate it.

I'll keep an eye (or in my case, an ear because my eye doesn't work right XD ) out for the Pokemon Cafe post.

Sorry,I have been way from steemit for sometime.I am trying to come back after HF20 update.I also think I need to focus more on my writing.I will write less from now on.It is a great pleasure to know that i have someone like you,always with me.

I feel lucky the day I stumbled upon your post and commented on that.Ever since then you are supporting me everyday.I don't earn a lot of rewards from steemit. But I think I have received so much from this platform.I have came to know people like you.

Thanks a lot for writing this post and sorry I couldn't notice it earlier.I really wish I found it earlier.Best wishes for you and love from me.

HF20 knocked me out too. Thankfully, it looks like things are returning to normal.

I agree with you on the rewards. I've been here for seven months, but haven't gotten much in monetary rewards. There's something about the community that keeps me here, though... the fun conversations and warm comments are the best rewards! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01