Off and On Steem and Steeming

in #steem5 years ago

Yesterday in a post I mentioned all of the off chain interaction that surrounds Steem and today, @cryptoandcoffee commented on his own journey over the last year and, his foray into starting his own company, something he has been writing about over the last months.

You missed the point perhaps

Something that very few people who are critical of Steem recognize is that for many people, being on Steem has changed the way they see and therefore behave in the walking world, as it should. Anyone spending significant time doing something like this and remaining unchanged by it are essentially proof they have not learned much.

For me, while I have come into the crypto space largely blind to it, I didn't come in completely blind and have a fair bit of experience in various areas, both professionally and personally. However, once on Steem I have been able to (eventually) learn a list of things that has given me new perspective on various aspects of my career and life in general. Through these various discoveries, I have been able to realign parts of my life and compound what I have learned against what I already held to increase the probability of improving circumstances in my life.

Working out and earning more than Steem

In many ways, being on Steem is liking going to the gym for the mind as it allows for and encourages a diversity of thought that most of life generally doesn't. Before Steem, most of the conversations I had were quite narrow because most people are not interested in and on Steem there is the chance to develop thoughts, process them and get feedback from a wide range of sources.

I have also become much more open in the real world with my willingness to share what would be considered more personal information and I put this down to my initial discomfort in doing that here. A large part of the issue early on was the openness of the economy here.

Don't talk about it, be ashamed

In most cultures we have been brainwashed into not talking about personal finances in a healthy way which means, it is very difficult to get good information on aspects of it. Instead, we bumble around and struggle while wondering how other people seem to be doing so much better than us. On Steem, the open wallets make some people jealous or nervous, but the fact that economy is spoken about at a granular level actually holds a very high value for those who are looking to improve their own financial situation. @revisesociology does good breakdowns of these things, so does @newageinv and @indigoocean.

The last paragraph obviously then leads into the direct economic side of Steem which is obviously a very important part of the equation for most people. One of the reasons Steem is so well utilized in comparison to other blockchains that pay is that the barriers to entry are about as low as they possibly can be. Again, if you are here and especially if you have been here long-term and you haven't found a way to improve yourself, you are Steeming wrong in my opinion.

On and off learning

The value of the blockchain goes well beyond the price of Steem and even beyond all of the transactions. What is going to make Steem highly valuable in the future is a mass of people who are leveraging parts of it to improve various parts of their lives. This could be through information alone or, encouragement to exercise, start a business, find new hobbies, increase skills or socialize and invest oneself into a community of people with common goals, similar tastes or very diverse attributes altogether.

What I believe is that in time, the people, communities and applications around Steem will start integrating more and more of real world interaction and changed behaviors to create feedback loops of experience where life and blockchain start to intertwine and meld together. This is something that is going to happen across many blockchains but for Steem, it is going to be personal.

Who are you when you are at home?

The accounts I find the most interesting on Steem are the ones who offer a real person rather than just information or discussion. For me, I like to get to know the people behind the accounts and the 4 people I have mentioned i this post are like that. Yes, they all offer a range of content too but, there is enough personal flavor in there to help me feel connected. This is what is eventually going to engage the masses too.

When I look back on my experience here and what kind of content I have created, it was definitely not where it started nor my intention. In many ways, my content on Steem has grown in the same way I have over the last two years and includes a much more intimate look into my life than I would ever have been comfortable with earlier.

I feel that my journey on Steem is only party mine and instead, it is our journey on Steem as so many people have played a role in the process in so many ways. I hope that over that time, what I have added onto the Steem blockchain is much more valuable than just the valuation of Steem, even if it goes to 10, 20 or 50 dollars one day, as I hope that people look and act differently in their lives and are finding ways to improve their experience.

Growing together and apart together

I am not a teacher of course but I do think that if I can learn from other people here, other people might learn a few things from me also and in that way, we are always adding to our shared experiences and hopefully, leveraging each other's talents, skills and knowledge for win/ win situations.

Steem is heading into it's 4th year and I am into my 3rd on the Steem blockchain. As I see it, there are going to be many years ahead to come and no matter when people join, they are going to be able to find value here as, it already exists here in the people.

So, if you are on Steem unchanged, you have failed to grasp the opportunity as not only is, Steem is part of the next generation of world-changing technology, there are some amazing people to learn from along the way. But of course, the main lesson on Steem is always going to be;

Your experience is your responsibility.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

What you said many months ago about Steem being a type of degree has never left my thoughts. I have learnt so much on here within the last year that has helped me find me, if that makes sense. I am not the same person anymore, but a better person because of this place and who is around me.

For sure Steem has made a huge difference in my life and not from the monetary aspect either. It's taught me that if you stay consistent with something you will begin to see big changes in not only your financial aspects, but other areas in your life as well.

@revisesociology and his posts on reducing clutter has me motivated to sell some of my old college books online. I will be making my first list on either ebay or somewhere else either tonight or sometime this week to hopefully earn some crypto play money.

It's great to get paid to learn on here and one day it will eventually catch on by the masses.

It's great to get paid to learn on here and one day it will eventually catch on by the masses.

