We all need wisdom II

in #christian6 years ago (edited)

Source

This is the second instalment of a three-part series on wisdom. You can find the first one here.

We all need wisdom

On Saturday I will announce a contest based on this series where you can win five shares of @steembasicincome. This is the most significant prize I have been able to offer thus far. I hope you will be able to participate.

Wisdom is something everyone seeks, at least nominally. No one dreams of being a fool. No one wants to be unwise. However, very few people are wise. I think it is important to understand what wisdom is to give us a chance of finding the real thing. Let's start by taking a look at what wisdom is not.

Wisdom is not

  • knowledge
    Some people know a lot but they still make very unwise choices. Knowledge is a good thing but the possession of knowledge does not guarantee that we use it wisely.
  • experience
    The same argument applies. Some people have extensive experience but seem to make the same mistakes again and again. Their wisdom just does not increase as a result of experience.
  • grey hair or a long beard
    It may be surprising but you do get old fools. You do not get to be wise as a result of time passing. You can get to be 100 years old and still be unwise.

As you can see from the above, many things appear to be wisdom. We can easily be fooled but we want the real thing. Nothing less! Nothing else!

For wisdom is far more valuable than rubies. Nothing you desire can compare with it.
Pro 8:11 NLT

I hope you join me tomorrow. I look forward to your response in the comments here.

@reonlouw



Sort:  

@reonlouw again a very nicely explained about Wisdom. Wisdom is all we need in our life to get succeed. amazing one. i am loving your wisdom very much.

I couldn't agree more, Sir! We really need wisdom. The truth is, the Bible says: "Acquire wisdom, acquire understanding. ... It will protect you." --Proverbs 4:5, 6.
@gingbabida from Kryptonia

s i see nowadays people think they know a lot by going with the new age era and by partcipating to all kind of weird new cults ... when in fact it's the new form of "brainwashing system" thru knowledge :-)

Just a humble opinion

Regards

I see I got what you meant by wisdom and its true enough that time, experiences and knowledge will not increase your wisdom. upvoted by crixdragnel of kryptonia

to me wisdom is avoiding the mistakes you have made in the past but then again thats also a hard lesson because were sometimes in denial. Kryptonia: bojakcates

Well now I couldn't wait for part three to finally know what it is s I have commented on your previous post that I think wisdom is having agood knowledge that will enable us to make good judgements on situations that can be obtained through experience. But it is cancelled here, which makes me wonder just how to word out wisdom well. It is like... knowing what is good and what should be done in a situation to solve a problem by bringing justice to the good side or bringing out the best result. If it does not result in any of those then it is npt wisdom but cunningness.

@kryptonia

I am looking forward for your third part. I found myself in first article of what wisdom is not. When someone insist on me a bit I always do what is not convinient or is unpoleasant to me. I cannot say no.
Have a nice day, I come back tommorow.
Kryptonia ID: @hairyfairy

Plato — 'Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something.'

Visiting by way of @kryptonia

Yo estoy totalmente de acuerdo ya que todos lo seres humanos buscamos siempre la sabiduría y nadie le gusta ser o hacerse pasar por tonto muy de acuerdo y me gusta mucho lo que dice este post, ya que es algo que pasa muy cotidianamente. Kryptonia ID @mejia_martinez

Wisdom is a synergy of knowledge and experience, I don't think you can be wise if you just gain knowledge, (This would make you clever and great at game show quizzes.) and even with experience, (If one does not learn from experiences, especially when things go wrong.) again does not make you wise.
I think it is a case of learning, experiencing then gaining an understanding of both will then lead to wisdom.
@Kryptonia ID @socialmediaseo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76