Comment on Other Steemit Posts: It’s a Way You Can Get More Organic Followers

in #steem6 years ago

It is amazing how much value you create by commenting on other posts on Steemit.

If you think about the supply and demand of Steemit, it makes sense. There is a big supply of content. Go to the new posts tab and see how much content is being generated.

Everybody wants to receive attention on their posts. There would have to be 20x as many comments as there are original posts, just for most authors to be happy. Yet some people don’t leave many comments at all.

When you read and respond to a few posts each day on Steemit, you are doing a huge favor to the entire Steem network.

There is no need to pretend you enjoy content that you do not like. I’m not trying to make every post on Steemit become successful. The only thing that should happen is that the good posts should receive as much attention as is possible.

Browsing the “New” Tab on Steemit

As a user with reputation over 50, you can make a newbie happy just by commenting on their post. Remember that some of these new Steemians don’t have any friends here yet.

Do not underestimate just how encouraging it is for these new users to recieve some attention. You can find them in the “new” tab.

There is a lot of noise in this tab. The big challenge is simply to find relevant and original content that relates to your interests. Keep scrolling until you find some good stuff.

Ten minutes is enough to find a few posts and leave a few comments. It’s not a big investment, but it has big results.

Using Curation Groups to Find Content

Curation groups seek out the best content on Steemit, then post links to it.

You can read through the lists posted regularly by the top groups @curie and @ocd to find great content to engage with.

There are other sources for curated lists of content:

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

Doing 2-3 hours per week of this work can amplify the other stuff you do for your Steem account. It helps to “unlock” the value of the other work you are already doing.

What About Follow-For-Follow or Vote Buying on Steemit?

This is such an important question that I answered it via video.

Conclusion

TRY THIS STRATEGY IF YOU WANT MORE FOLLOWERS!! It is the best organic-followers-per-minute strategy that I know of. You will feel good too because you are supporting other members of Steem. Add a little more comment time to your daily schedule and see what happens.

How often do you leave comments on other users' posts?

Sort:  

Totally agree with all this. My commenting has dropped off of late, something I must get back into, which leads me to this...

It's worth looking at @abh12345 curation and engagement leagues. It's a cool and fun way to see how you are doing in terms of curation and interaction in comparison to others on the platform.

(On a personal note, nice to see you submit a post to curie earlier :) )

Oh awesome I had not heard of Asher's account before now. Just followed him, looking forward to checking out some of that content. Thank you for bringing that to my attention.

Ya the curie thing was awesome :-D its been a while since I submitted, I wasnt even sure if it would let me.

Hey!

You are welcome to join in the Curation Leagues, and even with the high rep you have, I think the stats can still be useful for you to see what you've been up to the previous week.

I'm big on curation and engagement and think comment as much as you can, especially as a newer community member, can do wonders for your organic and 'real' followers. Cheers!

Thanks for the positive mention here Mark!

Good advice, Matt. If only my followers would increase, Im nearly at that (100) milestone but not quite there yet. The 'New' section as you says is a minefield and its hard to find relevant posts to make comments on.

You literally gained 4 followers since we talked yesterday :-P so I'd say you are on the right track. Looks like you are 1-2 days away from reaching that 100 follower milestone, good luck dude!

Yes it has gone up, I just noticed!

Im not quite sure how as I havent posted an article in a few days, but I have been commenting a lot. Your idea of looking throught the 'New' section is good if only I could filter on some tags I am interested in. I know you can see 'all tags' but not really 'all tags' if you get my meaning. My interests are a little more targetted than what the generic 'all tags' shows.

I did find a post with a link to show 'really all tags', its over 20000, but it doesnt appear to work.. a shame.

Ill keep looking for a way to show the tags Im looking for, that way I can find my interests more easily.

Totally agree about the positive comments thing. (can't watch the video yet, but will in a bit). I have gained a lot of friends and followers just from doing "comment networking". It works, and it's just a nice thing to do. People love getting comments, people love hearing nice things about their work. My profile tells me I have posted over 2000 times on Steemit, and the vast majority of those are comments

Awesome 2000 is a good number of posts in only 6 months! You are a great example of the power of comment networking.

