On Followers and Stereotypes

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I was planning to do a rather dumb post about a certain person I have been attempting to get to follow me.

That persons' identity would not be revealed in the post as then my goal could never be achieved, but now my plan has been foiled.

doll-1820553_960_720.png
Source

I want them to follow me for their own reasons, not because it’s been brought to their attention that I would like them too

I think @bozz can relate to this, but on a certain occasion in the past, I did give him a little helping hand to achieve his desire. Sorry for that mate if your goal was the same as mine!

I already hear some of you thinking, ‘what does it matter if someone follows you or not’. It probably doesn’t and your right.

I often wonder if there’s anyone who has the same way of thinking about this particular topic (besides @bozz).

IMG_4566.JPG

In this example, I have met the said person at SteemFest 3 and we have talked, albeit briefly. He is one of the most prolific writers on the blockchain and seemingly has an inexhaustible brain bank of philosophical content.

Last night I posted another @tasteem review and was surprised when I received a vote from ‘the person’.

How did he know that I had posted, he doesn’t follow me?

Had I missed something? A quick look on steemworld.org revealed I had gained a certain new follower.

image.png

Thank you @tarazkp for following me. Do you know how long I have been trying to get your frigging attention?! Now I will need to find a new purpose in my life!

line.jpg

When I speak of Stereotypes (a reference to the title), I have noticed several when it comes to different types of Steemians.

Without trying to pigeonhole anyone, I see these types wherever I look.

Eg... You decide to follow a certain person as what they write piques your interest.

You read their content, give them a vote and add a comment that is not, ‘Nice Post’, ‘Good Work’ or some other kind of bullshit empty response deserving of @katharsisdrill's CommentPhant


commentphant.JPG
image by @katharsisdrill

They, in turn, respond by:

  • A) Giving you a vote
  • B) Giving you a vote and a comment
  • C) Giving you a comment
  • D) Giving the first xx comments a vote and/or a comment
  • E) Ignoring you and everyone else

Are there really any other permutations? I don’t think so.

While I totally respect others' who opt to use the first FOUR options I feel those who choose option 'E' are just plain rude, to put it bluntly.

An exception to the ‘E’ types are Witnesses who are blogging about a new dApp or some fantastic news that is going at add value to the STEEM blockchain. This I consider is more of a statement than something that should be reciprocated upon.

What has brought this on you say? Well, let me just say that there are some ‘E’ type people out there, and that’s perfectly fine but I will be keeping well away from them.

ignored.JPG
Source

What would you do in a situation where you felt like someone was writing something decent resulting in you voting, commenting and were duly blanked?

Maybe I’m kicking off a little, but I tend to give people a couple of chances and then it’s time to counter reciprocate, which means unfollow and move on.

The current STEEM bloggers community is comparatively small but isn’t it all about engagement? If your one of the larger stakeholders, you will likely gain a LOAD of comments for maybe the right reasons or the wrong ones.

effort.jpg
Source

Still, I see some of these people make an effort and respond though in some cases it can be a lot of work. I totally respect that and those are the kinds of people I tend to be looking for regardless of stake size.

For some, Option ‘D’ has to be the answer. We only have so much time and have to attribute it accordingly.

What do you think? Do you get your kicks from persistently following and commenting on a type ‘E’ persons’ blog? If so, I would love to know why.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

It's no problem! I do agree though, I want someone to follow me because they like what I am writing not because they feel they need to. What if that never happens though? What if you never get that follow and upvote because you just don't know what they are looking for.

You also have to consider there are some that comment back when you comment and upvote your comments but they never visit your blog to comment and upvote. At what point do you cut ties with them?

It is the big accounts that we all strive for that upvote from. As they get bigger though they tend to have more followers they need to spread their votes to. It's a fine line I am guessing.

Posted using Partiko Android

You also have to consider there are some that comment back when you comment and upvote your comments but they never visit your blog to comment and upvote.

I'm a little guilty of this, I confess. There's only so many I can follow though. I don't comment on your blog as much as I ought to.

It's okay, I understand. Here's another one, not to call you out, but since you got me involved.... As your account grew the upvote I got from you stayed the same. Honestly it bugged me at first but now I can honestly say I get it. As you get bigger you suddenly have the ability to help more people. If you just increase your support to the same people you always helped that leaves you nothing to support new people. I think until some people come to this realization it can cause some bitterness initially.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sent you a DM about this.

