We all need wisdom

in #christian6 years ago (edited)

Source

In the old sitcom FRIENDS one of the characters is called Joey. He is not known for his intellect nor for his vast general knowledge. However, in one episode he describes himself as 'pretty wisdomous'. 😆

This has always been my dream, to be 'pretty wisdomous'. One of my grandmother's favourite stories in the Bible was the one of Solomon. She told it to me often and it made quite an impression. Do you know the story?

Solomon became king at a very young age. In a dream, God spoke to him saying that he could ask for anything and it would be given to him. Solomon made the legendary choice of choosing wisdom. Not 'wealth, riches, fame, the death of his enemies, a long life,' or anything else. He asked for wisdom!

This pleased God and Solomon got what he asked for and everything else for which he could have asked. Proverbs 4:7 says the following in the New Living Translation.

Getting wisdom is the wisest thing you can do!

This the start of a series of three posts on wisdom. I want to invite you to join me on this journey as I'm convinced you will enjoy it. And then on Saturday, I'm going to invite you to add something 'wisdomous' for a chance to win five shares of @steembasicincome. One winner. Five shares. It is the most significant prize I have offered thus far and I hope you will join in.

What is wisdom?
What is wisdom not?
How do I get wisdom?

I look forward to sharing some insights with you and reading yours.

@reonlouw




Sort:  

This is something I think about in my weight loss work. I know I have wisdom about natural methods to help people get healthy and stay thin. It is not only my experience, but that of many other people who have succeeded just like me. We are all eating well, exercising daily, feel fulfilled, and would never do the toxic things we used to do that kept us obese.

Then there are other thin people, who got there by surgery, supplements, or other bad methods. They post of how they long for the old toxic foods and habits. tthey did not change their mindset. They made very difficult changes that are hard to live with, and probably will not be sustained.

And of course, the people I care about reaching are the 80% of them that are overweight or obese and have no idea where to turn.

And who is winning the hearts and minds of obese people? Not me and those who are like me. No, it is the bad ideas that prevail. I feel like wisdom means nothing these days. Only marketing matters when people are desparately looking for help.

Coming to you from @kryptonia. Thank you for the task.

Thank you @fitinfun. So appreciate your contribution in the middle of your move.

Yours is not an easy task. And we need more wisdom than ever to respond well to the multitude of messages that we are bombarded with every day. I wish you well. In your move and in your mission.

Thank you so much, @reonlouw. I am just praying 24/7 and trying to keep all my balls in the air right now. Your support means so much to me.

I read one of your posts in which you used your kid to elaborate on the essence of prayer and that God knows of our needs before we ask him. You seem pretty good at sharing the gospel. Are you a priest?

Hi @lexymaine. I am a pastor. Been one for nearly 30 years now. Thank you for the compliment and for reading my blog.

Oh nice. May God multiply your anointing as you continue to touch lives.

While reading your post something pop out of my mind. "The Monk who sold his Ferrari" by Robin Sharma... pretty wisdomous book 😁

from kryptonia fan @psychkrhoz

I enjoyed Robin's book too @psychkrhoz. It is a good antidote for the rat-race.

For me, wisdom is having a good judgement over a situation. It is choosing the right path and living a good life since you know it is the right to be done. It is not when you do otherwise.

Agreed @croxdragnel. Thank you!

I think wisdom is a gift from God to all of us. I really like your post beacuse they are very possitives and they make me feel inspired God bless you brother. Kryptonia ID @mejia_martinez

Thank you me2017. Appreciated.

Wisdom is having a wise decision and a sound judgement over a situation. In short, choosing the good over evil things. I appreciate Solomon's choice of wisdom for wisdom is innate you can not buy it or acquire it. He made the wisest decision to choose wisdom. It is not wisdom if you know it is bad and you still choose to do such a thing.

Wisdomous, This really did make me laugh :)
My own thoughts on what 'Wisdomous' is, is not about being all knowing, but a mix of learning from one's mistakes, and that starts with admitting your own mistakes to begin with!
There are a lot of people in this world who don't do this I would class these people as 'Cluelessions' :)

A whole bunch of new words! Thank you @socialmediaseo

@reonlouw Solomon asked for wisdom and that shows why he was the king.
Wisdom is like what knowledge we have or what experience we have in our life. If all these things we will get then obviously we will get all other things like richness, happiness etc. Because wisdom can make these things easily. So it's always better to have wisdom rather than richness and all.
Now wisdom can be acquired by many ways and that all depends on us how we acquire it in us . Some genereal ways are like we should always learn from our mistakes . Doing mistake is not a offence but not learning from mistakes is a big offence. Some other ways to get wisdom is also like we should be humble to others and we should also share our wisdom with others.
This is all what i think about Wisdom. Many other things are also there but this was like a nut shell of wisdom.
I am sorry if i have made any wrong statement.

Hi @kmayegaindia. I enjoy your contributions to my blog.

And I think you make very good points about wisdom. Thank you! Getting wisdom is indeed the wisest thing we can do!

@reonlouw thank you so much for your kind words.. yes wisdom is the best thing to be acquired in us.

Sounds good, we could all use more wisdom. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

Agreed @giddyupngo. Thank you.

Hmm, not easy to write what wisdom is, sometimes I feel myself so dumb ... when I don't know how to answer when someone asks me, and the right answer I think out very long time after. I am looking forward to continuing parts.
Kryptonia ID @hairyfairy

Thank you @hairyfairy! I look forward to your feedback when we are done and hope you can enter the contest on Saturday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64