Lessons From Fellow Steemians: #4 - @for91days, @guchtere & @mrprofessorsteemCreated with Sketch.

Hello readers - welcome to the final on the lessons I learnt from directly speaking with or listening to our fellow community at Steemfest.

I decided to put these together because...

  • I figured that if I had learnt something from discussions with others, others within the Steemit community may benefit too.
  • Steemfest taught me about the power of the community on Steemit, and that's a wonderful thing.
  • A written post would exist forever, something that I can return to for reference at a later date.

@for91days, @guchtere & @mrprofessor in front of Krakow castle
vyoykatm4f.jpg

The final post in the 'Lessons From Fellow Steemians' Series

Over a week since #Steemfest3 in Krakow finished, I write up my final blog post in the series centred around the lessons I've learnt from my fellow Steemians.

This post, unlike the three before it, is not about a specific lecture or individal, but about a group of people to whom I owe a lot and am extremely grateful.

After discovering the world of Steemit, @travelfeed and Discord communities (the latter two after a nudge from Jurgen, AKA @for91days), I took the leap of faith to visit Krakow for Steemfest.

As a result, without For91Days, Guchtere & MrProfessor, I would never have decided to visit or indeed to meet so many of you, my fellow Steemians!

Joined by @daveonarrival, you have myself (@goodwithtravels), @for91days and @guchtere at Steemfest 3 on bowling night.
j2vib4rde6.jpgarticle

Dedication

The first lesson I take away from this Travelfeed trio is that of dedication to one's craft.

These guys work hard, both on and offline.

Take a project like @For91Days. Jurgen and his partner travel to and live in a different city for 3 months at a time (writing 91 articles in that period). Writing an article a day, preparing social media posts, video editing, searching Steemit, directing people on Discord and curating the content of others all takes time, effort and patience.

Not only this, but they run a number of other websites on top of this, covering everything from movies to online deals. Creating the lives for themselves that they want by working day in day out on their passion projects is, to me, really hustling.

These guys deicate huge swathes of their free time towards not only creating their own content, but curating that of others for the benefit of the masses.

Fun fact: @For91Days once had content featured in a Vampire Weekend music video - how sick is that? Go on, go give him a follow and you'll discover a whole realm of interesting content.

Jurgen trying climb an abandoned train to take some pics for his various channels.
tefrjs44n3.jpg

Selflessness

Generosity and selflessness are not necessarily words one associates with the world of blockchain (not in 2018, anyway), though there are flashes of both on Steemit.

For example, I heard in Krakow a story of one Steemian donating shoes to local children, paid for entirely by SteemDollars and their blog content. [So sorry to the Steemian whose name I've forgotten - someone please remind me in the comments below!] In any case, I love that story, and hope to emulate this during 2019 where I pledge to give away 50% of my Steem dollars to good causes.

The reason I mention this is that this selflessness runs through the veins of the @travelfeed ethos, particularly demonstrated by Remy, AKA @guchtere.

Remy and I enjoying chips and Zapiekanka, a Polish delicassy of toppings on a toasted bread base. I've not done it justice, it was delicious.
15g7yqzchg.jpg

He works extremely hard during the week (getting up at 4.30am), and dedicates countless hours of his life towards reading the content of others, curating it and promoting the content of others. He seems to be one of the few Steemians I've met who is genuinely not on the platform for the money, but for the interesting community that has sprung up.

Remy was incredibly quick to provide me tips and writing advice and even offered to teach me a few things on the more technical side to get myself and my project where I need them to be. He didn't ask for anything in return, nor do I expect him to, and that's just the type of guy he is.

Indeed, @guchtere is such a selfless guy that he probably wouldn't want me making such a big deal about his generosity. It's all true though, so do me a favour and give him a follow!

Remy, taking pictures on yet another abandoned train. It's almst as if we visited an abandoned train site...
u206qmua5j.jpg

Zest For Life

If you're looking for inspiration on 'seizing the moment,' look no further than @mrprofessor, or Arthur as he is known in the 'real' world.

He flew out from Brazil with a one-way ticket to Europe and 300 euros in his pocket - no set route, no set timeline and no set budget.

What I might spend in a week or two, MrProfessor will make last for weeks (if not months) by being both frugal and resourceful. With nothing but a tent, some cooking equipment and huge plans to cycle across the continent, he's doing well so far on his journey.

Despite the inevitable setbacks, challenges and of course wi-fi issues, Arthur gets on with doing his own thing. He even somehow finds the energy to curate for @Travelfeed and @Cyclefeed, his other pet project, in his spare time. I can't think of anyone as spontaneous or brave as he is. Truth be told, I think he's a little crazy, too.