Honestly, when all is said and done, I think it is good you reached out to the larger account. It is hard to know if they really think your stuff is crap or they are just too busy to take the time to stop in. I wish there were any easier way to determine that. Content and writing style is easy to adjust. Someone else's schedule, not so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Got it thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! The biggest mystery about @tarazkp is when he finds time to sleep!

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe he writes all this stuff while at work and has an understanding boss? He's one of a kind for sure.

I used to hover over my new followers section of steemworld as a way of measuring my networking success and reciprocating the engagement. I find myself not doing that quite as often. Perhaps because I used to pick up 5-10 a day (when over half of them were bots and steem was $6) and now many of the daily visitors have flown the coop.

I also try an keep my follow list to the invigorating authors who leave me googlyeyed or are supportive of my content and engagement here.

To tell you the truth, I probably have not progressed here to the point you have and I need to add a particular person or group. Someday

One thing I can almost guarantee is that nobody replying to this post will be sitting on a roof next to a chimney. So I have that going for me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Perhaps because I used to pick up 5-10 a day (when over half of them were bots and steem was $6) and now many of the daily visitors have flown the coop.

Not that's something else missed by being too late. I know it doesn't seem a big deal but I still don't have 1000 followers, whereas most others in whats left of the hard-core brigade seem to.

To tell you the truth, I probably have not progressed here to the point you have and I need to add a particular person or group.

Haha, its not like an obsession, more just to tell him. Sometimes you have a target.. and almost give up. Mine took 8 months. He might not even respond.. we will see.

I'm not sure, I follow people and things because I enjoy them, I myself am not that great at responding to comments on some of my post, but some of the comments are "Like how do I respond to that?" type of comments.

I have been to some post that had no comments and commented on them, and I have commented on post that have hundreds of comments. Some time I reply to a comment on my comment if it calls for one, but I rarely chase having the "last word" in a comment string.

I guess comments are kind of like votes, time is not an issue of when I vote unless it is past the 7 days, and if it was an exceptional post then I will vote on one of the other not so exceptional post, comments time really does not matter, heck I've commented on post that were over two years old, after all the post if still active will see that they have a comment.

I even on occasion will comment without giving a vote, especially if my vote power is down in the dumps, not often, but sometimes you just can not pass up the comment.

Everyone has got their own style, and it's not for me to question them. These are just things I have noticed. I'm not particularly prolific when it comes to commenting on other's posts but try and make the effort when it comes to my own.

I do follow an "E" type blogger but understand why he can't reply to folks who comment. I drop the odd comment myself from time to time but never expect an answer. Nevertheless his content is brilliant and he is actually the person who pointed me to steemit :)
Glad to hear you attracted your target blogger. It is a buzz when someone you respect begins following your work.
Great post btw, you must keep on steeming because it's very interesting ;)

I do follow an "E" type blogger but understand why he can't reply to folks who comment.

Type 'E' peeps don't respond to anyone. Great or not, surely they can comment to some of them?

I don't see too much from you these days, have you settled down any better? I remember some bad times posts from you months back.

This particular E is slightly famous and does respond on his own website, so if I need a reply I just go there. Great to see that he makes the effort to share his content on here though.
Yes, my blogging is a little less active these days as I have a full time job now and a new relationship to keep up with. Still try to keep in touch with whoever I can though and the tasteem app sits nicely with the meals me and the Mrs go out to eat :)

:)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 484

You got a 20.79% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @slobberchops! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

you can see a lot of people that blog that have a big amount of SP and when you comment there is no response, nada, zilch, nothing...
I always feel a bit sad in the beginning but then indeed I just ignore them and certainly do not give them a vote.
Interaction is a big part of the game here and in the end might be the main reason why some people stick it out here and others do not. Because, lets face it, for the moment most do not do it for the actual income. I stay for the future income but if that was really the case I would just delegate and let it make passive income. I like the interaction even though I do not get where @tarazkp gets the inspiration and the time (I am starting to think they have a team at home and only one can go to Steemfest)

I like the interaction even though I do not get where @tarazkp gets the inspiration and the time (I am starting to think they have a team at home and only one can go to Steemfest)

I have met the real person, in fact he flagged me down. I think word got out I was looking for him. Has get got a league of clones working for him? Haha.. who knows!

I have met the real person as well, although he was hard to find, he's kinda small... and very fast...

Oh you were at SF3? There was so many.. I didn't get chance to say hello to everyone.

yea, I was part of the team that won that bowling from the ticket you posted, SF3 was amazing

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 6.61% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65