Steemfest Lisbon -- My birthday wish!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest27 years ago (edited)

I am sooooo stoked about Steemfest!!!  I've been waiting months to hear about the unfolding of our next magnificent adventure together.  

I was incredibly blessed to attend Steemfest 1 in Amsterdam, the most cutting-edge, impeccably prepared, progressive, inspired, fulfilling meeting of the minds, once in a lifetime event.  I traveled there on my birthday, and was blessed with a present I could have never imagined.


OMG!!!  It was PRICELESS!!!

After such a remarkable experience,
I cannot imagine sitting back knowing Steemfest 2 could go on without me...

...instead spending my birthday alone as my fellow Steemians bask in the glow of another unforgettable, connecting and inspiring experience together.  

My Birthday Wish
- to have given away at least 150 hugs at Steemfest
with my @gardenofeden family.  
That would truly be a blessed gift.



Here are some details of why I want to go, why I ask your assistance, and what I have to offer:

I am a full-time volunteer at the @gardenofeden, a sustainable eco-village in Texas.  On any given day there are between 10 and 20 inhabitants here who are also full-time volunteers.  We invest our time not in working for the man, but in creating a better world for all of humanity.  It is our mission to share the possibilities of living a responsible life of freedom based on unconditional love.  


We feed, house and educate people on sustainable realities, while having learned to live ourselves on only $1 a day per person.  All of our donations, Steemit post rewards (not only the @gardenofeden account, but our individual accounts as well) and the money we save from efficiently caring for ourselves, is reinvested back into the local community.  We fed 40,000 free meals and saved over 350,000 pounds of trash from the landfill in one year alone.  We are ecstatic to be living every day as an example of being the change we wish to see in the world. 


@theprophet0 has been a great supporter of the @gardenofeden, appreciating our way of life and what we give back to the community .


That being said, it is my desire to continue our humanitarian efforts, without in any way draining the funds allocated for that purpose.  I would much prefer to write compelling posts to earn my way to Steemfest, so that I can engage with my fellow Steemians, connecting face-to-face in support of growing this Steemit community to be an even more powerful platform than it has already become.  I will be sharing more posts about Steemfest to help fund my way...this is just the beginning!

I base my life on community and bring this passion to Steemit.  I have been an integral part of the expanding artists community through my Collaborative Art Journey project, bringing together over 75 artiSTeemians in the creation of over 335 collaborative masterpieces.  Our repertoire is quite astounding and is an incredible representation of what we can do when we share our passions and come together for common purpose. 


Just a little taste of our collaboration - Power Spirit Collaboration by @paolobeneforti:


Here are  other potential offerings and inspirations for attending Steemfest this year:

  • Meet and hug all the artists who have contributed to the Collaborative Art Journey, and every Steemian who feels called to hug me too.
  • Share the art we have made together on this Collaborative Art Journey, in either a slideshow, a collage display, a raffle, gifts or otherwise.
  • Provide an opportunity for the creation of a large, live art collaboration.
  • Create and host art workshops together with @opheliafu.
  • As one of my specialties is building community, I will help solidify the relationships we have created and reconnect with those with whom I have already established.



My needs are actually relatively few.  You'll see below how frugal we were throughout our Amsterdam journey, and I feel certain will be as sustainable as possible this year too.

WHAT I WOULD NEED:

  • Flight from Texas to Portugal - at this time the cheapest air fare is approximately $600-$700 roundtrip.
  • A ticket to attend Steemfest and all the incredible perks that come with being a part of this spectacular event.
  • Sufficient funds for any necessary transit.
  • My added birthday frosting wish:  For my fellow beings from the @gardenofeden to travel with me and attend this sure-to-be spectacular event.  They also have this same wish for my birthday, hopefully their added energy to securing these means will help make it so.

IN ORDER TO KEEP MY EXPENSES DOWN:

  • I am willing to find a hotel alternative by couch surfing, camping, or finding other accommodations 
  • I'm not a big eater, so  my Steemfest ticket will be more than enough to fill my little belly.
  • I would be extremely conservative with transportation--use my feet a lot!!!


STEEMFEST AMSTERDAM REVISTED


Last year I had a nearly spur-of-the-moment inspiration to attend Steemfest in Amsterdam.  I sold my art and began doing Steemit art collaborations to earn my way.  Here is my post of Gratitude for the experience, and I thank publicly once again these amazing people who helped me make it happen:

@quinneaker provided my upfront airfare and unbelievable support for this journey and my journey through life!!

@opheliafu helped me to get the ball rolling with my art as did other artists who donated their earning to me from our collaborative art works

@steemfestdreams and @richardcrill went out of their way by posting up opportunities and making posts on my behalf

@infovore provided the opportunity for me to win my Steemfest ticket

@roelandp guided me in many directions to make it happen 

@trf helped me with my travel through donations by @liondani and @bhuz, as well as ballinconscious @konstantin @donkey @christoryan@christoph3 @mrwang @pong @joseph @anduweb

@willemjanvandort wined and dined with spreads of cheese, wine and chocolate!!! <3  @saramiller and I couch surfed in his lovely home during the event.

Even with all the help, @saramiller (my laughing travel buddy and daily housemate co-creator at the @gardenofeden) and I did our best to keep our expenses to a minimum by cutting corners where ever possible.  We took 8 planes with round-trip transit time of about 108 hours.  We slept on benches, on planes, on the ground inside and out, couch-surfed instead of hoteling-it, walked 45 minutes to and from the venue, and hauled our luggage through the city on foot instead of taking taxis and other expensive transit.  Not only in the grand scheme of things did we do it inexpensively, we also stayed true to our commitment to sustainability by keeping our carbon footprint as low as possible--while literally walking our shoes off! 



