When God Turned my Messy Life into a Message

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

discipleship.jpg

My life was a mess. I grew up in a broken home, witnessed my parents fight all the time with snarling words thrown at each other, was exposed to drugs and infidelity by one of my parents, and almost experienced an abuse by a close relative at a very young age.

I slowly learnt to hide all this mess inside. Slowly, I learnt to put all these things aside, until I would not think about these horrible things anymore. That was how I used to think for a long time, that it was just easier to hide, in spite of all the teachings of my father about Bible stories and Scriptures.

One of the things that my father taught me though was to put my trust in Jesus. I have had many encounters with God growing up, that despite what happened to me, in my family, God has always been there for me. I knew and felt that God still protected me. Hence, I was not completely broken, so to speak.

I knew that God was the One who provided for our needs. There were many instances where my father and us (his five children) would gather around for a mini-Bible study, for example, on one instance when we prayed for a miracle that God would instantly fill up an empty can of powdered milk, so we laid our hands over this empty can and prayed over it. As little children, we believed that Jesus was able to feed 5000 people with 5 loaves of bread and 2 fish, and that they miraculously multiplied because God made it happen. So we trusted God that he would fill up that empty can. We opened the lid, and it was still empty. But it did not disappoint us. We still trusted that God will provide. A few hours later, a couple of members from our church came with rice, sugar and powdered milk!!!


When I was a teenager, I accepted Jesus Christ into my life for the first time. In spite of this, I had a lot of insecurities, fear, pride and anger that were so deeply rooted in me, and I hid it all. I thought I could balance my dark, ugly life with seemingly bright, clean life. I was a dedicated, diligent student from primary to high school. I was always trying to make sure I had the approval of my father, my relatives, my teachers and my friends, because I thought, though I trust God, one thing I was unsure of was whether I was worthy in His eyes or not.

I did have a genuine relationship with God, but there were areas of my life that I thought He couldn’t handle. So instead of giving them to Him, I walked around with a burden of guilt and masked the negative aspect of my life with good report cards – I thought it was the only thing that mattered because it would give me a good future.

So throughout the years, from teenage years to adulthood, I kept on coming back to God, thinking that by doing that, God would not be TOO far away from me. The relationship would be easier to fix. Thankfully, my father did establish a strong foundation of faith and knowledge of the Lord in us. No matter how many times I falter, I knew deep down inside, God will accept me back into His arms.

rsz_7345860658_afe7d13cb7_b.jpg
Image Source

Last year I had the privilege of stepping into Discipleship Training. Through this training, I learnt to share my struggles with my mentors and classmates who prayed hard for me and I saw God delivered me in a mighty way. I learnt that His grace could handle all of me. For the first time in all of my Christian years, I learnt and genuinely understood that at the cross, where Jesus died for my sins, everything that was wrong with me was put on Jesus, and Jesus’ perfection was put on us. I didn’t earn God’s love with all my performances and actions - God loved me even before I had a chance to try and earn it.

The Discipleship training has helped me grow in confidence and courage to be able to share the same freedom with others. I know that the truth of God’s love replaces all the lies in my mind, and now I can really say that I am free in Christ. And each day God continues to shape my heart as I experience and understand more deeply His approval and unchanging love for me in Christ.


Related Posts:


Thank you for reading!
Please feel free to leave a comment if you have any question or feedback.
God bless you!


Join our #SteemBulls Community Discord Server: https://discord.gg/qy5H8rW

and meet our Admins @pkalra, @honeychum and @bunnychum


#SteemBulls is a great platform especially for new Steemians. We are a community of people who help one another in having our posts get noticed, read and appreciated.

Come and join and be inspired!!!

Check out posts by @sarahdandridge, @ryl, @dangerousangel, @socialreformer, @cyberwarrior, @towhid, @information7, @pkalra, @bunnychum, @honeychum, and many more!!!

Steembulls Image Source: https://steemit.com/@steembulls


VOTE FOR WITNESSES to let them know that you support their work.

What are Witnesses? What roles do they play? According to Steem Center, witnesses are responsible for producing blocks, thus processing transactions, and for producing a price feed, which is how Steem Dollars are worth $1 US Dollar in STEEM (however they accomplish that is beyond my simple understanding).

All I know is that the witnesses that I voted (@steemgigs, @cloh76.witness, @yabapmatt, @themarkymark, @pharesim, @ausbitbank, @blocktrades and @curie) will have the most positive influence and great contribution to the whole Steem Community. When we vote for the witnesses, we will be able to help them gain more STEEM POWER, and in return, they will be able to support us back.

To cast your votes, click this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses .



Check out @dynamicgreentk for posts or updates, or join our DynamicSteemians Discord Group if you have any question.


try-1.gif

Meet the creative and talented people behind @dynamicsteemians:
@dynamicgreentk, @dynamicrypto, @ntowl, @thundercurator, @terminallyill, @baa.steemit, @scottshots, @preshey, @nikema, @elsiekjay

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dynamicsteemians/hello-world


Dynamic Steemians' banners credit to @baa.steemit.


upvote button.png

Sort:  

Upvoted you as my follower.Thank you.Want to see you grow in steemit.Goodluck.>>>>

Thank you. I really appreciate that.

Sorry for the downvoting man
Wanted to Upvote

Was a mistake
Take care

Thanks for sharing your journey with us here on Steemit. We are glad to have you. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @udywriter. Congratulations. Wish you all the best.

Thank you @energyaddict22, really appreciate that. Glad to be here, too, and hopefully through my stories, I will be able to inspire and encourage a lot of people. Thank you for the upvote as well.

This post has been shown by @tenorbalonzo to 7800+ followers

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Inspiring and motivational, you're a brave person:)

I like to inspire everyone with my life story. There is hope in God, and no life is too messy for God.

This post has been resteemed and received 20% upvote from @wondersofnature. Thank you for using our service @evlachsblog!

Our Resteem and Upvote Monthly Subscription is now available! You can get 25%-50% Upvote on each of your post. Check the details here!

God bless you...

Thank you, and God bless you, too.

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

That was such an authentic sharing of your experiences. Our strength truly does lie in our conviction.

#unconditionallove

Thank you, @kchitrah. Yes, as for me, my confidence lies in my conviction that I can do all things through Christ Jesus who strengthens me. His #unconditonallove is just incredible.

very good post.Thank you for sharing

Thank you, and you're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70