Steem on, but on your best behavior

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Why we should be doing our best on Steemit to create and support the best community and content, today.


lovesteemit.jpg
source - pixabay

The world is observing

As you may have read, observer.com produced an article recently discussing Steemit and @neds new venture, the Smart Media Token. This is the basis of my blog today, and you can read that article here

While, in my eyes, the article isn't exactly positive towards this 'not unprecedented' protocol in overall delivery, it does prove one thing - we are now in the spotlight here at Steemit, and we now need, more than ever, to get our community in order and make ourselves presentable to our as it were, future clients.

Steem has worked well for Steemit. We’ll leave it to readers to judge the quality of the content on the site, but its viewership is strong. Alexa ranks it in the low 2000's of global websites. source

Reading between the lines here, I'd say Brady Dale is not overly impressed with what he has seen.

Now this is only one mans opinion, and who knows just how long he spent looking through blogs on the run up to the release of the article on the 3rd October. He could have visited 'New', 'Hot', or 'Trending' to create his opinion, but in any case, this shouldn't matter.

Perhaps we can forgive our 'new' Steemians (I assume here that there are more posts from new users in 'New', than in 'Hot' or 'Trending' tabs) a short, visually unappealing first post or two - the Steemit world is vast, and there is much to learn.

However, there are few excuses for Posts that appear in 'Hot' or 'Trending', to not be of a certain quality. The only people to blame here are ourselves - not the CEO, not Steemit.inc, only ourselves.

Now is the time to bring your best

So what could you do to help make us awesomely appealing to say, a Company looking in at our 'proof of brain', proof it's working community?

  • Support new users. Tell them what could be better, post links on "how-to's", provide guidance, and solutions, be polite, raise their awareness of what is accepted and otherwise.

  • Flag the bad (racism, pedophilia). Hide the negative away from immediate on-lookers and try not to highlight it unless it's for the good of the community

  • Produce awesome content. View each post as something which could be seen by a market researcher, a publisher, the CEO of the New York Times.

  • Reward awesome content and awesome users. Lets see well written, well presented, up-lifting, and empowering articles in 'Hot' and 'Trending'. Someone looking in will no doubt go here first.



In a recent post by the awesome @surfermarly here, I'd like to share this paragraph with you:

You want to be part of a positive, contributive, supportive and wealthy community? Well then be positive, contributive and supportive in order to accumulate wealth.

It doesn't matter what number is next to your username, we are all responsible here and together we can ensure that when the likes of Brady Dale take a look inside our community, they see a prosperous and flourishing network and think, 'I want some of that'.

Thanks for reading today

Asher

Page-Break-7.png


Smart Media Tokens to kick ass in 2018

Use Case - Smart Media Token

Curation Analysis

Travel: Mallorca
Sort:  

This post has received a 26.67 % upvote from thanks to: @abh12345.
For more information, click here!

@abh12345 take part of the @minnowhelper's 50 SBD Contest. For more information, click here!

I like the phrase you used, "Treat this as though it were a client, you wanted to close a deal with." May I paraphrase? It's true! As a retired cosmetologist, really cool way of saying hairstylist, I learned early on that my best form of advertisement was through word of mouth! When a person has the ability to experience something exceptional, something out of the ordinary, they usually can't help but share their new expression of joy. Which is definitely a way to create a win win situation. Yet, the platform we have, if built not on solid, strong, positive foundation, of course, it will falter. And, as we know the World Is Watching....so, I know what I want my "word of mouth" to say.....Good! All good!
#cof

Thank you @umilayne for your kind words!

Word of mouth is indeed great for a small business in a local area. I did have a point in reference to that and Steemit, but it's gone - I've not slept too well and am clearly in need of coffee!

Thanks again for your input.

asher @abh12345

"Think globally, act locally"

Yes that sounds about right @molometer

Just noticed you are part of the promo-uk team - cracking work being done by you guys. Thank you!

My pleasure @abh12345 the promo-uk rocked the London Investors show. We were still talking with people hours after the event. Caused quite a buzz.

Your response and feedback is appreciated too.

This comment has received a 25.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @abh12345. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This is a great post with some really good tips on how to raise the standard of posts here on Steemit.

I don't really check out the hot or trending posts, but I do look at the new and the quality can vary quite a bit!

