Saturday Celebration #3

in #steembasicincome6 years ago

Source

It is Saturday and once again my opportunity to offer you an opportunity to win some @steembasicincome shares. This time one person can win 5 shares! It is the most significant prize I have been able to offer thus far. I hope you will be able to participate.

The contest is easy, I think. And it will help me to improve my blogging, if you were to participate. Here is what you need to do.

  1. Upvote this post.
  2. Read the three posts of my recent series, 'We all need wisdom'.
  3. Tell me which one you liked the least in the comments of this post.
  4. Tell me why you liked it the least. It can be for any reason.
    • The formatting
    • An opinion I expressed
    • The approach / strategy I followed
    • Too short / too long
    • Too serious/ not serious enough
    • Anything, just help me improve

Rules

  1. At least 5 people need to enter for a prize to be awarded.
  2. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, 31 July 2018
  3. The winner will be decided by myself. This decision will be based on the critique that I feel will help me the most going forward.
  4. The winner will receive five shares of @steembasicincome and one 100% upvote per day from me for seven days. (If you do not post daily, this last part will not be as significant for you.)

You can find the posts in this series here.

We all need wisdom
We all need wisdom II
We all need wisdom III

I have enjoyed every comment on the series tremendously. There were some golden nuggets! You will do well to read the comments too, when you read my posts. A big thank you to everyone who participated!

@reonlouw





Sort:  

I could never pick a least favorite post of yours @reonlouw.

I realize that I speak of my work life often in my posts but I must use it again as a bit of an analogy.

In my restaurant, I'm often training people how to do the prerequisite tasks that our particular business requires. I fill their brains with a long list of things that are expected of them. I'm giving them the knowledge to be part of the team.

When I'm training them, I always let them know that I won't be telling them how to approach a table but to pay attention to the way I go about it. I have a bit of a practiced spiel that varies with the party I'm approaching. I've learned to read the body language and know pretty quickly whether or not I should be all business and just relay the facts or make a few jokes and get them feeling right at home. I always tell my trainee that I'm going for the best gratuity I can possibly get. I want them to strive to make more than a twenty percent tip. I never stop moving and I'm always trying to anticipate whatever the customer might need before they have to ask for it. It's a tried and true approach that I'm constantly trying to improve. This is me imparting my wisdom and it's always morphing.

It's kind of funny and sad at the same time when I hear the staff complain about not receiving a great tip. I understand that sometimes it will be the guest is either tight fisted with the wallet or they just have the type of attitude that looks down on our chosen profession. Often times though my first thought is what could the server have done to make the guest leave a small gratuity. Was the server attentive enough or were they hiding and playing with their phone. Were they personable enough or were they doing the bare minimum to get the party in and out for the next group to come in. I want to ask these and other questions all the time but I'm the wisest when I just keep my mouth shut. I see a few follow my logic and do quite well and I see others that are constantly complaining over poor tips.

I guess my point, which you also related, is that you can give people all the knowledge you can but what they do with it shows their true wisdom.

Visiting by way of Kryptonia

We All Need Wisdom 1 didn't talk about anything at all, it's much more like an introduction, I like it the least, because its a repetition of what we already know, everyone in he world knows Wisdom is synonumous with the name King Solomom. Its also very short, you could have elongate better in words, i felt this three days ago when reading.

Shalom.

Yo leí los tus tres post about wisdom me gustaron todos pero en especial We all need wisdom III por que tu mencionaste una palabra clave que es la humildad ya que lo primero que Dios pide al ser humano es humildad por lo tanto un sabio debe ser humilde. God bless you. I can see your post are good size I mean not short or long, they are pretty good. Gracias por compartir con nosotros esos lindos mensajes. Kryptonia ID @mejia_martinez

@reonlouw thank you so much for this great contest.
Buddy you asked a very tough question to answer. It's very tough for me to select that which one i liked less. It's really a difficult question like exam question.. hahaha

But As i have to select the 1st one was little too short so that's why i will choose that ...
Your work is always awesome.

God bless you, brother, I missed reading the 3rd, definitely the least attractive is the first, since it was very short, but it is also understood because it was like an introduction, without a hint should be a little more extensive. As for the presentation, I like the justified texts more... I also like the images, but if the reading is long, a very long reading is not good, so the first delivery of the wisdom should have been a bit extensive but not so much as to exhaust.

Dear @reonlouw, first two points are really simple but the two next conditions of contest...
It's very uneasy to choose which part I liked the least since I like them all. Your posts have important message for us and are true.
First part of your series attracted me for the next one. You remembered there a story about wise king Salomon which I liked a lot. Second instalment was also very interesting, many things can be presented not in proper way, eg. meditative look may mislead us. but it is not guarantee of wisdom. And the third part was excelent. Sentences from Bible with explanaiton, your own definition.
My conclusion? Finally I choose 2nd part. I like storytelling so if there was a story of fool fooling other people (for example), I liked it better. But it is only my opinion and it doesnť have to be wise.
Thanks for your series and contest. @hairyfairy from Kryptonia

hello a cordial greeting, and what a good initiative to take this issue as a contest and thus promote the word of God in another way, the most important and most valuable thing is to sow the word of God in people who never emptied.

with respect to the criticism on one of the three publications that made reference to wisdom a very complicated and complete subject. I decided on the topic 1, since I did not like the introduction, where you make reference to the series friends, where you mention Yoe, I think a character that although in one of its chapters has reference on wisdom, does not comply with my expectations, since he is a character too clumsy and silly; nor has anything to do with this serious and important subject, as is wisdom.

everything else seems good to me, you should spread a little more there and you have much more information about this topic, but in the same way I appreciate what you do and I invite you to expand much more. a big hug and greeting from me.

I have read all 3 in the series. I liked all three of them if not then i would not wait for the other parts. Among the three, i liked least, the first one. For me, it is too short and the topic wisdom is too vague at first. You lack elaboration on the topic at the first part. The way you presented it is not so catchy. Good thing your able to expound wisdom in the next parts. Upvoted by rubelynmacion of kryptonia

Hola Saludos desde @kryptonia
Sinceramente la parte I fue la que menos me gustó, primero debido a su extension y al poco contenido que abarca!

Hard to say what I disliked the most, possibly the first one as it was a little too generic on wisdom and didn't go on a deeper level, now obviously if you had there would be no need for the other 2. Having said that, all 3 were well written and led to a deeper level of undertanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56