You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE STRANGER - PAPA'S ADVICE FOR NEWER USERS - PART 3

in #steem-help7 years ago

Hey @papa-pepper , I appreciate you advice for success on the platform. The first thing you talked about was getting to know people, becoming less of a "stranger" and I think that's some awesome advice. I have been very active in my first 6 weeks, racking up over 500 posts although most are comments. I actually think I like to comment and continue the discussion started in the article, more than I enjoy writing and starting the discussion myself. I think this may have to do with being new thus making it hard to get a conversation, on a topic I post about, started.
I just wanted to thank you. I have briefly mentioned to a few users, my past, decade long battle with addiction but haven't dove into it that much. I've debated writing a topic on it, to reach out to others that are still suffering or who have been thru the recovery process and are currently living a better life, but I sometimes still worry about the way it will be received. After reading your post, I'm going to start writing about it tonight and make the post sometime soon, maybe in a few parts, I'll have to see how it evolves on paper. I hope others will hop into the discussion and maybe it could evolve into a recovery community at some point. When something is such a large part of one's life outside of the platform, keeping it while I communicate with you wonderful members just doesn't seem right. Most importantly, if I can help someone who is in the grips of that lifestyle, it's all worth it.
I know this comment is a bit long and off topic but this is where my head went when reading your article and I just wanted to share. Thanks again!

Sort:  

I spent about a decade addicted to drugs and alcohol in a way that they completely consumed my entire life. I say go for it!

I spent 10 years of my life on alcohol and cigarettes. I understand what you said!

WOW what a great transformation. Congratulation you are one of the best and most authentic Steemians and a very good father too, as everybody can see at @littlepeppers. Wow I am speechless to hear, I had a time too, long time ago. It was not fun. Now I do not drink any alcohol since 1992.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36