"The world is observing" - very true and quality will draw in more quality whilst the opposite is also true. We all have a duty to make Steemit the best social media platform there is, and team work seems very strong here, so this is so possible!

...quality will draw in more quality whilst the opposite is also true. We all have a duty to make Steemit the best social media platform there is, and team work seems very strong here, so this is so possible!

Exactly! We can do it!

Thanks for your kind words 😁 edit: and the resteem!

You're welcome! :)
I want Steemit to be filled with quality too, so the more we all resteem quality the more there will be out there to choose from!

And our CV will look nice and pretty for the outsiders looking in!

Great! Thank you :D

Indeed! :)
Thank you too - teamwork works! :)

Yes ma'am! I found a lovely post of yours from a couple of days a go to return the favor :D

Well bless how sweet and kind of you!
Thank you and may the good keep flowing! :)

You wrote: 'we are now in the spotlight here at Steemit, and we now need, more than ever, to get our community in order and make ourselves presentable to our as it were, future clients'.
You are so right. Just the other day my daughter called her brother @exyle with the message that Steemit was on the Dutch radio. I think that was the first time ever, but it happened and a lot of people heard it. When they take a look they must see good and interesting content.
The examples you gave at the end of your post are very important. I hope many people read them and act accordingly. Or as @surfermarly said: be positive, contributive and supportive". Thank you for reminding us, after all, we are all responsible.

Steemit on Dutch radio! This is great news!

Yes, this is the time for us to make ourselves look great. Thank you @clio for dropping and for the comments this evening :D

Super awesome call-to-action @abh12345! Thank you for leading a charge, stepping up, and guiding with love. Everyone, is indeed, watching. #LetsDoThis

Cheers @sean33paul

I see you are new to the gang. Good luck to you here!

Cheers! Awesomeness. I'm new to getting on the platform but been pushing awareness of it (and lurking, learning) for a bit :)

Yes I have noticed - and I commend you for watching and promoting the content you have thus far - this is a stylish approach and I shall be waiting for an initial post, when you are ready of course 😊

Awesomeness! I'm definitely playing around with a few things, I'm going all-in on #Steemit for myself and THE platform for @synergyspace growth :)

@synergyspace sounds interesting, i'm following both to see what your playing around produces :)

Put your A game forward any time you post, quality over quantity. I'm a firm believer that anything that is worth doing is worth doing fine. Keep steeming

Right on!

You never know who might be watching 👀

(I really enjoyed your post today but am low on fuel so sent some lovejuice over instead 🙂)

Thanks a lot. Got the juice. Loved it. You rock.

I help people with their hashtags almost daily. For example - if they have a post of a place - they should tag the city or the country.

If they post themselves cooking or eating a meal - it should be tagged with vegan or vegetarian if it is in one of those categories. It should also be tagged with howto and/or the type of food it is.

I can pretty much do this for hours if I feel like it by searching travel and food posts, but there are many more tags people forget to use.
Another one I suggest often is graffiti since I look at it often. That is a good one to put location and the tag graffiti since now you have two ways to be found.

No one is using the search term "life" outside of this nutty place :)

The tags make a big difference on outside searches and internal searches and using good ones that people search will increase payouts and your steemit visibility.

That's because you are a giver and not a taker 😁

I saw a post yesterday in which the author was asked to tag it with a couple of suggestions. Blocktrades had visited with a $75 vote, and I highly doubt it would have been seen at all without the tags. They are key if you want to stand a chance of hitting the jackpot!

Dang! Dreams come true! I will keep on my path...

Great to hear, enjoy the journey :D

yaaa goood ... I think steemit is a place for us to share interesting and POSITIVE content .. as long as users learn to respect each other and obey the rules of the steemit .

I'm glad to find out there are people who care about these things too, I had a bitter experience on one of my recent posts too, but overall the community is nice. It's very important to value people, over numbers and stats.
I'm new to this community and my goal here is to help everyone understand the inner-working of the new crypto-economy, I would love it if you read my articles and let me know what you think, any suggestions and feedback will be much appreciated.
Regards,
Amratesh

You know what @amratesh, as you asked so nicely and gave some feedback to my post, I am going to head over to your blog now.

I'm happy to see that, as a relatively new user, you are trying to lead by example.

Have a great day!

Thanks very much. :)

we should try to create it the best as we are the first one's here :)

That's right @blazing! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52