That energy and zest for life is admirable. Give @mrprofessor a follow and an upvote for his troubles, will you? I'm not exaggerating when I say that you could literally be helping save him from freezing during the cold European winter with your upvotes.

Conclusion

Thanks again to @for91days, @guchtere and @mrprofessor for being so welcoming, supportive and friendly during our time in Krakow. Fellow Steemians, do give these guys a follow.

Finally, if you enjoy travelling, or indeed reading a variety of travel-related content, please do check out @travelfeed, its content and its contributors. It's a wonderful platform.

Peace.

Franck / @goodwithtravels

Sort:  

Indeed, @guchtere is such a selfless guy that he probably wouldn't want me making such a big deal about his generosity. It's all true though, so do me a favour and give him a follow!

Hehe 🤣 I think you got it right forget the generosity but let's talk about the awesome serie you're creating here. Really like reading your "lessons learned from" posts.

Loved our train adventure. We should create a trip together with @slobberchops for an urbex adventure in the UK or something? Think @for91days and even @soyrosa would love to join that one😄

We should create a trip together with @slobberchops for an urbex adventure in the UK or something?

Ubex's are a bit hit and miss. I tried 2 last weekend, one success, the other one I couldnt find the place!

The community is notoriously secretive about locations, and for good reason. There's plenty of arsonists, vandals and graffitti merchants who want to destory.

A joint one would be great, maybe a lunatic asylum. There's a few around if you are brave enough.

I remember an urbex trip with @guchtere where walked for quite some time through a very big park in Belgium during summer where we coudn't find the place that we were looking for haha.

Or climbing to a open window on the first floor of a hospital and finding out at the end that there was a door unlocked on the ground floor. It's always an adventure.

Yes, these are great fun and always different. Just don't expect to get in all of them. I have had many failures usually due to busybodies getting in the way.

Hehe but by all these failures the locations you do find and succeed to get in without being seen are the best! 😎

And thinking back at HH3 and the open door 🤣

We could maybe set something up for Berlin. There is tons!

Berlin has tons but a lot are payed nowadays like teufelsberg for example. Belgium and France have a lot of sites too.

In Belgium there is some kind of mansion in the woods but I've heard that they were demolishing it last year.

It's a bit far for me! I have been to Berlin though, in late 2016.

A lunatic asylum sounds crazy I think I'm brave enough when I'm behind my camera 😨📸

If there's a few of you then you are braver than normal. Solo in these places is creepy.

Sadly I think we would never start to leave for anything because we enjoy our companies too much, taking pics and flying triple drones :)

YES I'd join!

What an article and what an honor to get featured like this along others I honor, trust. The most moving part is knowing that what some of us do have an impact in the life of others. And I hope it helps others to take the courage to move into the direction they would like to see themselves.

Stay curious, true to yourself and always be that easy to approach nice guy!

What a beautiful post! I didn't meet you at SteemFest, but you was in a good company I can tell :) It's great to see travelfeed community spending time together!

@goodwithtravels was also in the group when @engrave / @wise was giving their presentation. I feel bad I didn't introduce you to each other.

No worries @for91days - I was just loitering around and trying my best to keep up with the technical conversation.

All sounded fascinating though - wish both sides the best with your projects!

(I should also have said thanks for the kind comment @saunter - we’ll have to catch up at Steemfest4 😉 )

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post man! It was great to track you down as well and read a bit of your writing. I’ll be following along now. Also, it’s about time for you to make some video as well ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely! Out of interest, what editing programme do you use / recommend? Tried a few but am trying to find one that is both functional and simple

I personally use Adobe Premeire Pro, but it comes with a bit of learning curve and cost. DaVince Resolve is free but I’ve personally not used it but know some folks who do use it regularly.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're raving about some of my favourite Steemians and people in life! I enjoyed meeting all three of these - and you of course. Awesome peepz and I can't wait to meet again <3

I want to cuddle you up!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=goodwithtravels
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=lessons-from-fellow-steemians-4-for91days-guchtere-and-mrprofessor-abaafd61d2c47est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @goodwithtravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

How comes we never met @mrprofessor? Would have loved to do a little interview with him! Love the title and the idea “lessons learned from other steemians”, this should be a thing and not only after steemfest but also in general as one meets new steemians and exchange stories, tips and knowledge! Nice one! 👌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Because @mrprofessor didn't have a ticket for SF3 I think 🤔. He was there at the openingnight during the drinks and you could have seen him riding his bike during the week.

How are you guys doing after SF?

Still recovering in Thailand, but friends are visiting so the detox is still to come! 🙈

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93