I agree with you,
Positive comments on other people's posts are one of the best ways to improve followers.
If you do not like the post is better ignore it, do not ever give a negative comment....
Useful information, Thanks for sharing.

You make a good point. ITs smart to not leave any negative comments. Cheers Yusuf

Great advice here! Better to ignore if you don't like something not make negative comments- I guess you like to make negative comments on IG but not Steemit...It's a silly meme- you don't need to anyalyze it and leave bad comments- just like it or not and move on.
IMG_3686.JPG

The meme didn't make any sense lol

The dude on the picture looks like he’s been through a tough time —hence the prayer look, etc. I was simply saying a glimmer of hope as it was 7,400 when I posted it...that’s all dude..it’s not rocket science you should take your own post advice and just move on instead of negative comments.

Nothing I am saying is meant to be a personal attack on you. Just commenting on random stuff on instagram tbh.

I agree entirely, Matt! Most of my following was built around commenting actively and basically engaging people on whatever they are writing about; I avoid "generic" commenting as it seems fake and disingenuous.

Sadly, I don't get out and about to comment as much as I would like to because I also place a high value on "curating" the comments on my own posts. Which sometimes means curating/replying to 40 comments a day... not much left over, after that. But I cut myself some slack; I have a full-time job and a part-time job, and this is just my "hobby," if you will.

When you are as popular a guy as you, you gotta make sacrifices. In your case it probably does make a lot more sense to respond to your current followers than to go out seeking new ones. Glad to hear you agree with this advice man, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

It took me a while to clue into this, but you are totally correct! The relationships and dough is in the commenting! I comment on 90% of the posts in my feed.

That's what is up! If you can maintain anywhere near that kind of post comment % you will crush it. And it looks like you already are now that I glance at your blog.

Hi Matt, I joined Steemit in January. I have still not posted a single post but have been commenting only. I want to make my first post perfect I guess, so I am working on it for the past few weeks. With no posts I have 84 followers and am quite happy to take it slow.
Also I must mention that how correct you are because I have noticed that the days I comment my followers increase at least 2 or 3 a day.
Also most of my comments take at least 20 minutes to really formulate and be precise without making really long comments.

You are a cool example @gabbingster thanks for sharing your story. Comments are so good that you don't even have to post any of your own topics, lol, that is amazing. Good luck with your first one. It's hard to make any post perfect, I still am not sure if I have any perfect posts after all this time.

I am following this strategy (if we can call it that way) too, trying to leave meaningful comments or just upvoting newbies like me if I have nothing interesting to say but I liked their post.
I find it great when people leave me nice comments, and who doesn't? :-)

Also, there is a lot to curate everywhere but I feel that encouraging new users posting their first post on "introduceyourself" should be especially important.

Anyway I'm glad to find like-minded people. Thanks for this nice post and video!

Ps: also kudos to @slobberchopps, I try to read everything you post ;-)

Yea that is a good point you bring up - the "introduceyourself" tag is a great place to go and leave some comments for new users. Great idea.

Absolutely brother. You commented recently on a few of my posts and we've gone back and forth just a bit over the past few months. As well as both be sndboxen' steemiens! lol. Can't help but feel compelled to swing by your blog and leave a note. Hopefully we get to meet in person some day. For now I'm in Santiago Chile, slowing my travel roll and chillen' here for the next two weeks. Very cool place far south of the equator. Hope you are well and steem on brother! -Dan

I'm trying to do better at commenting on people's posts, and I think it's working overall to generate traffic on my posts. I think the main nuance in comments is that there is a fine line between praise and discussion. A lotta accounts try and take a shortcut b/w the two that creates a comment that typically doesn't mean much.

You're right, a lot of people are doing the shortcuts. It's a shame!! I think you know deep inside when you are doing it the right way...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59139.79
ETH 2511.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41