THE STRANGER - PAPA'S ADVICE FOR NEWER USERS - PART 3

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

Howdy Stranger! Let's Get to Know One Another!


This post is part of a series designed to help newer users on steemit. After a private conversation with another steemian the other night and the common questions that he asked, I thought that I should share a bit of my advice for him with all of you. Hopefully you can glean at least a few things from it. You can check out the previous posts to catch up if you need to as well.

BACKGROUND

There are ways in which @papa-pepper has just about become a household name in the steemit community. It has taken a lot of work, effort, and interaction on my part, but these days a lot of people in the community have at least heard of me, and many know who I am. Simply put, I am no stranger here.

In my conversation with the other steemian, two basic questions were asked.

  • What is it that I am not doing right?

  • How can I grow?

After looking through his blog history, I concluded that in a lot of ways, he was a stranger in our community. Many people were unaware of his presence because they did not see him around the community very often. He made posts about twice a week and did not comment all that frequently. When you compare that to the activity of some other users, he was leaving very little evidence of his existence on the blockchain.

I likened this situation to someone new moving into a neighborhood. Though they may live in that neighborhood now, if no one ever sees them, they will remain a stranger. I share some good thoughts about how to be seen in our community in the previous two posts, and today I will share a little more about not being a stranger.

I DON'T EVEN KNOW YOU

One thing that I frequently mention to newer users is to share about themselves. Since there are two basic kinds of steemians, there are tow basic ways to do this. For most of us, we can share photos, ideas, stories, events and so on. However, some people prefer to remain anonymous, and there is nothing wrong with that. Though anonymous users will not be sharing selfies or information about where they live, their ideas and experiences can still be shared.

It is my conclusion that part of my "success" on steemit is because people "know" me. I have shared about my life and who I am with them. I do not believe that the same amount of support for me would be given if my posts focused less on life and how I live it.

I could post charts and data about things, or report news stories and share interesting information. Though I could make such posts and potentially even make some good STEEM doing so, people wouldn't really know me. They may become familiar with my username and posting style, but I would still be a sort of stranger to them. (I can think of a few steemians who very well with these types of posts, but they have been here for a while. I think that it would be hard for a newer user to attain the same results in this manner.)

To build a community we need to build relationships and to build relationships often takes sharing and interacting. A large group of strangers who do not share or interact will continue to be a large group of strangers.

YOU'RE AN INDIVIDUAL - JUST LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE

Let's face it, we are a global community with a lot of differences, and a lot of similarities. Frequently, I see a few things that draw people to one another, and often it is the similarities and differences that do this.

Since we are all humans living on earth, we have a certain amount of things in common. We all eat, we all sleep, and we all came from some parents. This can be generic or specific. If you notice the homesteading community, we have all made a few choices in life and share some common experiences. Because we are doing similar things and have similar interests, we are encouraged by one another and learn from each other.

For those who are choosing to homestead (for example) they find it interesting because it is different from what they are doing. Because it is different, they are interested. Remember this.

You may live in a place where everyone pretty much lives similar lives. Perhaps the houses are made the same way, and the food eaten there is common and prepared in the same manner. For you, there is nothing special about any of it. However, for those of us living different lives elsewhere, it may seem incredible and exotic. As you open up and share about your life, it can interest people. Even simple things to you may seem spectacular to them.

CONCERN, CARE, AND SUPPORT

When people feel like they know one another, they have a greater concern for each other. Moreover, they are more like to care for one another. We have seen a lot of compassion and caring for others lived out in our community. Because we know one another, we support and encourage each other.

As you share, you no longer remain a stranger in the community. Soon, you build real friendships around common interests or interesting differences. When people know you, they are more inclined to support you and care about you. I've seen this a lot in my time here, and I appreciate the effects of it.

I'll leave you with this video that I think is applicable based on what I shared. It was the 11th video in my 18 part advice series, where I share about the importance of being yourself. If you want even more, the whole series is linked in the comment section of this post. Steem on!

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great info! I chose the anonymous route because I've never used social media before and have always been wary of it. So it is a little harder to make connections but I do try to share my creativity and viewpoint so people do understand my perspective. Its also a great way to test yourself because others have little preconceived notions at least until they dig into the blog or the comments. Part of your appeal is definitely your openness to share your reality and of course your "proof of" photos! I also find your homesteading presented via blockchain technology as a beautiful paradox!

I think that one of the strongest tools for anonymous users is making real comments. It is how you will connect with more users and build relationships.

Great post man ;)

Hey @papa-pepper , I appreciate you advice for success on the platform. The first thing you talked about was getting to know people, becoming less of a "stranger" and I think that's some awesome advice. I have been very active in my first 6 weeks, racking up over 500 posts although most are comments. I actually think I like to comment and continue the discussion started in the article, more than I enjoy writing and starting the discussion myself. I think this may have to do with being new thus making it hard to get a conversation, on a topic I post about, started.
I just wanted to thank you. I have briefly mentioned to a few users, my past, decade long battle with addiction but haven't dove into it that much. I've debated writing a topic on it, to reach out to others that are still suffering or who have been thru the recovery process and are currently living a better life, but I sometimes still worry about the way it will be received. After reading your post, I'm going to start writing about it tonight and make the post sometime soon, maybe in a few parts, I'll have to see how it evolves on paper. I hope others will hop into the discussion and maybe it could evolve into a recovery community at some point. When something is such a large part of one's life outside of the platform, keeping it while I communicate with you wonderful members just doesn't seem right. Most importantly, if I can help someone who is in the grips of that lifestyle, it's all worth it.
I know this comment is a bit long and off topic but this is where my head went when reading your article and I just wanted to share. Thanks again!

I spent about a decade addicted to drugs and alcohol in a way that they completely consumed my entire life. I say go for it!

I spent 10 years of my life on alcohol and cigarettes. I understand what you said!

WOW what a great transformation. Congratulation you are one of the best and most authentic Steemians and a very good father too, as everybody can see at @littlepeppers. Wow I am speechless to hear, I had a time too, long time ago. It was not fun. Now I do not drink any alcohol since 1992.

Great post @papa-pepper, if only you are running as a witness you will surely get a vote from me ^_^

I do not like anonymity, I do not have such a need. You have touched upon a really important question. People who show their faces and tell their stories receive much more social response. This is an important social factor. Thank you, your articles deserve a good reward!

For me all the pictures (not from steemit) are missing. Anyone else?

The didn't show up on my phone either, but now they do. They were just the pepper borders, but can you see them now?

no, still not.

Thanks are in store for you. I will keep up with posting and learning. I do believe my goals are in the bag. Steemit is a great community that if given a chance will pay off in more ways than anyone can imagine.

Thank you for the advice and tips! It is great to see leaders like you on this platform help others that are just getting started. Steem on!

Thank you so much for the advice. You don't know how much it means to me. I am new here and want to leave make a mark in steemit community. Thank you for this.

I have following your advice. " Being yourself" is the best thing you can do. Not everyone will like you but thats ok. All that really matters is that you like you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85