@burnin facilitated the Golden Steem Awards where I was nominated in 4 categories, and won the Best Undiscovered Author Award for this post about one of my favorite subjects, children.  I received a nice cold beer as as my Golden Steem Award!!!



BIRTHDAY WISH:

November 6 is my birthday.  Last year I traveled on that day to Amsterdam, and so I wish this year to celebrate my birthday as a finale to what I imagine will be another beyond believable event.

I also wish that my other @gardenofeden community members will be able to attend with me.  If we all make it to Steemfest, we will certainly share with you our profound experiences living in community--a primo opportunity to see it in action.

Being amongst some of the most brilliant minds on the planet, people who are going to be world leaders in unimaginable ways, people who feel like family, are dedicating their lives to making change, and supporting, loving and encouraging one another is of great value to me.  

I will definitely continue to support this community as it has supported me.  And I will pay it forward through my humanitarian works and sharing the possibilities of thriving in community.

With plenty of time to prepare for Steemfest this year, may we all be blessed to experience the magic that is bound to unfold.


And....a shout out to @aggroed who is also doing a great service to many who will benefit from Steemfest.


And....one more important note...I would love to see @quinneaker share his wisdom on life, parenting, relationships, education, housing, sustainable living, and solutions to just about everything that needs upgrades in this world.  

Thanks for your consideration in helping my birthday dream come true.  

Steemfest Lisbon, here I come!!!

Happy Birthday to me!


Sort:  

Whoops! A typo in your title and in one @gardenofeden tag :)

Would love to see you again next SteemFest to relive it <3

Oh yes!!! Good catch. Thank you @sjennon. It's a very early, or late late late night for me. I'll get back on that! I hope to see you too. Hugs!

Haha, you should get some sleep then! Good night ^^

I shall take that advice!! It's 8:13 a.m. I suppose it's time! <3

Oh wow! WHY ARE YOU STILL UP!?

I'm on my own time--and sharing it with a little peep here at the garden who is also still up. Grateful I get to do whatever I want whenever I want! Ahhhh....life!

That sounds great though, but damn lady that is late hahah! Even I don't reach those times without any liquid help :D

Sounds great though, looks like you're having a blast

Our lives are ever changing, so being present with whatever is important right now feels really good. Thank goodness I can stay up on inspiration alone!! Things are good!! Blessing to you Sjennon!

Awesome :-)

Agreed!!!!! Thanks @gregbit!

No way am I missing it this year. Looking forward to seeing you and claiming that hug! x

i want to go too. oh man i'd love to see you playing out to everyone there. that would be the icing on the digital cake! :)

Isn't that the truth @teamhumble. Come to Steemfest--let's all go play!

YAY!!! I have one reserved in your honor @lloyddavis. Steemfest2 has a lot to live up to last year's epic event. I feel certain, however, that @roelandp will pull it off with class and on-point fluid ease. Let's do this!!!

Oh wow ... Just by reading your article got me thinking on how can I make a trip up for steemfest as well. Coming from Malaysia it's not going to be cheap .. 🤔🤔🤔 need to work this out .

I seriously can't recommend it enough. There was an incredible feeling of family there that hasn't lingered since returning home. Everyone was so welcoming and grateful to be together. I imagine the energy will be even more grand this Steemfest--if that is possible! I hope you make it too @bitrocker2020. I'll give you a hug!

Looking forward to receive that hug @everlove ... Let me get started on raising funds 😂

There's no time like the present!!!

Great @bitrocker2020. Get with it---I have one reserved in your honor!!!

wow i like the way your art is reaching so many people through Steem and i am following you now too -David

YAYAYAYAYAY!!! Me too. It's so much fun to be buildling this community stronger every time we share our passion. Thank you for your comment @daydreams4rock

lovely, you certainly bring a zen balance to everything. you do so much GOOD in the world and BOY does it need it.

Awe, thank you @teamhumble. I truly appreciate this heartfelt comment. What a great thing to wake up to in the morning!!!

you are most welcome, i hope i manage to make it too to steemfest after watching you all have SO much fun last year! :)

It must have really been something to watch from a distance. True and lasting friendships were formed. I"m certain the turnout will be even greater this year.and even more epic opportunities to connect will present themselves. I hope you make it to Steemfest too @teamhumble. It is DEFINITELY worth the investment in all ways.

Love your screen name btw! <3

thanks @everlove, i started a project when i met my partner last year around the time i discovered steemit called http://teamhumble.org - live, not exist - we did one project with a handful of people and raised some money to go and work in soup kitchen in NYC. i want to do more, much much more. i do hope we get to meet. watching all of you, follow along via blog posts and images can only do so much!

Working together for common purpose really does make things easier. It sounds like you've already got some tricks up your sleeve for making Steemfest a financial reality! We felt somewhat responsible last year to keep people in the loop and share the magnificence that was unfolding. I'm certain, however, that we could not do justice to real presence. I hope you make it too. And I appreciate your comments @teamhumble.

gonna do everything i can to make it there! :)

That means then that we will see there then @teamhumble!

I wish you all the best in this.

I'm hoping everyone who wants to go gets funded!!! That would be an amazing gift to the entire Steemit community. Thank you for your comment and well wishes @dbzfan4awhile.

Bless!

Gratefully so! Back at ya @allgoodthings!

Awesome happy birthday :) Resteemed

Also liked and followed :D

@sweetiebo thank you for the birthday wishes! I also greatly appreciate the resteem!!!

All the best to you. Where there is a will a way will be made.

Agreed @team101. We can make it happen, and together it's even easier and more fulfilling. I appreciate your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66043.66
ETH 3593.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46