We all need wisdom III

in #christian6 years ago (edited)

Source

This is the last instalment of this three-part series on wisdom. Tomorrow I will offer a contest based on this series where you can win five shares of @steembasicincome. I hope you can participate in it!

Wisdom is one of my favourite topics and a treasure that I have been pursuing most of my life. This was by no means an attempt to say everything that can be said about wisdom and I hope to write here about it again. That said, I enjoyed your responses to my prompts. And I hope this piece will also evoke some interesting comments.

I want to share with you three ways to get wisdom or grow in wisdom but let's start with this point.

Wisdom is not a thing of the head, but of the heart.

Take look at these scriptures:

Wisdom is enshrined in an understanding heart; wisdom is not found among fools.
Pro 14:33 NLT

For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will fill you with joy.
Pro 2:10 NLT

You will always try to find wisdom through knowledge, intellect, study or experience while you think wisdom is a capacity of your brain. However, it is a capacity of your heart. According to the Bible, wisdom resides in your heart! Once you accept this, you will understand the three ways to get wisdom or grow in wisdom. Here they are.

1. Humility

Pride leads to disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.
Pro 11:2 NLT

Humility will help you grow in wisdom. Someone filled with pride is decidedly unwise. Always! If you want wisdom, be humble. Wisdom is born and grows in a humble heart.

2. An eternal perspective on life

Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.
Psa 90:12 NLT

The vast majority of the foolish or unwise choices we make comes from a lack of perspective on our lives. We would live our lives differently or with greater wisdom if we remembered how brief it is.

3. Wisdom is a gift

This is the most important point. I hope you will never forget this one! Wisdom is a gift in God's hand!

For the LORD grants wisdom! ...
Pro 2:6 NLT

And He wants to give it to you!

If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking.
Jas 1:5 NLT

I know you want more wisdom. We all do. It is my immense privilege to remind you that our primary source of wisdom is God. And that you should ask Him!

My definition

There are three words that seem to always be associated with any discussion of wisdom, in the Bible and elsewhere.

knowledge, understanding, insight

I would like to define wisdom in the following way.

Wisdom is the understanding and insight that helps you to see inside of knowledge and experience to apply it correctly.

or

Wisdom is your heart's ability to guide your intellect, your knowledge and your experience.

I pray that you will live with great wisdom. And that you will seek wisdom all your life, holding it dear like a treasure when you find it. Above all, I pray that you will not try to find wisdom in people or books or intelligence but that you will ask for and receive wisdom from God.

One last promise about wisdom before I let you go.

Wisdom will multiply your days and add years to your life.
Pro 9:11 NLT

Find wisdom! Live wisely!

@reonlouw




Sort:  

Humility plays a very important role to be wise, since a proud person only believes to be right ... his own reason and does not accept advice, does not act with wisdom but by emotionalism and arrogance ... only a humble person accepts advice and sit calmly to analyze the situation and then act. A humble person would know to expect God's direction.

brother I already wrote down your whatsapp (thanks), I have not written to you because these days I have been busy until very late, today I will try to write to you. Right here in my country it's 10:33 in the morning. I do not know how many hours there are differences between your country and my country. I am from Venezuela.

Where would I be without the Wisdom of GOd? It is indeed not from the brain or a capacity of the brain but the HEART!
Other people thought that wisdom is gained through personal and worldly efforts, but this is actually found in the person of God. So many pieces written in the bible! Thank you @reonlouw! Got you from @kryptonia under @wilsonblue5

you always come out with a heartwarming post...food for the soul...love it so much

Congratulations @reonlouw ! You received a 17.72% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1000 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Sabe voy a destacar un punto muy importante que tu mencionaste en este post es la humildad estoy totalmente de acuerdo contigo lo importante que es la humildad en una persona sabia. :) God bless you. Kryptonia ID @mejia_martinez

True enough, wisdom is a gift from God. We must pray to have it especially this time where there lots of vices in the world. We must be wise enough to choose the right path.

yes I had understoof when oftentimes knowledge can be considered the same as wisdom. i am relating that when concept is understood it is just purely knowledge. when your prefer to do the wrong though you are aware that it is not the right action, then there is no wisdom at all. you may correct me if I' m wrong with what's in my mind. thank you & God bless!

I love how you give emphasis to wisdom because wisdom nowadays plays a very important role in making good judgement. Keep it going reonlouw! upvoted by croxdragnel of kryptonia

I liked your series a lot.
My granny passed away last year. She didn´t have schools but allowed to her children to study university. She was very hardworking keeping her large garden in order, she spent her almost whole day. When her sister died, she brought up her two children. She was also caring of one retarded women loving in the same village, she felt it as inherent. My granny was extraordinary person and also very wise.
Kryptonia ID @hairyfairy

nice post and information by you @reonlou. i have also posted my first dtube video on this platform..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77