Gamification and SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

GameSteem.jpg

This post is a reply to @noisy's post here. So I've been playing games since the beginning. From my first Commodor SX-64 all the way up to my Playstation 4 and dual GPU PC right now.

commodore-sx64.jpg
Where it all began for me

I played competitively in Tekken making it to the National stage in Tekken 4, and even though I don't go to tournaments anymore, the people I play casually with still do, so I'm still up there. All of my full time professional career(minus freelance) has also been working in games and I teach in the game design department at a university(for art though, not design). So I've been on both ends of the spectrum, a consumer and a producer. I actually haven't read much about game theory, but I feel we could gamify the hell out of Steem and I think it would dramatically improve the user experience, but it would take a lot of coordinated work, and I think this might be an issue with a decentralized platform. There's SO MUCH that could be done though that I think a lot could be done just at the front-end level, while other stuff might be a bit more intense.

Off the top of my head.

  • A Tutorial
    So not just a video that people watch or something, but an interactive tutorial with rewards. Typically in a lot of games there's some "thing" you're trying to sell to the user. You can reward them with that as they finish sections of the tutorial. On Steem we have STEEM, so we could literally reward people with STEEM for finishing the tutorial. This way new users are incentivised to actually learn what's going on here and they don't lurk around confused for months, as I've known plenty to do.
    We could even give people higher rewards for learning the more dry technical bits. We could even do tests to make sure they understand it. With this much information, if we were collecting analytics we could see where people typically stop the tutorial and drop off to tweak how it flows. This is getting a bit complex obviously, but it might even be a good way for new users to get the original seed money to fund their account, while simultaneously educating them on why that's necessary.

  • Badges
    So we already have badges by @steemitboard, but having to go to a different website just to see your badges pretty much makes this (unfortunately) not that engaging. If it was another page on a frontend I think it would be a lot better.

Screenshot_2.png

  • More Granular Ranks
    Right now the ranks depending which system you're looking at is plankton/redfish, minnows, dolphins, orcas, and whales. My first and only feature request of SteemPlus was that they add levels between those levels(which they awesomely implemented :D) So now if you're using the SteemPlus extension, you see that you're a Minnow 1, or dolphin 2 etc depending on which icons you have displayed. I like to use the ones that are bronze, silver, and gold. I think if it can be communicated visually it should be, those numbers don't say as much as everyone's mental association of bronze, silver, and gold. That relationship is international and instantly understandable.
    I'd say we break these down with even more levels, currently each level is roughly 10x the previous one, once I hit dolphin from minnow, I can't even see orca, it's way too far away, so the drive to hit the next level dissipates. When the STEEM price crashed and people started to power up, where did they typically stop? Minnows tried to get to dolphin, and dolphins tried to get to orca, we need that carrot just out of our reach, if it's too far, we stop paying attention to it.

  • More clear ways of showing the world how awesome you are
    This is a bit tongue in cheek, but now we're getting into the more psychologically manipulative stuff, but in case you didn't know, THAT'S WHAT GAMES ARE! :p So if someone goes to your profile and is using the SteemPlus extension, they can see what fish rank you are. If they're in the know they can look at your wallet. Neither of those is ideal. Ideally, this information would follow you. If I were designing it, I'd make it subtle, like the color of your name. I wouldn't beat people over the head with it, but lets say there's a comment thread. plankton=white name, minnow=red name, dolphin = bronze name, orca = silver name and whale = gold name.
    If people are talking about some Steem related issue and some white name writes "Steem is a ponzi scheme!" People would rightfully probably laugh and troll them. But then a gold name says "There's actually some truth to that." People would probably take that a lot more seriously. You might not want that, a sort of tier of importance, but I think it might increase engagement as well as incentivising people to "level up".

  • Bounties/Quests
    With this I basically mean a set of tasks for users to perform where they get rewarded along the way. It could be things like, leave ten thoughtful comments, upvote five posts under the #art tag, onboard a user, and speaking of this one, we need a referral program here, you've all had a friend annoyingly repeat invite you to some crappy game on Facebook. Well WE could be that crappy game! :D

I could go on, but this is in tldr territory for me. So in summary, yes I think gamification could dramatically increase the UX here, hopefully we'll see more of it in the future. What do you all think?

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Having badges and ranks, reminds me of the Steam browser:
SteamBrowserV.png

I guess my idea of a STEEM Browser like BAT's Brave browser should be more like the Steam Browser.

Hopefully someone can fund this idea and pay dev for this kind of idea.

It’s definitely doable on a front end as I know busy has/had a “complete your profile” type thing. Guess it’s just a case of how hard/bothered a front end dev can be to try and shoehorn these things in.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea it’s something that would take a lot of thought in terms of what to do and why and what each change would aim to accomplish. Dunno if anyone at this point would want to sign up for all that extra work.

I have to agree with all of that.

A little consistency across all the platforms in the handling of markdown wouldn't go astray, either. Or better: drop markdown and all html/css-style mark-up.
(But I'm plankton, so "Steem is a ponzi scheme" ;-)

Keep it down white name! 🤣 😜 j/k

I think the levels should be more attainable. Whales are not a realistic attainable level, tbh.

Other than that, this is AMAZING

YOU SHOULD BE MADE PRESIDENT, @MIDLET

You just earned yourself a place in my cabinet 🤣 Thx @veryspider! 😊

AWWWWWW YIIIIIIIISSSSSSSSSSS

SCORE \o/

......... what's my salary?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.317 which ranks you at #2487 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 95 places in the last three days (old rank 2582).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 235 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



I love your ideas here on how to increase the user experience with gamification. I play simple games but if the game was straightforward enough, then I would be game.! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32