I agree and the more you learn, the more you earn. What I think though is that people limit their earning potential by staying online only without leveraging it in their walking lives.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.287 which ranks you at #222 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 224).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Amazing post! I just arrive and I'm so excited about the opportunity to improve my writing and share my thoughts and pictures around the world. I'm total with you! Maybe the future of Steemit is not making people rich, but helping them to find their own path. It's so fucking amazing, 'cause many people here can test, improve and grow, and also stop giving money to the life coaches who are just helping themselves!

cause many people here can test, improve and grow, and also stop giving money to the life coaches who are just helping themselves!

The opportunity is always available, most just don't take it :)

I hope that over that time, what I have added onto the Steem blockchain is much more valuable than just the valuation of Steem, even if it goes to 10, 20 or 50 dollars one day, as I hope that people look and act differently in their lives and are finding ways to improve their experience.

This to me is the heart of the matter. We hope to participate within true community here. That means that even though we’re mostly connected through ideas, the main thing is simply that we’re connected. In a world of so my isolation and alienation, what a valuable opportunity to be in an environment of mutual growth and learning.

In a world of so [much] isolation and alienation, what a valuable opportunity to be in an environment of mutual growth and learning.

This is going to eventually be one of the stickiest points on Steem.

Again, if you are here and especially if you have been here long-term and you haven't found a way to improve yourself, you are Steeming wrong in my opinion.

Food for thought

I do much prefer to support accounts with people I can see and relate to behind them. In the beginning I don't think that showing yourself was an important success factor (if success = rewards), but (unless you are focusing on a niche like utopian-io), sharing some of you to the community is seemingly the way things are heading.

Or you can rock up with 500k, post shit, and attract the flies :D

sharing some of you to the community is seemingly the way things are heading.

Yep, and it doesn't even have to be "you". I don't mind anon accounts as long as there is something real in there.

Or you can rock up with 500k, post shit, and attract the flies :D

I should try this! ... one day :D

I don't mind anon accounts as long as there is something real in there.

Fair enough. I'm gullible and assume photo of being/doing = matching text.

I should try this!

bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

When I read you, I can not help but identify with your words. I will soon be a year in steem and I feel that I still have a lot to learn, however I can say properly, that steem changed my way of seeing the economy and everyday things, also opened ideas for me to do new things that I like and also share them.

I remember that in a comment on your blog, I shared for the first time something very personal, that I thought I would never share but I dared and it was not so bad, rather it helped me a lot.

To make community, is a fundamental piece, we know many people who share their lives and that must be valued.

Today I want to give you a gift, recently I won a delegation and I have been sharing love on this platform, it is not much, but for me it is very significant because to get back to having this delegation I think it will not be for a long time and I will have to work hard, However, I do not lose hope, nor the faith to continue growing.

I give you this gift, a 100% vote on my part, for great work, perseverance and dedication in this wonderful platform, I leave you my best wishes, blessings for the family and a big hug.

A thought: We can provide a human face to all users, if we give love and recognition with all our heart. Good vibes.
Con todo mi cariño y respeto @angelica7

however I can say properly, that steem changed my way of seeing the economy and everyday things, also opened ideas for me to do new things that I like and also share them.

I hope everyone on Steem has a better insight into economy now.

I give you this gift, a 100% vote on my part, for great work, perseverance and dedication in this wonderful platform, I leave you my best wishes, blessings for the family and a big hug.

Thank you very much and I hope that you use your delegation well and it helps you grow too :)

I do feel very at home here, especially on Thursdays when I get to listen to people talk steem on @pennsif's radio show, it's somehow very grounding.

NB personal finance is all I've got TBH... my life is fantastically uninteresting on the whole. I'd struggle to do more than one diary type post per week.

There's defo a fair few oddballs I've made solid connections with and this is a great place for a perspective shift for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

my life is fantastically uninteresting on the whole. I'd struggle to do more than one diary type post per week.

In a few years...

Day 1456: rolled in Steem.

Day 1628: rolled in Steem.

I have been enjoying myself more here lately as I don't have time to spend on people who are more vampire than human. Some people are just energy suckers and I don't have the energy for it.

Would rolling in steem make my life more interesting?!?

I'm looking forward to the day steem buys me a little piece of woodland where I can build myself an eco shack!

Or I could just post appics pictures of my meals and cinema trips.

Posted using Partiko Android

Would rolling in steem make my life more interesting?!?

There are supposedly YouTube channels to watch people eat.

I'd like a little container home by the sea, an electric car and a nice clean desk to write at.

Sounds like nice life goals. I like the idea of a container home.

Posted using Partiko Android

I sometimes run designs through my imagination to test them out. I am yet to actually walk in one.

I used to do that with Permaculture designs, now I've stopped realising such a move is still quite a way off!

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed Steem has changed the way I look at the world and has been intellectually stimulating and therapeutic for me. Long ago I wrote two posts on how Steem has changed me and perhaps should write again. I see Steem blending more with the world in the future and growing in the process. What is a 'walking world'???? I did not understand that sentence of yours. Thanks @tarazkp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47